We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be put off by the exterior!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nan Yeang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nan Yeang Hotel
Ranked #52 of 322 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the exterior!”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

For 80RM, this hotel is excellent value. They don't seem to be listed with any booking websites, but arranging a stay online with them was very easy and they responded to my email within a day.

They accommodated my request for a quiet room (I'm a very light sleeper) graciously, and were helpful when checking out and leaving my luggage there.

The rooms are a decent size, as is the bathroom. It is a shower-over-toilet arrangement, but that's to be expected for not only the price, but the region - this seems to be the norm.

I had a lot of natural light in my room which was great. One of the downsides to this hotel was the fact that I found their pillows too high, and when I requested a softer one, I was told they were all the same. The walls are also reasonably thin, so I could hear my neighbour in the shower coughing up something special repeatedly, which was quite foul!

Despite these issues, if I was in KL again, I would return here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street if you're a light sleeper. As the hotel overlooks China...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PennyW26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    32
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
8
15
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I used to stay at the hotel next door at nearly double the price until I discovered the Nan Yeang. The rooms are small but clean, I had a small balcony and window. The shower was hot, bed comfortable, drinking water provided, in short everything necessary was there. The bathroom is typical of many asian hotels, where when having a shower the whole room gets wet, but once you organise yourself appropriately it is not really that much of a problem. I booked by email as they don't seem to be involved with any of the large booking websites but they responded quickly and had the room ready for me when I arrived. Looking forward to staying there again. Great value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank one2ormany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I've been staying in that hotel for many time when I am in KL. it's quiet good which near to place like eating, drinking, LRT, bus, taxi, seafood...

Room Tip: Room downstairs which new decoration
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank puthywong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampar,Perak
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The hotel is centrally located in the Chinatown. It provides Double room, Triple room, Quad room and even family room for 5 person at affordable prices. We've got Triple room at RM100, which is RM33.30 per person only. They not allow adding extra bed or fitting 3 person into a double room.

The room are comfortable and nice although the building looks old. 1 Queen size bed and 1 single bed available in the room. The YORK air cond ensures us a cool sleep. There is a very tiny balcony outside. Good view of the Chinatown from the room. The room and its attached bathroom are clean and tidy. Towels and soaps are provided but there is no hair shampoo. The free wifi is working. There are many local newspapers at the lobby. The staff are helpful.

Overall, we are satisfied with the stay. It is definitely worth more than what you pay for it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ezrayongwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
259 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Close to everything-buses, rails and right in Chinatown. Nice people working there make this a good choice.

Room Tip: 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank updog247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 km away
Lantern Hotel
Lantern Hotel
#83 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
204 reviews
0.0 km away
Etika Inn
Etika Inn
#38 of 322 in Kuala Lumpur
46 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Paloma Inn
Hotel Paloma Inn
#5 of 322 in Kuala Lumpur
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Birdnest Collective Cafe & Guesthouse
Birdnest Collective Cafe & Guest...
#19 of 322 in Kuala Lumpur
45 reviews
0.1 km away
Mingle
Mingle
#16 of 245 in Kuala Lumpur
54 reviews
0.3 km away
Matahari Lodge
Matahari Lodge
#16 of 322 in Kuala Lumpur
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nan Yeang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nan Yeang Hotel

Property: Nan Yeang Hotel
Address: Hotel Nanyeang No. 83 Jalan Sultan, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 972 - ₹ 2,397
Hotel Class:2 star — Nan Yeang Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing