We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal in KL”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bijan

Bijan
Ranked #29 of 4,043 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bijan opened its doors in September 2003 to offer a unique dining experience to discerning palates. The Bijan experience is modern in presentation yet wholesome in flavour. Traditional Malay cuisine is taken out of hawker stalls and buffet lines, and served against a lush backdrop. Modern in its surroundings with distinctive Asian accents, Bijan is warm, yet chic; intimate yet spacious.At Bijan restaurant, we are innovating ways of enjoying Malay food, introducing accompanying wine to enhance flavours and ways of preparing local delicacies in a fine balance of old and new. Our dishes are a mix of recipes handed down over the generations and innovations of the real thing, to produce forgotten favourites and delicious new flavours and textures.Located a mere stone throw’s away from KLCC and Bukit Bintang, Bijan is the ultimate destination for fine Malay cuisine. It is an oasis where you can unwind with a cool glass of wine while the food remains deliciously and unmistakably Malay. Enjoy pre-dinner drinks on the terrace while sampling our delicate canapés.Bijan restaurant won Best Malay Restaurant in 2004, just a year after we opened. We can also be found in Malaysia Tatler’s Top 100 Restaurants, The Lonely Planet Guide to Malaysia, The Miele Guide to just name a few.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal in KL”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

If you have one night in KL and want to enjoy fantastic local Malay fare with a classy ambience, Bijan is it. Our friends recommended this restaurant to us from their visit to Malaysia and we were glad we came on our last night. The staff were friendly, they came out to get us with an umbrella as it was drizzling. We ordered the mix starter, the grilled short ribs in a caramel-type dark sauce, a rice dish with herbs and a yellow coconut curry with prawns. The meal was outstanding and we wish we had room for dessert. We would come back again for sure.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Herbalchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    345
    110
    41
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Lonely planet rates this as one of KL's best Malay restaurants. It is probably value for money the worst. Our meal was £100 - the lamb was over cooked and boring, the salad was tasteless - beef was average, please don't eat here, we were in KL for three nights and this meal has just wasted one of them!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiwi2668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOODFOODTRIOCO, Owner at Bijan, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for dining at Bijan and for your review. We are sorry you were disappointed with your meal with us. We wish to assure you that our chef does try to ensure that our food quality is maintained at a high quality. However he will definitely look into the items you have commented on and ensure they are improved. We do hope you will try us again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Booked this restaurant after reading the reviews on TA for a special meal whilst in KL. I have to say I was so disappointed with the food. The rice was cold and unappealing and the lamb dish had slithers of bone in - one of which got stuck between by teeth and was difficult to remove. There was also a large party of guests who were on two tables and were extremely noisy, making speeches and cheering. All we wanted from the night was a nice, quiet romantic meal - I think we could have got better at an motorway Service Station.

As regular visitors to KL this has to be by far the worst and most expensive meal we have ever had. In fact the meal we had in Chinatown was far nicer even though it was just as noisy!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOODFOODTRIOCO, Owner at Bijan, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for dining at Bijan and for your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your meal with us. Generally the atmosphere at Bijan is romantic and peaceful but unfortunately we do sometimes have corporate functions which can get a little noisy for which we apologise. Your feedback on the quality of the food will definitely be looked into by our chef who tries to ensure that it is always at a high standard. We do hope that you will give us another chance and dine with us again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Very poor”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We'd booked for New Years Eve dinner here and were given a pleasant table outside. Our starters (popiah and daging bungkus kukus) were OK but not special.

My lamb main course (rendang kambing) was inedible; the meat was old, as could clearly be tasted in the amount of copious fat in the bowl. My husband's ayam kampung was bland and uninteresting but acceptable. I was offered a replacement main course and ordered some chicken, but then took a taste of the vegetable we had ordered - french beans with prawns and garlic. I genuinely gagged at the huge amount of bitter garlic in this; I am a garlic lover but this dish was, again, inedible. I asked if the chef would taste it and give me his opinion, only to be told that the chef was on holiday. Hmm.......

By this stage it was clear that we were on a loser, so we cancelled the chicken order and left, paying for the starters, one main course and a bottle of very expensive (MR16) spring water.

Malaysian food is wonderful. I have lived and worked in Malaysia and have never had such an awful meal. My advice is to go almost anywhere else in KL and eat well.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank claranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOODFOODTRIOCO, Owner at Bijan, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for dining at Bijan and for your review. We are sorry you did not have an enjoyable meal with us. Our chef does try and maintain the quality of food at a high standard. He will definitely look into your feedback and take the necessary actions to ensure that our food is good for guests to enjoy. We do hope you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good local food but can't compete with the street stalls”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

When coming to eat local food in Malaysia there is not better choice that the traditional cafes or stall in the street. But if you want to enjoy local food in a proper restaurant, this is probably the best choice

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Serendipity20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOODFOODTRIOCO, Owner at Bijan, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for dining at Bijan and for your review. We do sometimes get our inspirations for our menu from the mak cik's (aunties) from the local stalls; refine them and include them in our menu. At Bijan we want to let our guests enjoy a total dining experience with great Malay food, warm service and nice ambience. Guests can also enjoy some good wines with their meal. We hope to see you back at Bijan again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bijan also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Bijan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing