We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC and REAL Japanese food in KL”

Hanare Authentic Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #1,837 of 4,125 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: An iconic japanese restaurant that serves specially hand picked seafood and ingredients air flown from Tsukili market in Japan. Omakase is the restaurants signature offering. It is easier to find if you look for Hilton Double Tree.
USA
Level Contributor
731 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 493 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC and REAL Japanese food in KL”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I visited with my Japanese expat friends in KL. It is their favorite Japanese restaurant in KL and for just reason, it tastes very REAL. Many times eating Japanese food out of Japan can be a "well, it's quite good but...not quite" In the case of Hanare, the food tastes just like Japan. I was the only non-Japanese there... always a good sign. It is quite pricey compared to other restaurants in KL. But compared to other Japanese restaurants in general, it really is good value. The service is also attentive and excellent. The sushi chef came out to let us know what fish were available that evening and to apologize if we didn't like the daily selection!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stonewithnomoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    22
    13
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food + friendly staff = Hanare”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We've always been a fan a great Japanese food (since my 2 months stay in Japan!) - dining with our 18 month old daughter isn't the simplest tasks. After waves of recommendations we decided to 'just do it' and we were off for lunch on a weekday.

Staff - they were very friendly and quick; made us feel at ease with all our (clumsy) stuff around. Little did we know that there were a crowd of 20-30 people finishing their lunch! When they left, they made us 'feel' special again! =)

Food - amazing! The sashimi was amazingly fresh and has the right 'oily' levels! Among the best I've tasted! We ordered the lunch set - it tasted fab! Our daughter really enjoyed her first Japanese meal and her chawanmushi !

$$ - it was on the higher-scale, but we thought it was truly value for money.

We would be back again, and again, and again!
Thanks for the great experience.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gl0be_Tr0tter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great fresh food and ambience”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Went there with my spouse for lunch and tried the set menus ie. tepan seafood set and wagyu beef sukiyaki. The food came fast, we both enjoyed the sets from starters all the way to desserts. Am going again to bring my clients.. Recommended for fresh and good food as well as its cosy ambience..

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaisya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WOW! Best in Class Japanese Cuisine!!”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Hanare has proven itself again and again to be the best in class when it comes to freshness of ingredients, quality and service. The name itself "authentic" holds so true, as it serves a variety of never before seen freshest ingredients especially picked and flown in three times a week straight from Japan.

Highly recommended!

Thank you Hanare and we look forward to our visit time and time again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Emmaline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“You could never eat average sushi again after this!”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

If you want the best sushi you have ever had - this is it - unbelievable - amazing - just spoil yourself - but keep in mind it will change your value system!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Adelemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hanare Authentic Japanese Cuisine also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Hanare Authentic Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing