We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel new modern” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #16 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great hotel new modern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Somerset Ampang is a very new Hotel/Residence and so is in excellent condition. We stayed in an Executive apartment which was only a few dollars extra a night, we were on the 20th floor. The room was very clean and modern with excellent furnishings and amenities. TV in lounge and bedroom, great bathroom with nice bath and shower. The kitchen area was quite large and had everything you would need to cook a small meal for 2 or 3 people (I am sure they would send up more cutlery/crockery if you wanted it) There was a large fridge freezer and a washing machine as well. 2 bottles of complimentary water every day. Bed was large, a bit firm but had excellent linen and pillows. We asked for a cot for our 6 month baby and it was waiting for us in the bedroom. It was fitted out with all sorts of blankets/pillows/edging which we removed for SIDS reasons, but it was a nice thought.
All rooms have free wifi which worked well and the exec rooms have a seperate study witha desk and connections for laptops etc. We used this as our ironing room as you are also provided with an iron and board.
Views from our room were OK, the Petronas Towers are at the side of the hotel so cant be seen from the rooms, but go to the rooftop pool area and you get a good view of the top third of the towers. The pool area is very nice. Pool is outdoor and about 28 degrees. there is also a childs area with fountains and a 12 inch deep pool for little ones. A small gym with modern equipment and a nice lounge to relax in.
Staff were very helpful and polite. Check in/out was perfect and you can store luggage for later collection if you like. Breakfast was included in our rate and is served at the Souled Out restaurant next door. Breakfast is quite basic, but a good start to the day. There is an egg/omelet station, breads/pastries/salads/cereals and some hot dished which usually comprise a Malay dish and then things like beans, scrambled eggs, pancackes etc, there is also juice/tea/coffee.
Overall the hotel is great and the negatives are very minor and not the hotels fault:

1) If you dont have small children then walking to the Petronas towers or the nearby Ampang Park railway station is easy. The nearby intersection is a nightmare, the pedestrian crossing buttons never worked and you had to dash across 4 lanes of traffic taking your life in your hands, as is usual in many Asian countries, people drive like maniacs.
2) The pavements are terrible or non existant, sometimes there are trees in the middle of the pavement making you have to walk on the very busy road, loose pavers are everywhere and you really have to watch where you are going.
3) Noise from the road goes on well into the night, some vehicles clearly do not have exhausts and sometimes it sounds like a tank is passing the hotel and can be heard even from the 20th floor.

As previously stated this is not the hotels fault, but it does detract a little from the overall experience.

Getting about is OK, 15 mins walk to Petronas, 5 mins to train station. train costs between 1 and 2 RM to go anywhere and you can catch the train to most popular places, other than that taxis are relatively cheap, but make sure they use the meter.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for an executive room on the top floors with a bit more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claguey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    273
    42
    13
    9
See reviews for
233
282
36
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed here for nine months and highly recommend their apartments. Everything you need is in there: wireless network, well equipped kitchen, music player with iPod dock, and most importantly, the rooms are well-kept and cleaned. The staff are most pleasant and helpful, save for perhaps the occasional one who doesn't quite speak nor understand English.

The only aspect which is a little letdown is the fact that Somerset Ampang relies solely on Souled Out for daily buffet breakfast. Go with little expectation and you'll be fine. If you're staying longer, perhaps walk 330m further down Jalan Ampang (away from Petronas Twin Towers) and buy your own groceries from Hock Choon Supermarket.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank udonhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We recently stayed at the Somerset Ampang and have really enjoyed it. They upgraded us to a deluxe studio; it was big, airy, very clean and modern. The rooftop pool is simply great, with view of the towers and the gym was also great. There is included Wi-Fi access throughout. The only downside would be the breakfast but it is just a minor detail….this hotel is extremely good value for money!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelAmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

I've searched the net for months before booking this hotel and i chose it based on trip advisor reviews, as i'm almost obssesed with cleanliness and everything about a hotel to stay.
We stayed there for 10 nights for a family reunion with my sister's family coming from canada. Booked a three bedroom apartment and a premiere studio.
Everything about the place was great. Quite new and very clean. The manager is such a great person, living in the same place himself.
My 11 month baby got sick in the trip and we had to admit him at prince court hospital for one night. It was such a surprise for me in those difficult hours to see the hotel manager coming to the hospital at 10 pm to support us and check if we need anything...
Coming back from hospital 3 hotel staff came to our room with fruit and cake for me and a bear for the baby. It was so sweet...
Everyone in our group was completely satisfied with our stay.
Even the house keeping girl Named Norlida was very nice :)
Breakfast could be better though... Nice resturant, but very limited options for breakfast.

I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Primavera747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We spent 6 nights in a 1-bedroom apartment at Somerset Ampang and were very satisfied with our choice of accommodation.

It was very comfortable, with lots of facilities, just as described on the website, and the whole place was very clean. The staff throughout were all very pleasant and friendly and delivered very good service, not forgetting the shuttle-bus service and the excellent drivers.

Some people have posted negative comments about the breakfast, but we were satisfied with the food on offer, and the choices in the buffet did change every day. Also there were eggs cooked to order plus fresh pastries baked onsite.

We would have been very happy to have stayed longer, and surely we shall return, if we can get another special offer rate.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are at the back - but still have an open view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aandlkch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
8.6 km away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
5.1 km away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#14 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
2.0 km away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
2.1 km away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#25 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
1.1 km away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur

Property: Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Address: No 187 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#22 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,172 - ₹ 8,149
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the prestigious Embassy Row, Somerset Ampang offers stylish accommodation and unrivalled city views of the Kuala Lumpur City Centre. Its prime location provides quick access to the city's business, shopping and entertainment district, marked by Jalan Ampang, JAlan Sultan Ismail and Jalan Tun Razak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ostrovok so you can book your Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing