We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Club Rooms at Hotel Istana”
Review of Hotel Istana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Istana
Ranked #21 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Club Rooms at Hotel Istana”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

A group of us stayed at Hotel Istana during the Formula 1 races in March '12. We all had gotten club rooms as recommended by other trip advisor members. I highly recommend these rooms. They cost slightly more than the normal rooms but it is totally worth it.
When we arrived we were greeted by the VERY friendly staff and taken straight up to the club lounge for check ins rather than checking in at the foyer. During this time you can enjoy the snacks and drinks available for club room guests only.
Our room was spacious with a king size bed. The bathroom had a shower, bath and separate toilet. The only fault with our whole stay was that one of the taps in the bathroom leaked so if we used it, water would leak onto the floor. This however was not an issue as we just avoided using that tap and the friendly service from all the staff definitely cancelled out any leaky taps.
Breakfast included a wide variety of western and eastern foods. My favourite was the friendly chef who cooked the omelettes. He always has a smile on his face and jokes around with guests.
The club rooms include daily cocktail hour between 17:30 and 19:30 in the club lounge. This includes alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks as well as canapes, cheese and crackers. The lounge has free wi fi available. This however is not free in guest's rooms.
The gym is huge for hotel standards and has a variety of equipment. There is also an outdoor pool as well as an indoor sauna and whirlpool (spa).
The hotel's location is perfect if you are in KL to shop. It is about 200-300m from the Pavillion shopping centre and right next to the monorail stop for quick access to Berjaya Times Square and Bukit Bintang.

We will definitely stay here again in the future if we come to KL.

Room Tip: Club rooms. Ask for a view of the petronas towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarjeanneW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,595
    1,316
    460
    179
    128
See reviews for
836
1,272
252
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (903)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The hotel looks ok from the outside and that's about it! The service, rooms and management are crap! My wife and I had booked a high floor room and while checking in they gave us a low floor, after many requests to the receptionists I had to speak to the manager who was useless as well and said they didn't have a room on the higher floor available...frustrated we decided to move to another hotel and surprise surprise a room IS available suddenly!! The service remained crappy during our 2 night there.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atkinson29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed there for 6 nights,it was good hotel spacious room as our room was double with extra bed,the best location near to monorail station ,pavillion mall and bukit bintang.when we arrived to hotel we stayed for long time in lobby as we booked our room by booking .com but our booking wasnt in hotel system after confirming almost 2 hours we waited untill room get clean,this hotel doesnt have a proper lobby ,we sit in a place and waitress came and said you cannot sit here bcz here is launch area you have to order something ,u cannot sit here,in second day of our staying when we went for breakfast they told us your room is without breakfast,in condition that our room was with breakfast ,this hotel is very nice ,clean but its old and must be renewd, furniture is very old ,tv in the room may be you cannot find in market now .the bathroom was very good ,2 sinks,seperate toilet ,the most strange thing that we observed in this hotel ,fridge was empty,even 3 stars hotels nowadays have full fridge,althought we dont use fridge items but it was something diffrent in 5 stars hotel,but in general ,its a nice hotel ,we enjoyed ,it was very comfortable,i suggest this hotel to people ,staff are very friendly ,our check out was very easy ,in a minute they gave our bill and payment done, We were very pleased with our stay in Istana hotel.Thank you very much from Audery ,she was very kind ,very polite and she had good information about city and helped us for visiting everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neda942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Istana, the staff were beautiful and the hotel was very comfortable, I have a back problem so the need for a firm bed is paramount and I was not disappointed, the pool and surrounding areas very comfortable and relaxing, we can not fault it and when we return to KL we would certainly stay again. Have recommended to all my friends and relatives.

Room Tip: A very spacious room, very clean and a very comfortable bed, we stayed on the 16th floor facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The lobby and entrance to this hotel are amazing, as it the pool and gardens. However when i got to my room, i nearly had a heart attack! The majority of the room was clean and ok (albiet a slight damp smell) but the shower was something else. It was foul, I'm not sure if the mould was engrained into the silican on the bottom (which would make it very difficult to get off) or what, but it was so gross i had to wear my thongs just to shower due to fesar of contracting some type of foot fungus! And this is meant to be a fancy hotel! also, FYI dont rely on the hair dryers, they are like 50 years old and attached to the wall on some big unit, just crazy! Good location however, and the staff are amazing and very friendly. In the restaurant at breakfast there were more staff than guests! Its just a shame that the rooms are a bit of a let down. I was only there for one night luckily. Also, no free wifi even in the lobby, stingy buggers!

Room Tip: Just ask for a clean shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTravella2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 km away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#24 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
0.2 km away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.1 km away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#35 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,208 reviews
1.5 km away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.5 km away
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
#20 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Istana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Property: Hotel Istana
Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,814 - ₹ 6,012
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Istana 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing