We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveller rating
83
275
117
23
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
275
117
23
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 503 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I've see the comments from other reviewers. Yes, it's small. Yes, it's somewhat dated. But it's Japan, so small should be expected, and there's also a charm to it. The breakfast (included as part of the package) was one of the better I've had in all my hotel stays in Japan. The location was pretty good, but it's a surprisingly big city to just walk around, but you will find shopping options within immediate walking distance of the hotel.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LifeOnDitmars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Stayed here a few days ago and wish we had passed. The room was the size of a dime, AND WE UPGRADED! Wife's first impression when she entered the musty/mildewey (is that a word?) bathroom was "OMG!" It was rather pungent. There was quite a bit of mold going on there.

Could hear every noise from the hall and next door neighbors so that was troubling.

On the plus side, the hotel is in a great location and the staff were kind and courteous.

Have we stayed in worse? UBETCHA! Would we return to the Hotel JAL Nagasaki? NOT ON YOUR LIFE! We should have left upon checkin but did not want to spend our vacation looking for places to stay, so we grinned and bared it. We have paid far less and stayed in places FAR better in Japan.

Just my humble opinion mindya!

Dave

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BikeBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Nagasaki JAL City

We went to Nagasaki after that but stayed in JAL City hotel because ANA was too out of the way given what we planned to do. JAL City was located in China town and was very convenient. It was about 5 min walk to the tram station which was opposite Daimaru and a covered arcade. There are many food outlets and interesting shops in the arcade.

The price of JAL City hotel was less than ANA's. The beds and the room were as big as the ones in ANA and were comfortable. There is no breakfast option.

We went on the ropeway to check out the night views from the mountain. We met someone on the "street car" (actually a tram) who was very friendly and helpful. It was about 7pm that night and this person hopped of the tram with us, got us on a bus and brought us all the way to the foot of the mountain. On the way back, again we met another japanese couple who was touring nagasaki and who showed us the way to get back to the tram station near our hotel. I believe that without their help, it's actually not so easy to get to the mountain.

The Atomic Bomb museum is definitely worth a visit. The harbour is also very pretty.

We got off at the wrong tram station (Shin bashi) and stumbled into a food street. We came across a crowded family restaurant serving Champon noodles which my husband was keen to try. This restaurant was run by an old lady possibly with her son and daughter in law. my son loved the "cha han" (fried rice) probably because of the msg. i thought it was too salty. the Champon noodles was not bad. we went back another time for the curry champon noodles which i thought tasted odd but my husband loved it. i love the Japanese version of Yong Tau Foo and had them on both occasions. The restaurants appeared to have received many celebrity quests from the look of the photos and reviews pasted on the walls.

For those wondering whether Nagasaki is worth a visit, i would say yes for the historical sites and the museum. I would think that 2 days would have been sufficient though.

We moved on to OMUTA for ULTRAMAN LAND.

Date of stay: October 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lspsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Date of stay: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Date of stay: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews