We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a step (barely) above youth hostel level”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Business Hotel Chuo
Ranked #74 of 301 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
new york
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just a step (barely) above youth hostel level”
Reviewed 3 May 2010

You do indeed get what you pay for - and it's difficult to beat the price in this case. Located just 20 minutes by subway (red line) from Shin-Osaka (270 yen) and about 5 minutes by the same subway from downtown Osaka (200 yen) - and you probably would want to get away from the hotel area and take a walk downtown. The area is run down, dirty (definitely by Japanese standards) and inhabited by quite a few hobos and drunks.
The hotel itself is clean and staff is helpful. Rooms are decently sized but I would strongly recommend getting a western style room with it's own bathroom (if available and you can afford it). If at all possible, try to ensure your room is far away from the shared bathrooms - the walls are thin and the bathroom traffic may keep you awake for a while. The fact that the hotel is situated right along a railroad track doesn't help one's sleep patterns.
Wired internet connections in the room is very good; TV viewing costs money (like in most Japanese hotels), but I didn't try to figure that out.
And, yes, it's very difficult to beat the price...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorker23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    112
    46
    13
    3
See reviews for
30
22
79
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

This is a case of 'get what you pay for' and considering the extremely cheap price, my friend and I were very happy with Hotel Chuo.

There is noise from the nearby train tracks, but if you ask for a room away from the tracks then that's not so bad unless you're a really light sleeper - in which case I recommend ear-plugs. Also trains in Japan stop between 12am and 5am so there is some respite. Some reviews have reported 'homeless people' around, but we actually had no worries about walking around at night in this area, there were always plenty of ordinary people around and the streets are well lit.

The facilities are basic, but we had no problem with the cleanliness of the shared bathroom. Some people might feel uncomfortable with having to pass the lobby to get to the shared bath, but we didn't have a problem with this. We had an ensuite as well, which was small but adequate. Note, the rooms do NOT get cleaned unless you ask them to be, again we didn't have an issue with this since it's more eco-friendly anyway and we didn't make a huge mess.

Our room was Japanese-style, which means tatami mats and futons. There was a TV, LAN cable, plenty of storage space for cases and clothes, a mini fridge and table. The LAN connection was perfect, nice and speedy, no problems connecting. The futons are thin, but we asked for an extra one each and that helped. If you have back problems I recommend getting the Western style rooms. The room was warm, it was a fairly cold March, but the duvets/covers were really warm and we didn't freeze.

The staff were polite and helpful. They let us store our bags when we arrived early and there is a tourist information service next door which gave information about events in Osaka.

Location-wise, the area is good. You can walk to Den-Den town (Osakla's equivalent of Akihaibara) in about 15-20 minutes, there is a subway station a minute from the door and the JR/Nankai line station is five minutes walk away so it's really convenient to Kansai airport, the Osaka JR loop line and direct trains to places like Nara. Spa World is also just around the corner and I highly recommend that to anyone who wants to experience Japan's love of bathing!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sachanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKK
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2009

a quiet and cozy place. though twin room is too small for 3 people.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cutiejanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

compared with what we call "hotel" in tokyo, this hostel is fantastic and good value for money.
Like: room with space, cleanliness, facilities, near by train station and helpful staffs
Dislike: hostel area is not friendly at night esp. if you are woman travelling alone.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKKBoN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2008

The western-style single room was cosy and clean. You'd need to alert the reception should you want your room cleaned. I asked about hot water for drinking and the guy at the reception loaned me a portable boiler for free (how nice!). Though there were many other hotel guests, some very noisy, I always got to use the individual shower rooms. The morning coffee was great - but I preferred having it in the comfort and privacy of my room. Be prepared for the cold when using the toilets despite the automatic seat warmers! It's nice to be back from the nearest Shin-imamiya station in 2 minutes after a day of sightseeing and shopping. Walk about 3 minutes to a food alley - there's a popular Takoyaki (octopus ball) stall at Shin Seki (I think), near a tower structure (forgot the name). Aside, I recommend heading to Daiei, which has a great supermarket that sells ready-to-eat boxed meals at good prices - there's one at the doorstep of Kyobashi station (take the West exit).

  • Liked — The price and free coffee.
  • Disliked — There was a slight smell but it was not much a bother.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IndependentSightseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Business Hotel Mikado
Business Hotel Mikado
#82 of 301 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Hotel Taiyo
#154 of 301 in Osaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Hotel Chuo Oasis Osaka
#63 of 301 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Raizan Kitakan
Raizan Kitakan
#132 of 301 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Ave Tennoji Hotel
Ave Tennoji Hotel
#271 of 301 in Osaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Sun Play Inn Nagahori
#167 of 301 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Business Hotel Chuo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Business Hotel Chuo

Property: Business Hotel Chuo
Address: 1-1-12 Taishi, Nishinari-ku, Osaka 557-0002, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Osaka
#19 Spa Hotel in Osaka
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,167 - ₹ 4,472
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Business Hotel Chuo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chuo Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing