We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,150)
Filter reviews
1,150 results
Traveller rating
672
371
59
23
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
672
371
59
23
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcome drink every evening south building public bath open concept kyoto station live music every night free laundry free drink at the bar small gym fire pit small balcony minute walk two blocks mk taxi modern design main building
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,150 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Located just a three-minute walk from the West entrance of Kyoto Station makes the Sakura Terrace The Gallery convenient. Only three years old but already attracting a following due to reasonable priced lodging and great amenities like, public bath, balcony in most rooms, free wine or other alcoholic drinks each night from 5-10. And a fantastic restaurant for breakfast or lunch. This hotel is a winner.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank kjtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Two blocks away from Kyoto station, very convenient. A bike rental place is a block away. Amazing lobby, free welcome drink nightly. Superb buffet breakfast. The only thing I would say is they need better ventilation in the rooms. If I didn't open the door during the day, it would be musty smell. There is free laundry, but I regret to use it. Too many people will use it, long waits, but also they don't work well. Medium size load too over 1.5 hours in dryer and still not dry. Needed to borrow drying rack to dry overnight. Had found on internet there Is laundry nearby with good reviews. This is just a tip for future travellers.

The staff service is good though. Friendly people. Would stay there again.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuvTraveling8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

For those whose coffee bean type is more important than a stress free experience? More bizarre than anything Japanese anime can conjure up and not in a nice way. They tried to design quirky and some things worked ok there are some seriously stressful things to consider:

- Showers - serious problems here. Firstly only 4 or so, on the ground floor which means you have to take an elevator in front of everyone. You have to watch on TV "the shower channel" to see if there is availability which is inventive but bizaare
- Showers inexplicably out of use 5/6 hours in the middle of the day from 10am to 3pm. No lie in for you!!
- Men's showers at least have glass doors, so hope you're packing in order to give a good show
- Toilets - only one per floor (at least the men's) between 20odd people
- Receptionists rude as hell and see
- Checkout a staggeringly cheeky 10am when checkin is at 3pm and I sat and watched them slapping fines left right and centre on people
- Rooms so small you couldn't swing an Eevee in
- Near the train station, true, but south of it in a residential area nowhere near bars shops or temples and with no subway or good bus connections. Which makes the previous point unacceptable

Add to this the need to buy everything in the shop restaurant or bar downstairs with their "coins" which are, natch, rigged to force you to convert loads of yen into cash with no refund allowed, you have a hotel that seems determined to make life as uncomfortable as possible.

Avoid!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank TripJarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALLERY0310, マネージャー at Sakura Terrace The Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2018

Thank you for your opinion. However you made a mistake that the hotel you have stayed was not Sakura Terrace THE GALLERY but Sakura Terrace The Atelier which is sister hotel of Sakura Terrace THE GALLERY and Sakura Terrace.
As you mentioned that The Atelier offers limited service and facilites compared with other sister hotels and it is more like Hostel rather than hotel.
We hope you can stay with us at THE GALLERY next time you are in Kyoto.
it would be very appreciated if you can delete this once you confirmed.
Thank you for your time and understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

Close to Kyoto station. Coutepus and Helpful staff. Excellent breakfast spread with both japanese and continental food. Enjoyable ambience. Free Wi-Fi with decent speed. There are no convenient electrical sockets near the bed.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
3  Thank Sundar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the main station with a subway station immediately outside if you have heavy bags and don't want to walk. It is 4 subway stops from the main shopping strip and then a short walk to the old Kyoto district.
The room we had was small but adequate. WiFi in the room was slow and unreliable but OK in the bar / dining room so our room may have been an anomaly.
Every night you get a free drink in the bar.
Breakfast is decent but not a lot of western food despite most of the guests when we were there were western.
The staff speak good English and have information sheets with directions for all the sights.
There is a public bath on site.
I'd recommend Sakura Terrace, the location is ideal.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews