We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Malaysian Chinese Cooking

Not to be missed!!!! Fantastic experience! I didn’t want it to end. Every detail is thought about... read more

Reviewed today
karinem117
,
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
via mobile
Great recipes and tips

I recommend LaZat to anyone interested in Malaysian cuisine. I learnt a lot, ate a lot and had a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Kathy C
,
Melbourne, Australia
via mobile
Read all 491 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kuala Lumpur
from US$ 25.00
More Info
from US$ 29.00
More Info
from US$ 30.08
More Info
from US$ 12.50
More Info
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
462
23
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
462
23
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews market tour recipe book beef rendang cooking experience la zat roti cooking course cookery school great teacher onde onde wet market learning how learn how wontons step by step otak otak mango pudding
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018

This is the third cooking class that I've taken in S.E.A and LaZat Cooking Class is by far among the best. The staff is friendly, professional, and knowledgeable. LaZat's Cooking Class is also the cleanest and most well put together cooking class that I've been to. The food is delicious and flavorful, just remember to bring an appetite.

I highly recommend LaZat Malaysian Cooking Class!

Date of experience: February 2018
2  Thank karlv207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Have returned to enjoy this class again. A very happy customer. Thank you Ana for making this class such a special one, with lots of fun and laughter. There were 7 in this class, each from a different nation, made for great entertainment. Ana’s enthusiastic cooking methods made the day very enjoyable. I found the market visit a little rushed this time.

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank SydnTooli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Since food was one of our main reasons for visiting Malaysia, we knew we wanted to do a cookery class and reviews suggested this was the best one and we were glad to have chosen it. Laty met us first thing at the market for a breakfast or roti canai and pulled tea, followed by a walk round all the produce vendors to identify key ingredients in Malaysian cooking that we had either never seen before or wouldn’t have recognised. A short drive away we arrived at the school, where the open air kitchen faced out onto dense jungle – a truly picturesque setting. With only three of us on this particular class for the Malay Classic menu, we had plenty of attention and could see clearly everything that she was doing. The food came out amazingly, particularly the starter which were like little meat parcels in batter which we could not stop eating! As well as cooking 3 courses, we got to shave coconuts using an old scraper seat, shave ice on an old crank machine, and try ais kacang (shaved ice and syrup with red beans). It ended up being a longer morning than we anticpated, not finishing cooking until 1.30 before sitting down to eat. The only issue with this was that when we needed to leave was somewhat lost in translation, and they ended up driving at speed across the city to get us back to our hotel for 2.10, which they miraculously managed to do just as the car for our next tour was pulling up! Overall this was one of our favourite things that we did in KL, and would highly recommend the school and Laty to any visiting foodies. I’m sure we would have equally enjoyed any of the other menus too, so go on any day that you can.

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank adamt616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

I attended the class on the day of the authentic malay dishes.
First we went to a local market for a breakfast where the tourist guide lady showed us the basic ingredients what we used while cooking. She also shared interesting stories about the malay culture and history.
After that we went to the kitchen which is located near the city in the rain forest. We especially liked the chef Saadiya with her experience and happy mood. It was a good session, I definitely recommend it.

Date of experience: February 2018
3  Thank Krisztián M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lazatcooking, Owner at LaZat Malaysian Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Hello Krisztian,

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your experience with us.
We hope that you can practice your cooking skill in making the rendang back home.

Please do not hesitate to reach out to us if you need any advice in preparing Malaysian's dishes ya :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Cooking tours are a great way to meet the locals, experience the culture, have fun cooking new styles and finishing off with a delicious meal. The Lazat experience was all this plus more. We had a wonderful day with some absolutely charming people that were generous and hospitable. We gained a unique insight into the Malay/Chinese/Indian cultural fusion as well as a fun day learning about Malaysian cooking.
The market tour was informative and we gained a real understanding of the importance of balance in herbs and spices.
The cooking instruction was educational and entertaining - it was a totally hands on experience with lots of attention to each participant.
And to finish off we ate a delicious meal with new friends that we had all cooked together.
A highlight was spending time with Ana the owner of the LaZat cooking school. What a warm, beautiful, generous person that has created a wonderful environment for her staff and guests. We are all the more richer for this amazing experience. Thank you to everyone who shared our day, from the pick-up driver, our market guides Loti and Ummi, our talented chef Saadhia and the wonderful host, Ana.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lazatcooking, Owner at LaZat Malaysian Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Hello Paul,

We are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us.
Please feel free to connect with us if you need any advice on Malaysian's dishes.
We are happy to assist you and don't forget to practice your skill in preparing the dishes that you have learned with us! :)

Cheers~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews