We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Centrally Located but looking a bit faded” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #7 of 331 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Boracay, Philippines
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Centrally Located but looking a bit faded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I first stayed here in 2003, before the Pavilion shopping centre was built and it was a bit off-centre location wise, but now being just across from the entrace of KL's top mall, its now busier than ever and looking a little tired out with Arab and Asian shoppers. The Feast Village in the basement is a real improvement however and Shook never fails to deliver. The rooms are smallish and need modernisation to 'asian-trendy', as does the lobby which is faux-european. In addition the steam room was dirty and the gym had the very same equipment as 10years ago. Summary, good for walking to shops or work and Shook is the standout restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustHangingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,339
    586
    179
    64
    31
See reviews for
473
456
134
739
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Lets start with the basics

1. Getting Here:
1-2 people- Take the KLIA Express train (MYR 35 pp) to KL Sentral. From there, take a taxi to the hotel (MYR 12) OR the Monorail (MYR 1.50 pp) to the Bukit Bintang station. If you decide to take the monorail, the hotel is literally walking distance from the station, but you cant directly see it.just ask for directions, everyone knows where it is and it wont take more than 2 minutes to get there
2+ people- Take a taxi directly from the airport to the hotel. DO NOT PAY MORE THAN MYR 120. We got to and from the airport for 100 each way!

2. When You're Here:
The hotel is situated in the heart of KL. Bukit Bintang is the prime shopping area where there are high end shops in the lobby and across the street in what is most likely the nicest mall in KL. This mall has every high end shop and normal shop imaginable. Along with hundreds of different eateries, this mall offers everything to every type of shopper! I also recommend ending the night with a midnight movie at the shopping mall. it's 14 MYR and its a super nice way to watch a movie. Also, there is a connecting bridge across the street that takes you directly to the twin towers in an air conditioned bridge. Overall, this helps you save the extra taxi money needed to go there! It's free too!


The hotel is very grand, I cant express this enough..everything from the key to the lobby to the room..Everything is amazing. The service is top notch, and they happily do anything you ask. They saw us walking in with mangoes we bought from down the street and offered to cut it and bring it up to our room! That is world class service. Because this hotel is owned by the YTL group, it is connected with its sister property, the Ritz Carlton through a tunnel/venetian style shopping are called the Starhill Gallery. I highly recommend checking this place out because its a tunnel from the lobby to the shopping area. Also, get the breakfast because it is something you just have to see to believe. Every type of food is available. Beyond your wildest imaginations.

3. The Room
We initially booked a normal double room, but first they offered us a complimentary junior suite..upon asking for something higher, they offered to upgrade us to the bigger and better studio suite. This suite is just HUGE! about 600 Sq Ft. and the softest carpet ever. This hotel really did an amazing job with the rooms. The smell, the bedding, the awesome bed that can sleep 4 people is the length of the wall. Also, the bathroom is very grand with detailed crown moulding. In addition, make sure you get the even numbered rooms, because the odd ones have a view of the back on the hotel, which isn't that nice. The rooms feature free internet with wifi or Wired IF you are a marriott rewards member. The cool thing is that you dont have to be elit to waive the 50 MYR fee per day. Just sign up before you go to the hotel and they give it to you for free if your number is listed on the account. The hotel also has the normal amenities and bathrobes etc..All in all, very nice and grand room for any type of traveler.

4. The Pool/Spa Area
The pool itself is a little disappointing. It's literally 4ft high and makes no sense in terms of layout. There are three pools right next to each other, which each going down 1 ft from the other. Also, there is a tennis court, but I dont see anyone playing tennis with the weather in malaysia lol..The jacuzzi/plunge pool/sauna/steam room are locate din the starhill spa. There is no charge to go to these as long as you're a guest at the hotel. There are separate facilities for men and women. Overall this are is also very grand and very nice. Check it out!

5. Overall impressions
Overall, this hotel deserves to be amongst the top hotels. Not only does their service delight and please, but their overall room structure and design is amazing. The bathrooms are huge, and they really took time to make everything look spacious.

5/5 in my opinion!

p.s all thes epics are one I TOOK!

Room Tip: Even number rooms have the VIEW!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tahsir21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The staff are extraordinary. The propoerty is lovely but far from the city. Luckily I didn't need to travel anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandmaster82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

This property is very well located. We easily walked to the Petronas Towers within 15 minutes through a series of air-conditioned walkways and malls. We were also in the heart of tons of shopping although we weren't there to shop.

As a Marriott Platinum member we received breakfast in the lounge or in the Shook restaurant in the mall below the hotel. We were upgraded to a Jr. Suite on check-in and the staff had setup rose petals and a bouquet of flowers from my wife as it was our first wedding anniversary trip. The room was big and comfortable.

The breakfast spread in Shook is a great mix of Asian and western dishes. The executive lounge was nice. Beer and wine were included during the cocktail hour (maybe liquor but we didn’t ask) every day. On St. Patrick’s day, the lounge staff came around with green beer and festive outfits. We had a great time.

The only drawback of the hotel was the service at the pool. It was slow and non-responsive. We asked for a milk shake and it wasn’t any good.

That being said, I wouldn’t hesitate returning here. It is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ejh25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

As JW Marriott's go the KL one is nice. The hotel has a nice ambiance and feel to it. It is center city and well connected to the adjacent shopping mall and Ritz Carlton offering lots of eatery options. I was upgraded to the executive floor which was a huge plus as I was at a conference and was able to use the lounge for private meetings. The 24th floor executive lounge has one of the best panorama views of any lounge I have been in and the staff catered to meet my needs even when I arrived late at night and needed help getting some things printed after hours. The breakfast in the restaurant in the mall was superb with Chinese, Malay, Indian and Western options. The two negatives are: the lobby does not have a good seating or waiting area and while well appointed seems a bit transient; and, the rooms while nicely done are relatively small. Overall it was a very good place to be based during the conference I was attending next door at the Ritz Carlton and I would recommend the hotel to Marriott fans.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 km away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 331 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
0.2 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 331 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.1 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#4 of 331 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.7 km away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 331 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,011 reviews
2.6 km away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: Jw Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumur 183 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,814 - ₹ 17,342
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern L-shaped Tower Hotel situated in Star Hill complex, a mixed-use development including a six-level retail mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia and Expedia so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Kuala Lumpur
Marriott Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing