We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views that almost make up for the crappy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Osaka Baytower
Ranked #35 of 298 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing views that almost make up for the crappy rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

The main thing about this place is the views. They're amazing. Whichever direction your room is facing you'll have a great view you could sit and gaze at for half an hour. Another great thing about this hotel is the location, right by a major JR and subway station. However the rooms themselves are not great. They feel old and are in need of renovation, but as with most Japanese hotels they are perfectly clean.

There's nothing in the immediate area but it's easy to get to all the major sites. I'd say if you can get a good deal and don't mind being out of the main area, you'll enjoy this place if just for the views!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank max736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    349
    137
    30
    22
See reviews for
213
172
105
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

The view is the main point here - it was an incredible view of the city from up on the 50th floor. The hotel was also conveniently located right by a subway station which made things a lot easier. The room was not top class, but this was compensated for by the view. The breakfast buffet was enjoyable, again with a great view in both directions (harbor, or city view).

I would say that the hotel is mildly overpriced for what you are getting, but we still enjoyed staying here very much.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdviceTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

Our reason for staying at this hotel was our daughter was working at Universal Studios Japan, we wanted to visit her and this was the nearest hotel that we could find to USJ. Our success in choosing hotels for ourselves in the past had been mixed so we were a little apprehensive about what we would find. We needn’t have been. Our transfer from the airport by ‘Airport Limousine’ (coach) was impeccable. We were dropped at Tempozan (where the Ferris wheel and the aquarium is) and we asked a man at the little coach depot box how we could get to our hotel. He directed us to Osakaco underground station. When we arrived there we found the station to be up a big flight of stairs and because we had loads of luggage (mainly the shipping order from our daughter), we decided to take a taxi as they were parked just across the road.

Arriving at the hotel we were greeted by a very friendly hotel commissionaire who helped us into the hotel with our bags and to the desk. She was really friendly and was very interested in the reason for our visit. She had become a friend for the remainder of our visit and continued to greet and talk to us each time she saw us. We regret not asking her name.
Check in was very smooth and fast and the commissionaire loaded our bags onto a trolley and took them up to our room. Arriving at the room she showed us in and started to bring our bags in. I attempted to carry the heaviest bags in but she insisted on bringing them in herself. I offered a tip but she would not accept it – I found out later that it is not the custom to expect tips in Japan.

Our room, 4609 must have had the best view in Osaka. Everything was impeccably presented. Equipment included a kettle/flask, 2 cups, fridge, hairdryer and a curious toilet seat that would also wash your bum! (We didn’t gather enough courage to try this). Also in the room were slippers and robe. Each day the maid replaced these, along with all towels whether we had used them or not. She also changed the bedding and cleaned the room daily, leaving us a little note each day to inform us that she had cleaned it.
The hotel was convenient for both JR Trains and the ‘Underground’ stations. Each was within five minutes walk from the hotel, mainly under covered walkways. We had purchased a ‘JR Pass’ whilst in England – you cannot buy one if you are already in Japan so we found the easy access to be very convenient. The hotel was also convenient for shops, restaurants and the Post Office, which we needed to get cash from the cash machine.

During our stay we climbed Mt Fuji. We told the receptionist at the desk that we would not be in our room that night because we would be waiting for the sunrise on Fuji. When we returned the following late afternoon, our commissionaire and all of the reception staff congratulated us – it felt wonderful.

We did not try the food at the hotel because our daughter and her friends insisted on taking us to different places that she had been to during her five-month stay. I am sure that this would also have been impeccable though it seemed to be fairly expensive.
This was a fantastic experience which we hope to repeat. We would change nothing about the travel or hotel. We would encourage anyone to visit Japan. The people are so kind and helpful and we loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill_Maltby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
254 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

This is the third time in Japan. I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. I chose this hotel because Ithink that the hotel room would be big and it is cheaper compare to other hotels in the same grade. The room that I booked was Semi-double type for two people. The size of the room was 22 sq. m. which was okay but the bed was so small, only 140 cm in width. We can only stayed there for two nights and then upgrade to the standard twin room which was a bit bigger by pay 4620 yens more per nights. I found out later that the hotel website will get the lowest price, alot lower! The best thing about this hotel was that the view of the hotel was very nice. I don't konw about the food because we didn't eat there. The lcation was also good, there are JR and subway station nearby. However, ther aren't any attraction nearby in the walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itthinan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Hotel Keihan Kyobashi Grande
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Osaka Baytower? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Osaka Baytower

Property: Hotel Osaka Baytower
Address: 1-2-1 Bentencho, Minato-ku, Osaka 552-0007, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#27 Family Hotel in Osaka
#41 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,590 - ₹ 15,708
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Osaka Baytower 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Osaka Baytower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baytower Hotel Osaka
Osaka Baytower Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing