We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Average, dated rooms, so so location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Karasuma Kyoto Hotel
Ranked #62 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very Average, dated rooms, so so location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

OK, so I am continually surprised by user comments on hotels. Mine will vary from most others.

I have been to Kyoto maybe 100 times. I come here eight times a year on business. I would only choose this hotel as a last resort which I did this week because cherry blossom week is a zoo in Kyoto.

The price is fair and the staff are fine. But, this is far from "excellent location", "superb", "great rooms" etc. The rooms and the hotel are super dated. It's just been a long time since anything was done to spruce anything up. The carpet is so dirty that I am definitely wearing the requisite Japanese disposable slippers which I often ignore in Japan. There is a strange odor- its just old.

The location is so so. Frankly I think that the folks that rated location this excellent just don't know Kyoto. Yes it is near a subway stop, but that doesn't make the location premium, it means you are 10 mins (including one transfer) away from a premium location after going down like 6 levels of stairway to get to the super deep Kyoto metro system (don't forget you'll need to come up too). Choose a different location and you can avoid the subway most the time. Anything near the river, Gion area, is far more scenic, walk-able, etc. This hotel is on Karasuma-dori which is super busy, not near any of the charming neighborhoods and sort of an office building kind of a place. Restaurants? Not really. Yes there is a Starbucks downstairs. But, that is neither a restaurant nor what one should be coming to Kyoto for.

The bed is the most basic Japanese bed barely to a western standard. Hard, cheap mattress, tiny pillow. So, unlike another traveler, this sort of bed does not welcome me after 24 hours in planes, trains, and automobiles. I want a nice pillow and a reasonably built bed. These are barely usable.

Sorry about the grousing, but a little perspective is in order here. Kyoto Hotel Okura, Kyoto Royal and the new Royal Park Hotel, are all better choices. Trust me, I have done this a few times. They are likely couple bucks more (or yen in this case) but all offer bargain rates depending on the time of year. Shop around online. The Kyoto Karasuma is a room and a toilet, little more.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BigInJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    299
    135
    19
    6
See reviews for
117
143
108
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Subway station within 50 yards (lift access for those with luggage), major bus stops fairly close by so easy to get around the city. Hotel located in relatively quiet business area. Clean, reasonably spacious room and bathroom. Free WiFi in lobby with plenty of seating/tables. Good breakfast buffet selection. Helpful staff, happy to change 10,000 yen notes from 7-11 ATM (two blocks away); front-desk stocks day city bus passes (good value for 3 or more single journeys). Nice varied walks (or take the bus) to Gion, which is charming and lively day and night. Nice coffee shop over the road as alternative to Starbucks on ground floor of hotel complex.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 993crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Excellent location: very close to the "Shijo" subway stop, two stops north of the main railway station. Walking distance (1.7 km, 1 mile) to Gion, along shijo-dori (4th street), a major shopping street.

The room is small as expected, but has a small closet and a luggage rack.

Comfortable bed.

Free internet connection (cable, not wlan). Did not use TV, I think there were about 10 Japanese stations, perhaps also CNN or BBC.

Practical bathroom, with shower and tub. Toothbrush and slippers included.

A bargain at 6600 Yen/night.
Breakfast included. The buffet breakfast includes Western (potatoes, sausages, cereal) and Japanese dishes. (I was not allowed into the breakfast room with slippers, had to go back to my room and get shoes.)

Front desk is very friendly and helpful; slight problems with the English language.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bisnes-and-pleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Great position - close to subway shops, free Internet, good buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamw79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohali, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

During my first visit in Japan, I stayed in Karasuma Kyoto Hotel. I must say, it is an excellent hotel for a reasonable price. I read a lot about small rooms and beds in almost all hotels in Japan, but this hotel is not that bad at all.

i booked the room well in advance after reading some good reviews on tripadvisor and frankly speaking, it was not a mistake. The hotel is located on a busy street and close to the main shopping district. A metro station (Shijo) is just 1min walk from the hotel. There are a few departmental stores and restaurants available within walking distance.

My room was small, but big enough for one person. There were TV (mostly Japanese channels), high-speed wired internet, a writing desk, a small refrigerator and some small but useful supplies. Every part of this hotel is super clean. The staff at the desk and the room service (I hardly used any) were very very polite and professional.

I loved my four nights stay at this hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room if you do not smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somdev30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Shijokarasuma
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Grand Bach Kyoto Select
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
HOTEL UNIZO Kyoto Shijo Karasuma
City Center
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
#53 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
City Center
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
#32 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karasuma Kyoto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karasuma Kyoto Hotel

Property: Karasuma Kyoto Hotel
Address: Karasuma Shijo, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8412, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Kyoto
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,624 - ₹ 14,480
Hotel Class:3 star — Karasuma Kyoto Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Karasuma Kyoto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karasuma Hotel Kyoto
Kyoto Karasuma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing