We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Simple and Unexpected big room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of D'Oriental Inn, Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
D'Oriental Inn, Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #184 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simple and Unexpected big room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

travel from east coast before have intention to stay a nite in KL...walk in to this hotel with rate offer RM100 nett with 2 person breakfast. Room is big, got higher floor and far from lift. Room wt 2 single bed and no smelly n basic facilities inside the room. No big deal.

In front of the hotel is shopping area and you don need to walk far to get any gud price for shoe, bag and cloths. Very easy to get taxi or city train to go anywhere, I bet you.

Staff is friendly, food is good and delicious.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nengsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    166
    113
    54
    37
See reviews for
17
98
49
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

This hotel had a small, clean reception and was located on one of the market streets of China Town. It got incredibly busy outside in the evening and it was almost impossible to walk around when the night market started. The area itself seemed quite dodgy, dirty and a tad smelly.

The room was the worst part of this hotel. It was tiny, dark, dingy, and very old with worn carpets and uncomfortably soft beds. The bathroom was squashed into one corner with no separated shower area (so the bathroom flooded after a shower). The grey bed sheets had horrible stains (brown and milky white) and I tried not to think about how these had occurred. There was one tiny window which hardly let any light in.

The hotel was a 10-15 minute walk from the main bus station which was convenient for travellers coming into KL from another Malaysian city. It took about 20-30 minutes (door to door) using the nearby transit train station (KLCC) to get to the Petronas Twin Towers.

A buffet breakfast could be purchased relatively cheaply in the hotel (served at the back of the ground floor) but the options were very limited so not really worth it. Laundry was charged by item so it was better to use the laundry service at a nearby hotel which did it by weight. Internet access is available on computers near the lobby for a charge, but one of the computers was full of viruses and unusable. Luckily they did not charge me for my wasted time, and let me use the internet for free on another occasion.

When we returned from a night out at a nearby bar, a friend and I found a hotel security guard at the entrance using a piece of wood to jam shut the glass doors. It made me feel very unsafe to know that such security measures were needed at only 10:30pm and that the locking method was so unprofessional.

Staying at this hotel really spoiled my experience of KL, which is supposed to be a lovely city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a different hotel; there are no good ones here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skylarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Easy to find Hotel during the day in Chinatown. With Jalan Petalaling the main street in Chinatown, the Hotel may be hard to find after dark when the street is taken over by stall vendors with their stalls and merchandise.
Upon entering the Hotel we noticed a smelly Hotel, however the staff were most pleasant, polite and eager to assist.
Our room was on Petaling Street, however we didn't notice any disturbing noise from the stall vendors/shoppers, and slept well until around 4.00 am when awoken by a single 'tomcat' meowing.
Breakfast was quiet pleasing, and above average.
We prepaid our accommodation, had no problems with our booking. From what we encountered later in KL, we would suggest that Hotel rates were on the high side for this venue.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve_in_Tasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Be careful when paying. Initially they lost my reservation and tried charging me more. Then having put my card through the machine said it hadn't gone through and did it again and I now have a double payment on my bill. I've tried contacting the hotel for the past 2 weeks and not had any reply.
Other than that it's basic. You can get better hotels for less but it does a job.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Location great - in the heart of China Town - but that's about it! The hotel was very smelly. woke up covered in bites...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank indianqueen39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel China Town 2
Hotel China Town 2
#176 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.3 km away
Winsin Hotel
Winsin Hotel
#125 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel China Town Inn
Hotel China Town Inn
#101 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Leo Leisure Hotel
Leo Leisure Hotel
#106 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.3 km away
Lavana Hotel, Chinatown
Lavana Hotel, Chinatown
#149 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Petaling
Hotel Petaling
#103 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Oriental Inn, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Oriental Inn, Kuala Lumpur

Property: D'Oriental Inn, Kuala Lumpur
Address: 82 & 84 Jalan Petaling, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 802 - ₹ 1,671
Hotel Class:2.5 star — D'Oriental Inn, Kuala Lumpur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
D'Oriental Inn, Chinatown KL, 85 spaciously built and furnished rooms with complimentary wi-fi connections. All rooms are fully equip with individual control air condition system, IDD telephone facility, color TV, WIFI connection to all rooms, laundry services and tour counter offering city and country tours are readily available for our guest. The Standard room at the D’Oriental Inn Petaling Street in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia comes with a choice of queen size bed and twin bed for the superior room is consist of one king size bed with the same basic standard amenities, these rooms are more comfortable and convenient for those traveling in a group. The price of the rooms at the D’Oriental Inn Petaling Street in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia is affordable and guest can experience the life in the China Town of Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your D'Oriental Inn, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d`Oriental Inn, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing