We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Business Hotel Chuo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
      Reviews (234)
      Filter reviews
      234 results
      Traveller rating
      45
      123
      49
      13
      4
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      45
      123
      49
      13
      4
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsfirst floorjapanese roomfree coffeespa worldjr stationjapanese styleshared toiletshower roomkansai airportafter midnightminute walkden den townlobby areaeasy accessstayed for nightsair connon smoking
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      84 - 89 of 234 reviews
      Reviewed 16 April 2010

      This is a case of 'get what you pay for' and considering the extremely cheap price, my friend and I were very happy with Hotel Chuo.

      There is noise from the nearby train tracks, but if you ask for a room away from the tracks then that's not so bad unless you're a really light sleeper - in which case I recommend ear-plugs. Also trains in Japan stop between 12am and 5am so there is some respite. Some reviews have reported 'homeless people' around, but we actually had no worries about walking around at night in this area, there were always plenty of ordinary people around and the streets are well lit.

      The facilities are basic, but we had no problem with the cleanliness of the shared bathroom. Some people might feel uncomfortable with having to pass the lobby to get to the shared bath, but we didn't have a problem with this. We had an ensuite as well, which was small but adequate. Note, the rooms do NOT get cleaned unless you ask them to be, again we didn't have an issue with this since it's more eco-friendly anyway and we didn't make a huge mess.

      Our room was Japanese-style, which means tatami mats and futons. There was a TV, LAN cable, plenty of storage space for cases and clothes, a mini fridge and table. The LAN connection was perfect, nice and speedy, no problems connecting. The futons are thin, but we asked for an extra one each and that helped. If you have back problems I recommend getting the Western style rooms. The room was warm, it was a fairly cold March, but the duvets/covers were really warm and we didn't freeze.

      The staff were polite and helpful. They let us store our bags when we arrived early and there is a tourist information service next door which gave information about events in Osaka.

      Location-wise, the area is good. You can walk to Den-Den town (Osakla's equivalent of Akihaibara) in about 15-20 minutes, there is a subway station a minute from the door and the JR/Nankai line station is five minutes walk away so it's really convenient to Kansai airport, the Osaka JR loop line and direct trains to places like Nara. Spa World is also just around the corner and I highly recommend that to anyone who wants to experience Japan's love of bathing!

      • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank sachanNZ
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 14 December 2009

      a quiet and cozy place. though twin room is too small for 3 people.

      • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank cutiejanie
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 19 April 2009

      compared with what we call "hotel" in tokyo, this hostel is fantastic and good value for money.
      Like: room with space, cleanliness, facilities, near by train station and helpful staffs
      Dislike: hostel area is not friendly at night esp. if you are woman travelling alone.

      • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank KKKBoN
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 22 December 2008

      The western-style single room was cosy and clean. You'd need to alert the reception should you want your room cleaned. I asked about hot water for drinking and the guy at the reception loaned me a portable boiler for free (how nice!). Though there were many other hotel guests, some very noisy, I always got to use the individual shower rooms. The morning coffee was great - but I preferred having it in the comfort and privacy of my room. Be prepared for the cold when using the toilets despite the automatic seat warmers! It's nice to be back from the nearest Shin-imamiya station in 2 minutes after a day of sightseeing and shopping. Walk about 3 minutes to a food alley - there's a popular Takoyaki (octopus ball) stall at Shin Seki (I think), near a tower structure (forgot the name). Aside, I recommend heading to Daiei, which has a great supermarket that sells ready-to-eat boxed meals at good prices - there's one at the doorstep of Kyobashi station (take the West exit).

      • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
        • Value
        • Location
        • Check-in / front desk
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
        • Business service (e.g., internet access)
      Thank IndependentSightseer
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 5 November 2008

      It was our first time in Osaka, booked this on-line through "Hostel world"
      My friend from Japan described this area as the Japanese version of Vancouver's "Gastown". We thought, "Old cobblestone, heritage buildings.." but he meant the dodgey part with more homeless people! We didn't notice it all that much, in fact, it was mostly old people with pajamas on, riding bicycles!

      There were several udon noodle shops, kushikatsu stalls and the Shinsekai neighbourhood with the Hitachi/Osaka tower (good landmark if you get lost) The area felt kinda touristy (restaurants in the main area were expensive), and a bit run down too.

      The hotel is 1/2 a block away from the JR Shin-Imamiya station and Subway Dobutsuen mae. We had a tatami room and it was a decent size. Our window looked out at the train tracks, but we slept through it (double paned) and we were up from jet lag before the trains started runnin up again anyways.

      There were laptops in the lobby, didn't have time to use it, but it's free from 7 - 11. I had the free coffee each morning after having shower. There's designated times for women and men using the public bath in hotel. However, there are 24 hr shower stalls which were clean. I noticed there was also a laundry room.

      Ask front desk for restaurant ideas (they may also have discount coupons like the "Daiyoshi" restaurant that we went to)

      I have no pictures since we lost our camera on our trip!

      • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Check-in / front desk
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
        • Business service (e.g., internet access)
      Thank KLK111
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews