We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient”
Review of ANSA Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ANSA Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #71 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We made reservations for 2 deluxe rooms over the weekend. We were pleased to find that both rooms are very clean and bright. The 'open concept' of the bathroom feels a bit weird to us though. Check in and check out was quick and efficient. With their luggage storing facilities, we do not have to lug our luggage around with us between our arrival time and check in time and also between check out time and our departure time. Very convenient location sandwiched between Lot 10 and Fahrenheit 88 not to mention very, very near to Pavillion and Sungei Wang Plaza and also the KL Monorail station. Would be good if the hotel includes breakfast in the room rates which is not the case currently. Definitely will consider a repeat stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoonWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIC101, Director of Sales at ANSA Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Dear Soon WL,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to write.

Your comments and suggestion raised are both extremely valuable and necessary in our efforts to improve our service standards and anticipating guests’ needs and expectation.

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to your next visit with us.

May we take this opportunity to thank you again for choosing Piccolo Hotel, and we hope to be of service to you again in the near future when you return for holiday in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    529
    193
    69
    41
See reviews for
181
351
123
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at Piccolo for 5 nights over the Chinese New Year period to visit friends. The hotel is situated in the middle of Bukit Bintang, which is the most vibrant area in Kuala Lumpur. The area is cluttered with both cheap and exclusive malls (eg. BB Mall and Pavilian), restaurants and spas. The hotel is reasonably easy to access by train, with a short walk from the Bukit Bintang station. However, one needs to bear in mind that Kuala Lumpur's public transport system is somewhat inefficient, so access to other parts of the city by rail is inconvenient even though access to the Bukit Bintang station is easy.

The hotel restaurant, which is located on the ground, was always empty whenever we walked by. This did not matter as the hotel is surrounded by several food options, ranging from food court options to expensive restaurants. There is also an Arabian bar on the ground floor of the hotel, which parties until the early hours of the morning and if you don't stay in a room on one of the top floors you will be unlikely to get any sleep - fortunately we got a room on the top floor. Notice I say "fortunately" because we only booked the room when we arrive at reception as seemingly there was no way of reserving your room ahead of time. This brings me to my next point - the hotel service is quite poor. Every day housekeeping cleaned the room at 6pm in the evening and every day we needed to contact reception as housekeeping would have forgotten to leave towles, shampoo, soap etc. Reception was not particular warm and welcoming and the front door, whilst there are guards around, is pretty much open to all until 1am, when the front door locks and entrance is rerouted to a side door, which is controlled much better.

We had a standard room, which is much bigger than most deluxe rooms in Asia. The bathroom and toilet were also very spacious. The room was wonderfully decorated. For fussier types, beware, as some folk smoke in the hallways - other than this, I would consider the hotel neat.

The hotel booking was very cheap and given the huge rooms and central location, Piccolo is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Had a deluxe twin room even though my booking indicated a queen.
Would describe it as Ibis style with wooden Flooring.what surprise me was the open concept wash basin that greeted me the moment I open the door. No issue with that, except that the taps are located so close to the edge of the basin that it's easy to have water being splash all over.
The room also had a lingering cigarette smell even though it's a non smoking room.

Also find The service for check in was slow, and the staff doesn't seem proactive enough in serving and meeting the needs of he traveller.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gnoskcoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The hotel was even better located than you could imagine. It's right across the Pavilion mall at Bukit Bintang and since we were on a holiday, my wife had access to the best of stores right below and I, to the cool modern street side bars down there, too. If you're in KL, this is the place to be. Here's what's around (at your doorstep literally):- Pavilion Mall, Fahrenheit 88, Lot 10, Sungei Wang Plaza, 7/11, Changkat, etc. and KLCC, Petronas, Berjaya Timesquare are 15 minutes walk away.

The rooms are spacious, modern and there's a wash basin in your room like you must have never seen before. It's pretty cool I thought, but better if I were Asian and didn't find the need to shave. But, it wasn't really inconvenient in any way. The bath and WC area were both spacious and separate, so two of you could be getting ready at the same time as well. The wardrobes were spacious and I'm not sure if the locker would fit your laptop computer in (you could use a lock alarm if you had to for that).

The hotel, however, offers no F&B service, but there are outlets (4 that you may think are a part of the hotel) in the lobby and all around that are managed separately. There is also a spa on the second floor and offers discounts to it's guests (but, we used another Spa down the road). There is no gym or swimming pool in or around the hotel either. But, if you may go for a run on the streets nearby.

Piccolo has an arrangement with a modern looking street side cafe "Coffee Club" that serves breakfast, but they had literally only 3 fixed breakfast options to offer. Either Eggs, Pancakes or Waffles as the main and Sausages, Bacon on the side (that are served with the eggs only) with a cup of tea or coffee.

Bukit Bintang gets choked with traffic, especially on Saturday nights. Considering the location of Piccolo, taxi driver's don't refuse. As they can take the internal lanes to get out. A little ahead and they don't take you. Also, Bukit Bintang is a long street. One side is really modern and pretty where this, Pavilion and a few other good hotels are located. The next half of the street is quite a mess and you may not like it. But, that's further up and you won't even realize it's there.

Long story short, I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to KL. It's location couldn't be better and the rooms were good, too. The staff was welcoming, prompt and friendly. WiFi around the hotel and rooms was free and easy to connect to.

Tip: Stay on the top most floor.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank champbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We had a big room with a view (executive room) but:

- the room was not clean at all (stains on the floor and bed... very dirty sofa)

- staff were not very nice or helpful, sometimes hard to communicate
- very bed Internet service
- quite poor breakfast (outside the hotel)
- expensive neighborhood for food and drinks around the hotel
- can be quite noisy at night (very loud arabic music on the ground floor)


I think you can find better for the same price in KL.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIC101, Director of Sales at ANSA Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Dear Ms Cat,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write on our guest survey form.

Your comments and suggestion raised are both extremely valuable and necessary in our efforts to improve our service standards and anticipating guests’ needs and expectation.

In the meantime, we have taken note on your concerned and apologize for any inconvenience that may have caused you during your stay with us.

May we take this opportunity to thank you again for choosing Piccolo Hotel, and we hope to be of service to you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 km away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#49 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
731 reviews
0.2 km away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
683 reviews
0.2 km away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#86 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Gold 3 Boutique Hotel
Gold 3 Boutique Hotel
#128 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
77 reviews
0.1 km away
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
#47 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,886 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
#87 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANSA Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANSA Kuala Lumpur

Property: ANSA Kuala Lumpur
Address: 101 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia (Formerly Piccolo Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#55 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,544 - ₹ 7,860
Hotel Class:4 star — ANSA Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With award-winning designs throughout, this swanky boutique pad will leave you wishing that your place looked like this. After a full day in the city there's nothing better than spoiling yourself in the heavenly spa before heading out to any of the nearby dining and clubbing options just minutes from the hotel. Chic rooms are warm, inviting and indulgent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Ctrip TA so you can book your ANSA Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing