We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambience, tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Songket Restaurant

Songket Restaurant
Ranked #161 of 4,055 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to an oasis in the heart of the city.Savour the taste of Malay cuisine inspired from traditional specialties. Delight in live Malaysian Cultural Dance Performances. Luxuriate in the warm and elegant setting.Welcome to Songket. True Malay Flavours.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice ambience, tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I wanted to give my team a lunch treat and was asking aroundnfor a good place to go to. I was bored with our normal choices at the KLCC and Pavilion shopping complexes. A friend suggested this place.

The place was fabulous. Since I was making reservation for 10 pax, they arranged for a private room. The food was tasty. I would recommend this place to both locals are visitors alike. We took the set lunch option, and they threw in a drink of our choice. I chose sirap selasih.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SharinaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    122
    46
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“OK, but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Heavily pushed by the hotel concierge and here at trip advisor I went expecting wonderful Malaysian food. This was the third night, and I had had wonderful Malaysian food up to this point, so I was expecting the world.

And I got ... boring. The settings are nice, The service attentive, the food ... nothing special. It was boring at best, and boring is not a quality that I came to expect from Malaysian food. While heavily recommended, I can only give it a "meh".

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pelzigenvater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
556 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Don't go to this place when it rains..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We went to Songket since there were great reviews. The food was not great, just OK. Performance was nice. Then it started raining...and the place flooded. It blacked out and we were stuck. No taxi would come fetch us....

Never go to this place when it rains. Terrible night out.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrGoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice Malay food in a good setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

A really nice meal in a nice and clean restaurant. Ingredients all seemed pretty fresh and good choices without going overboard like some menus. Majority of waiters seemed to be Burmese and gave great service. Got the starter platter which was ok, though nothing to rave about. Better to order a bunch of mains. Suitable for both tourists and locals. Will definitely return soon.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KLOysterMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good authentic malay food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Even for a local who is used to be having the best home-cooked food, Songket still delivers in terms of serving good quality Malay dishes. The ingredients are fresh, spices abound and the aroma of the food when it arrives at your table just gets you all excited.

The atmosphere is nice with simple deco and some local crafts and art pieces. The service is exceptional too with the staff knowing their food and able to recommend terrific dishes.

The traditional dance show is a worthwhile effort and caters more for tourist wanting to experience local culture and be entertained while dining.

The price is a bit steep tho. But I guess the food speak for itself. If authentic Malay food is your craving, then Songket is the place.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 99Footsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Songket Restaurant also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Songket Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing