We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic stuff”
Review of Sam's Kitchen

Sam's Kitchen
Ranked #2,503 of 4,174 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 25
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Halal Certified. Excellent South Indian Banana Leaf Meal at a affordable price in a clean environment and friendly service.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good basic stuff”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Great rendang and lovely salsas. Casual affordable dining with friendly people

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    13
    3
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Broome, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We'm We'll plan another trip to KL just to revisit Sam's Kitchen!”
Reviewed 5 April 2012 via mobile

My fiance and I visited Sam's Kitchen for lunch on our stopover in KL on the way back to Australia from the UK and it definitely lived up to the rave reviews on tripadvisor.

Indian food is our favourite cusine and Sam's has some of the best we have ever come across- including meals in India. The food was fresh, served in abundance and very, very cheap. The service was also exceptional with very friendly and accommodating staff. We also met Sam who sat down and had a quick chat with us and exudes passion about food and his business.

We are planning another stopover in KL on our way to our honeymoon in August this year and will make our first stop in KL a meal at Sam's.

Helpful?
2 Thank KimberleyLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamJonesKl, Owner at Sam's Kitchen, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Kimberley,
Congratulations! Thanks for the compliments. I am humbled. My team looks forward to welcoming you and your husband in August. Cheers

Sam,
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Quality Indian food, affordable pricing”
Reviewed 31 March 2012 via mobile

This place serves good south Indian food with quality ingredients and the chefs are good. Unlike most of the indian eateries in kl that serves spicy, salty food claimed to be Indian cuisine, SAMs is a better place. Their madras prawns are fresh and crispy, more (buttermilk drink) is refreshing. Price wise, they are affordable too. A good, clean place

Helpful?
2 Thank tsashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great service”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We visited Sams in a group of 4 adults with 2 young children, based on trip advisor reports.
Bad research on our part, but the main restaurant upstairs was closed, as apparently it is on mondays, but hey ho, we gave it a try.

Our group consisted of 3 veggies, one vegan and 2 unashamed carnivores. The floor manager was excellent, making suggestions for all, and all suggestions were spot on. Personally I cant remember the name of what I ate, some kind of spicy potato, mutton and vegetable thing, (not appealing to the eye but tasted great!) & Several lime lassis.

The cost for all of us worked out to be somewhere around 60rm! great value, all of us are looking to go back for the full menu when we can get the time.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skidkid666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food - excellent value”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

You cannot fault this place . Great authentic south Indian food at an excellent price. Would recommend to those on a budget as well as those used to fine dining. Note there is also a North Indian restaurant which opens at 7 on the top floor

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shay666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sam's Kitchen also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Sam's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing