We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cheesecake!”

The Tokyo Restaurant.
Ranked #73 of 4,985 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Step into this new foodie heaven and be enveloped in generous leather booths with a view of the kitchen and a spacious, stylish bar serving classic cocktails and wine- a destination for contemporary flavors with a Tokyo essence. Once a chic establishment in Azabu loved by Japanese celebrities, now sees a revival in Kuala Lumpur. A new hip spot to enjoy an awesome dining experience with friends and family.
Restaurant details
Description: Step into this new foodie heaven and be enveloped in generous leather booths with a view of the kitchen and a spacious, stylish bar serving classic cocktails and wine- a destination for contemporary flavors with a Tokyo essence. Once a chic establishment in Azabu loved by Japanese celebrities, now sees a revival in Kuala Lumpur. A new hip spot to enjoy an awesome dining experience with friends and family.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I've to say that this is really the best burnt cheesecake in town, even after trying the huckleberry group's cheesecake! The texture at every gradual layer of the cake as you move from the burnt edges to the center get creamier and creamier, and it's not too sweet. Together with the cream, it makes a fantastic combo!

Only thing is that the slices have gotten slightly thinner as compared to a few months ago when I had it (probably due to rising costs as the price of each slice is still the same). Still worth every bite!

Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qr91965, Manager at The Tokyo Restaurant., responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Our cheesecakes are major favorite from the crowd, we are happy that you enjoyed that. Aside from that , our classic Tiramisu is as great as our cheesecakes , you could give it a try on your next visit !


Kind regards,
Akito Sakamoto,
Restaurant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 32 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2018

The 6th avenue Cheesecake is heavenly! Nice ambience and food is nicely garnished, but the portion is rather small. Service needs improvement.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LowY86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qr91965, Manager at The Tokyo Restaurant., responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Our cheesecakes are major favorite from the crowd, we are happy that you enjoyed that. Aside from that , our classic Tiramisu is as great as our cheesecakes , you could give it a try on your next visit !

Kind regards,
Akito Sakamoto,
Restaurant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

They made a happy diner out of me. Good food and good service. Servers were very attentive. Menu-wise, would have been great to have more options for for those I ordered, had no complaints

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicholas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qr91965, Manager at The Tokyo Restaurant., responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Greetings from The Tokyo Restaurants! It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to serve you again soon. Thank you for your review towards The Tokyo Restaurant and we are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your time with us here today.

Best Regards,
Akito Sakamoto,
Restaurant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Yes this place is overhyped but I like. Came here after dinner just for the cheese cake and love it. It’s a bit thick and creamy but it’s very good. Not too sweet either so it’s the perfect dessert to end our night. Nothing to fault, will definitely be back for more cheesecake!

Thank Crystalism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qr91965, Manager at The Tokyo Restaurant., responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Our cheesecakes are major favorite from the crowd, we are happy that you enjoyed that. Aside from that , our classic Tiramisu is as great as our cheesecakes , you could give it a try on your next visit !

Best Regards,
Akito Sakamoto,
Restaurant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Love the 6th avenue cheesecake and restaurant ambiance! Worth visiting again and they have friendly waiter/waitress too :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank _reinayap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qr91965, Manager at The Tokyo Restaurant., responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Reinayap, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and we are all looking forward to welcoming you again very soon!

Best regards,
Akito Sakamoto,
Restaurant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tokyo Restaurant. also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to The Tokyo Restaurant.? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing