We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“decent hotel, amazing breakfast, close to tourist spots” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Istana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Istana
Ranked #24 of 338 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“decent hotel, amazing breakfast, close to tourist spots”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

My husband and I went to KL for our 1st anniversary and while making reservation for 2 nights, we told Istana that we would like a room with petronas towers view.
We reached at about 10pm- the check in was fast, we reminded them again abt the towers view, but to our dismay, we got a room with no view.
However since it was out anniversary, they placed a complimentary champagne and fruit basket.
But, there was another bathroom disaster, the tap was loose and there was water all over the bathroom, ceiling and slowly started entering the bedroom. So they moved us in the next 1 hour. This time the room was big, partial towers view, which we could sneak to see b/w two buildings. We were too tired and just slept.
We toured KL and came back that night to notice they added the complimentary champagne and moved our room to a floor where we had good view of Petronas and apologized for the inconvenience.
This made us have a very good impression about this hotel and its management. I would recommend this place to anyone who visiting KL

Room Tip: Take a room with the towers view... its amazing to watch sunrise and the towers glow in the night..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TS_diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,457
    1,252
    444
    173
    126
See reviews for
778
1,180
234
573
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed there for a week when I visited kuala for my honeymoon. Excellent location in the center. Very clean & good service for a local chain. We arrived earlier than check in time & they did their best not to keep us waiting & found a room right away. The only two concerns were food & pool. The breakfast buffet wasn't of great quality & the pool isn't as clean as u would want it to be. Would've wished that the concierge would be more aware of places to visit in kuala. However, given the price in such a location, it's definitely a good bargain. More of a business stay hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vence, France
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

This hotel is perfectly situated near the KLCC park and 5 minutes walk from Jalan P Ramlee where you can find a lot of entertainment.
The room was big, clean, very comfortable. And the buffet breakfast was amazingly rich and delicious. The staff was really friendly, helpful and concerned.
I will definitely go back

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Booked a suite and it was twice as large as expected. huge sitting room with an office area plus a toilet. Large bedroom. toilet with shower and tub plus double vanity.Large flat screen TVs in each room. Attentive staff- good club floor breakfast- drinks all day, tea and cocktails in the late afternoon. Monorail out the door and walking distance to several malls.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve32480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

This hotel was all we had hoped for - and more! Clean, large, comfortable room with quiet air con. We had the bed and breakfast option and the breakfast was beyond superb - every conceivable type of food, plenty of fresh fruit and altogether worth travelling to Kuala Lumpur just for the breakfast. Very pleasant staff.
Our only complaint- if it could be called a complaint- was that the staff at the reception desk were not very well informed about Kuala Lumpur from a tourist's viewpoint. Questions about the 'hop on hop off' bus stops, for example, were either not understood fully or the person we spoke to just did not know.
But, in every other respect, this hotel is well worth staying at. The location was wonderful, enabling us to access the main tourist sites very easily. The swimming pool is very good too!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny255325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 km away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#22 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.2 km away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#25 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
1.5 km away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
0.6 km away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#30 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,996 reviews
0.8 km away
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
#23 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Istana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Property: Hotel Istana
Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,093 - ₹ 5,048
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Istana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Prestigia and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing