We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don´t get blinded by the nice looking homepage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #221 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Deutschland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don´t get blinded by the nice looking homepage”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I spent two nights in the hotel in a standard twin room with a friend of mine. At the arrival the hotel seems really perfect, absolutely central located and a nice lobby. However, at a second glance and when entering the floor of the rooms, I really got disappointed. The floor at the corridor was not cleaned (a cigarette butt has been lying there for the whole length of my stay, so obviously they did not clean the floor at all) and the room was more than disappointing. Beside the fact that there was a door inside our room to the next room (which we could open and suddenly entered the room of other guests), the room smelled really bad, which may have been due to the old carpet which covered the floor. It was very unhygienic and also the sheets of our beds had several stains and the original white color was grey shaded.
Breakfast was ok, a lot of cooked food, but not really a good selection for people who prefer continental breakfast.
Wifi was only available at the lobby, in the room was only a cable connection, which unfortunately did not work.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sancha88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear Sancha88,

Greetings from Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences.

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at our hotel. First and foremost, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced. We are all committed to rectifying our shortcomings. Please be rest assured that your feedback has been highlighted to the managers concerned.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Wong Siew Peng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    325
    274
    102
    77
See reviews for
111
184
53
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zwolle
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We had a nice stay at the hotel, but then we forgot one toilet bag in the bathroom when we left the hotel and it was stolen by the staff. We did everything we could to get it back, but we did not succeed. There was no help from the hotel and only after three days the manager called us and said that the people who work at his reception don't know what to do when a problem occurs. We had to get back to KL to make up a police report, but we haven't heard from anybody. So ... Nice hotel, but don't leave anything behind, because then it is gone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear Christel Z,

Greetings from Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences.

Thank you for your feedback. First and foremost, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the loss of your toiletries bag you encountered.

We have taken all the necessary steps to retrieve your bag and a thorough investigation was carried out. At Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences, security and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance, our Front Office Manager has personally spoken to you about the situation and we have assisted by accompanying you to make the police report.

We hope our shortcomings will not place us in your permanent disfavour and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Wong Siew Peng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We have stayed a few years ago also in this hotel, nothing great but good rooms and a great breakfast. So we decided to go back. In these two years the hotel has gone from 4 stars to 1.
The elevators take fore ever, than you enter in shabby corridors which are filthy! The "room" more like a closet was so small that our suitcases did not fit? It was extremely dirty, the carpet was covered with pure filth, the back sides from the beds were dirty, many stains on the sheets. A window that was 10 centimeters and small flies in the waste bins. In one word: horrible.
I went down and did my complain, well nobody really cared and did not listen, they were too busy with checking in others. Went up again, no hot water, the toilet kept running and called the reception. A maintenance man came, with the most dirty shoes so the bathroom was even dirtier. He turned on the tab, here there is hot water..there was none? Toilet doesn't run..did not believe my ears. Then he called his manager and said that we were talking nonsense. I called immediately while the maintenance guy was busy repairing the toilet and hot water???
We were moved to another room, we got a huge suite due to the inconveniences etc. Was nice of them but now we got 1 kingsize bed instead of twins and did not sleep well, suite was also very old, but clean. There was a leaflet in that suite that stated that they fumigate the room once a week due to cockroaches? so if you saw them running in your room, than you could call the reception. Or if you got skin rashes??? Outside in the hall there was much food from room service, old plates and dirty dishes. The next morning and around check out time, it was still standing there. We understood the cockroach problem. Breakfast was so bad! everybody was complaining, a fried egg took 15 minutes and there was a line for a few meters. There were only a few croissants, and new ones took 20 minutes. But everybody wanted these, because the rest was tasteless or finished. The coffee was the worst ever!
4 stars? unbelievable. For this price you can get a real 3-4 star hotel. This was so bad, can not recommend this even it would cost 5 euros.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessavanweelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Tessavanweelie,

Greetings from Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences.

Thank you for staying with us again and communicating your feedback to us. First of all, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment and inconveniences you have encountered. The shortcomings that you have pointed out have been identified to the respective managers for necessary rectification.

Please be advised that we have placed leaflets in every guests' room as an effort to inform our guests' that we are undergoing pest control exercises to control pests breeding in the neighbouring area to provide better guests' experiences in the future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,
Wong Siew Peng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I was staying at the Maytower on business for a fortnight recently. The location was ok for my temporary place of employment, but not if you want proximity to any action in KL. Due to the heat it'd be a taxi ride away to almost everything - at least only RM10-15.
In short this hotel is run down. It's in a need of a makeover.
Rather than write war and peace, I'll just highlight a few of the issues that affected me.
1: The 'standard' room I was first checked in to was scandalously small. There was a 10" gap between bed and wall to access the other half of the room. Virtually no hanging space and bathroom I couldn't turn in. I'm not huge- 5'10" and certainly not overweight.
I complained the next morning and thankfully they moved me, but only because I wouldn't leave them alone. The next 'deluxe' room was of a normal standard. Reasonable size and no complaints there.
2: Stained carpets, curtains and broken bathroom fixtures don't help the look.
3: Room service meals are poor quality, better taking your chances nearby - I was deeply unimpressed although mercifully thankful the meal I had never made me sick at least.
4: You have to constantly chase reception to do anything. Whether it be to collect laundry, replenish laundry bags, bring an ice bucket (which was a plastic bag with ice, not exactly a bucket).
5: No wifi in rooms, only lobby which is thankfully free for guests.
6: No bar. The restaurant serves drinks but if you have a drink alone you'll be feeling obliged to eat and occupying a table of 4 minimum.
7: Half my stay was during Ramadan and this hotel basically only caters for the Muslim guests during this time. The whole restaurant is turned into a makeshift family banquet arena. And if you're not eating the banquet then you can forget ordering off their menu. That's if they can even seat you. My biggest gripe was there was not a guest to be seen during this time - the hotel function as a public restaurant and the place turns in to a car park for hungry Muslims. As mentioned above, room service is not a viable alternative.
8: An almost constant stream of mosquitoes in my room, surprising me considering I was 28 floors up.
9: Not enough channels on the tv - basic package here for sure but that's not a huge deal I suppose.
10: Free breakfast was average but it's free so what do you expect.

On the plus side, the gym was reasonable and the door staff were friendly and courteous. Reception staff weren't rude exactly, just forgetful.

I wouldn't recommend this place to friends unless they were getting a really cheap rate...and their expectations weren't particularly high.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraseyfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Fraseyfp,

Greetings from Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences.

Thank you for communicating your feedback to us, as these will help us in our mission to constantly improve to serve our valued guests better. First and foremost, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced.

Your observations have been highlighted and necessary trainings have been conducted and issues are rectified by the departments concerned. To meet our guest expectations, we have different types of rooms that value for money that will suit individual needs.

I hope our shortcomings will not place us in your permanent disfavor and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Wong Siew Peng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

First experience during reservation was great. Had the pleasure of booking a friend in direct as well as experiencing reserving through agoda.

Jaja was great in providing help and making sure that the reservation was firm. With this first impression, you can't help but to look forward to experiencing the stay at this hotel. Check-in was however different, it felt like talking to robots. However, i would give them the 5 star smile effort, u will always get a smile at the end of the conversation.

The rooms itself, we reserved a deluxe. Nothing special, a typical hotel room layout with typical amenities. Make sure you tell housekeeping to refill you with items that you do need, if you're the sort of person who couldn't be bothered to call reception and WAIT for the item to be brought to your room (the waiting is quite sometime). Our 3 night stay was uneventful and the room pose no special problems that may disrupt our comfortable stay. Beware of the air condition, you do have to play with it to get the room temperature right. Everytime the a/c would be turned on, the room would be like the north pole.

The breakfast was average in the range of food (not big but enough variety) offered and of service. You better get there early though, they stop re-filling the stations at 9am. Don't expect the service to be 5 star, breakfast periods are a mad rush and do sympathize the staff.

Check out was very quick. Just tell them your room number and you're gone.

Location was again average. You do have to walk quite a bit to the nearest LRT station - Masjid Jamek. You even have a choice of which path to take; 1. being a hassle free direct route to the station or 2. being in a market area where you can spend a good 3-4 hours shopping for good copies of watches, bags, sunnies and women's accessories aplenty. However, Masjid Jamek is a great station (an interchange), it gets you to hang tuah station where you can walk directly (literally two minutes by the calculations of the app on my handphone) to berjaya times square, bukit bintang area. KL sentral is two stops away. Even the notorious Petaling street markets is one stop away (Pasar seni Station), well..you can even make the 10min walk if you're fit for Masjid Jamek station.

In other words, the location saves the integrity of the hotel.

Room Tip: Agoda prices made its value of stay excellent. Do ask for rooms facing the twin towers. Do ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 75TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WongSP, Director of Sales at Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear 75TK,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences and for sharing your very fair observations. We have taken note of your comments in regards to housekeeping and the breakfast period and will address this with the relevant departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Kuala Lumpur.

Regards
Wong Siew Peng
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 km away
StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur
StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#107 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
306 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel WP
Hotel WP
#56 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
237 reviews
9.8 km away
Silka Cheras Kuala Lumpur
Silka Cheras Kuala Lumpur
#177 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lu...
#131 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
244 reviews
1.1 km away
Q Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Q Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#187 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,060 reviews
0.6 km away
Premiera Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Premiera Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#91 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur

Property: Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur
Address: 7 Jalan Munshi Abdullah, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia (Formerly Silka Maytower Hotel, Kuala Lumpur)
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,055 - ₹ 4,688
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka Maytower, Kuala Lumpur is located in central Kuala Lumpur. The hotel is within walking distance to Merdeka Square, KL Tower, Central Market, Chinatown, the Petronas Twin Towers, Lake Garden and Sogo, making it an ideal base accommodation for exploring Malaysia's most popular tourist attractions, historical, modern and natural sights, shopping, street food, fine dining, and local communities. Silka Maytower Hotel & Serviced Residences enjoys easy access to public transportation with the Masjid Jamek LRT Station and Dang Wangi Monorail being just a 5-minute walk away. With 193 rooms and suites, the hotel provides affordable accommodation for families, business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Ctrip TA so you can book your Silka Maytower Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maytower Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Maytower Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing