We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very nice food in a nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sao Nam fine Vietnamese cuisine

Sao Nam fine Vietnamese cuisine
Ranked #58 of 3,956 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 11 - US$ 22
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Fine Vietnam Restaurant
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice food in a nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

The feel to the restaurant is nice and casual. Waiters are very helpful. The mangosteen salad which is a specialty of the house is fantastic!
All of the dishes we ordered were very tasty with the classic Vietnamese fresh flavours. The only disappointing dish was the Duck with Tamarind sauce. The duck was very chewy and not tender at all. we actually wanted to order duck with orange but that was not available so went with the Tamarind - maybe it was an off night but probably would avoid this dish.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank schreiby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    128
    41
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fragrant and tasty with lots of lemongrass”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Cozy (and not pretentious) place with Staff who try hard to please you with their limited English skills.

My first and lasting impression of this place was the abundant use of lemongrass which I loved. The entree mixed platter was a delight. I was pleasantly surprised with each mouthful as I tasted lemongrass on most dishes. Being a lover of south east asian spices and herbs I enjoyed every meal.
The sauces and curries are both rich and creamy which I also appreciated.

If you are not a fan of lemongrass you may not be happy with the flavours however for me, it was lemongrass paradise in my mouth!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank riery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“deserves it's awards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

There is nothng to dislike about Sao Nam. The food presentation appeals to the eye, the prices are good, it is spotless and the staff are pleaseant and attentive. If you havn't been do yourself a favour and try it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaryroseI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good flavours, a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

When in Kuala Lumpur, we usually stop by at Sao Nam, for the wonderful flavours that vietnamese food offers. It is always one of the highlights of our stay in the capital. The starters platter is a good way to ease into a blissful meal, and most other dishes adequately finish the job. Not that everything is perfect, though. The much acclaimed mangosteen salad lacks depth - it could do with a bit of the spiciness (and saltiness) that makes similar salads mouthwateringly perfect in Thai cuisine.

The restaurants does seem to cash in on its good name, and is not cheap. One easily verifiable example is a bottle of Cloudy Bay sauvignon blanc, which is on the wine list at Penang's Delicious restaurant for 140 ringgit but will set you back 220 ringgit at Sao Nam.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank richard747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Warms your belly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is a great restaurant for Vietnamese food compared to all the other ones .First the ambiance is lovely and cosy .The servers were friendly and knowledgable regarding the dishes taste and history and were able to suggest dishes that I would possibly like .
On the many trips I have made the beef noodle soup is certainly one of the heartiest dish to eat on a cold rainy day ,it warms your belly almost instantly . Next the tamarind chicken was warm mild and tasted a lot more like a lemon grass , gingery broth ,excellent with rice .One must try their steamed brinjals , light with a hint of sweetness and crunch from the peanuts .
To finish off the drip coffees were thick and full bodied and the frozen banana drizzled with chocolate and grated banana is a must .
Ensure great service and hearty meals in Sao Nam !

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank asjahstrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sao Nam fine Vietnamese cuisine also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Sao Nam fine Vietnamese cuisine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing