We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great service, well located”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bijan

Bijan
Ranked #29 of 4,043 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bijan opened its doors in September 2003 to offer a unique dining experience to discerning palates. The Bijan experience is modern in presentation yet wholesome in flavour. Traditional Malay cuisine is taken out of hawker stalls and buffet lines, and served against a lush backdrop. Modern in its surroundings with distinctive Asian accents, Bijan is warm, yet chic; intimate yet spacious.At Bijan restaurant, we are innovating ways of enjoying Malay food, introducing accompanying wine to enhance flavours and ways of preparing local delicacies in a fine balance of old and new. Our dishes are a mix of recipes handed down over the generations and innovations of the real thing, to produce forgotten favourites and delicious new flavours and textures.Located a mere stone throw’s away from KLCC and Bukit Bintang, Bijan is the ultimate destination for fine Malay cuisine. It is an oasis where you can unwind with a cool glass of wine while the food remains deliciously and unmistakably Malay. Enjoy pre-dinner drinks on the terrace while sampling our delicate canapés.Bijan restaurant won Best Malay Restaurant in 2004, just a year after we opened. We can also be found in Malaysia Tatler’s Top 100 Restaurants, The Lonely Planet Guide to Malaysia, The Miele Guide to just name a few.
Level Contributor
260 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, well located”
Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

Just a few minutes walk from the bustling night life of Chankat Bukit Bintand is this restaurant. One of the few Malay food restaurants in an upscale setting. Pricier than other places but worth it. Traditional Malay food different from the more popular Mamak food you find elsewhere in Malaysia. We love this place. It has a very soothing atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Jairaj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOODFOODTRIO, Owner at Bijan, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for dining at Bijan and for your lovely review. We are very happy you enjoyed your meal with us. Being KL's first upscale Malay restaurant and a multi-award winning one we are constantly put to task to ensure that our quality standards are maintained at a high level so that customers like yourself can have a truly good dining experience. We look forward to having you back in Bijan again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    345
    110
    41
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Great food, good service, very helpful staff, good atmosphere, a bit pricy for Malaysia but ok by western standards.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank GRB-hsbsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOODFOODTRIO, Owner at Bijan, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for dining at Bijan and for your nice review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your dining experience at Bijan and hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Just get one thing out of your head. There is no fine dining in malaysia. No restaurants even come close to a michelin star. That being said this place serves some delicious dishes. Try the duck rendang and the chargrilled ribs and Fern. Some of the best food in malaysia.

Yes, u can get really good food on KL for 20 RM so why pay 100 RM for something that is only slightly better. Because its worth it.

Come early around 6 and sit inside. Often large noisy parties and mosquitoes outside.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maydane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOODFOODTRIO, Owner at Bijan, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for dining at Bijan and for your nice review. We are indeed happy that you enjoyed our food and the total dining experience that Bijan has to offer. We do aspire to be a Michelin starred restaurant one day and will certainly work hard on it. Our chef tries to keep the original Malay recipes as authentically as possible whilst using more refined ingredients and cooking methods to create finer Malay dishes. We also pair some good wines with these dishes to be enjoyed by guests. Looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Well presented formal Malaysian food. Pricey but generous portions”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

As a family (two teenagers) we went here as a change from the street food. Bejin is a professsional operation, and I would suggest very well suited to a business hosting location.
We sat inside, but there is a large outdoor (covered) area also. No problem with insects (as reported by other reviewer).
Food was all well prepared and presented. We shared four starters: Popiah, Pegedil, Otak Otak and Satay. The Otak Otak was excellent. The first time that I have not had to unwrap it from a banana leaft - this one is done in a rammikin - but it was still very tasty. Included small shrimps which was again a first but did not detract from the great flavour.

We ordered four mains to share but when they arrived we realised that we had over-ordered: the portion sizes are generous so don't over do it. Of the mains, the Ayam Muzak Kuzi was the best: subtle yet great flavour. The kids found the Lamb Rendang a bit spicy but I thought it was great. The Oxtail soup was interesting but I thought that the oxtail was underdone - should be literally falling off the bone to my taste.
All up the bill was just under RM300 for the four of us, of which RM70+ was beer/soft drink/water. We chose some of the cheaper mains, so if you went for say the ribs or steak you would be looking at over RM100 per person. So not a cheap outing at all, but no reason to complain about the food. We arrived around 6:30 and I personally found the service a bit "in your face" certainly until more customers arrived. The constant requests about water (which of course is bottled and expensive) are a bit annoying. I do think that Bejan should offer complimentary iced water - after all you do end up spending a reasonable amount with them.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_NZ120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOODFOODTRIO, Owner at Bijan, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for dining at Bijan and for your nice review. We are happy you and your family enjoyed your dining experience with us. We do infact get quite a lot of business functions from local and foreign companies so do give us a call if you are planning on one. We will take your comment on the complimentary water into consideration. Look forward to seeing you all at Bijan again on your next visit to KL!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent food, atmosphere and service”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Visited this restaurant on the recommendation of our concierge, a very pleasant surprise! A lovely authentic Malay restaurant in a quiet residential area - food was excellent , first class service (including recommendations for novice Malay foodies) and a good wine list with affordable choices. Well worth a visit for food and ambience, a very mixed crowd of tourists, locals and ex-pats, a really good choice and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The hot fern salad was really good and the short ribs were very tender and tasty, not cheap but Cheap enough to have a good selection of dishes a highly recommended on all fronts.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George9693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOODFOODTRIO, Owner at Bijan, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for dining at Bijan and for your lovely review. We are indeed pleased that you had a good dining experience with us and do hope to see you again on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bijan also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Bijan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing