We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Ryokan in Kyoto” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nishiyama Ryokan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nishiyama Ryokan
Ranked #89 of 354 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Ryokan in Kyoto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

This family run ryokan came recommended by Japanese friends. From my first e-mail correspondence booking our stay, I knew we'd be well taken care of. They were prompt with their replies, and when we arrived the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious (I was traveling with my husband and son), clean, and quiet. And we could adjust the room heating to our preferences (we were there in December 2011).

Our first day there, Akemi, piled the 3 of us into her car and drove us up to get permission to tour the Katsura Rikyu Imperial Villa. The gardens were breathtakingly beautiful and definitely a must see. But we probably wouldn't have gotten permission without her help. And she hosts the tea ceremony in the lobby during the day.

We opted for the Japanese breakfast plan and enjoyed all the selections (unusual and familiar). The food was delicious, the service was excellent, and you can chose a breakfast time that suits your plans. They are located within easy reach of the Kyoto Station, and are close to several train lines for sightseeing. Lots of interesting stuff within walking distance too.

Computers were available for guests in the lobby, with wi-fi for your smartphone.

When we go back to Kyoto, we'll be staying at Nishiyama Ryokan again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank One_SavvyTraveler_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nishiyamahotel, マネージャー at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
thank you for staying at nishiyama ryokan.
and we are happy to hear you.
and we try our best for all travelers.
and all our room are non smorking.

thank you in advance.
nishiyama ryokan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    120
    26
    11
    6
See reviews for
60
148
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Amazing! we have enyoyed a lot and have fun! Japanese breakfast was really really good! Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nishiyamahotel, マネージャー at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
thank you for staying at nishiyama ryokan.
and we are happy to hear you.
and we try our best for all travelers.
and all our room are non smorking.

thank you in advance.
nishiyama ryokan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

This is an ideal location as it's not far from the sightseeing spots, but quiet and cozy. The staff are nice and helpful. This is the first time we spent the New Year in Kyoto/Japan. We had nice kaiseki breakfasts and dinners, and experienced the New Year in Japanese style. They offer reasonable room rates and quality service. Though they usually close the main entrance at midnight, they were flexible to keep the door open during New Year Eve. The room is spacious, but the sink in the room is too low even for Asians like us (would be better with a stool). The washing machine is free for use. Nevertheless, everything was perfect. We would definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FunnyAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nishiyamahotel, マネージャー at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
thank you for staying at nishiyama ryokan.
and we are happy to hear you.
and we try our best for all travelers.
and all our room are non smorking.

thank you in advance.
nishiyama ryokan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this lovely Ryokan. It is in a fabulous location, close to many excellent restaurants, good coffee shops and in an area that is really easy to get around. The staff are very helpful and kind and the rooms are spacious enough and quite comfortable. I loved the Japanese style bath-house as well. I would definitely stay here again, just hope it doesn't get too popular and booked out next time! It is really worth staying in Ryokans rather than boring old hotels.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trixiebAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nishiyamahotel, マネージャー at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
thank you for staying at nishiyama ryokan.
and we are happy to hear you.
and we try our best for all travelers.
and all our room are non smorking.

thank you in advance.
nishiyama ryokan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

I stayed at Nishiyama Ryokan on January 2012 with my husband, it was truly nice experience. We could experience the warmth and traditional Japanese Ryokan, but yet with hotel standard service - they do room cleaning service, friendly and informative front desk officers, breakfast, public bath available and they have laundry machine! And additional service such as Japanese Tea Ceremony after breakfast and free soba for supper.
The Japanese style breakfast was perfect, fine Japanese style presentation, and 3 different menus for each day of our stay. It's also in a good area, about 20 minutes walk to Gion, 10 minutes walk to Imperial Palace.

Even thou it is not actually a ryokan, it's a 3 stars hotel with Japanese style room, Nishiyama is value for money and surely I'll recommend my friends to stay there.

Room Tip: Choose a Japanese style room and take the Japanese style breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Feyri-tale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nishiyamahotel, マネージャー at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
thank you for staying at nishiyama ryokan.
and we are happy to hear you.
and we try our best for all travelers.
and our room are non smorking.
and now we can accept our reservations by only our website.

thank you in advance.
nishiyama ryokan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Shimogyo-ku
Matsubaya Inn
Matsubaya Inn
#44 of 354 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Watazen
Watazen
#55 of 354 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokan Shimizu
Ryokan Shimizu
#37 of 354 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Gion Hatanaka
#36 of 354 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Matsui Honkan Ryokan
Matsui Honkan Ryokan
#63 of 354 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nishiyama Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nishiyama Ryokan

Property: Nishiyama Ryokan
Address: 433 Gokomachi St, Nakagyo-ku,, Kyoto 604-0933, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,512 - ₹ 18,568
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nishiyama Ryokan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NISHIYAMA RYOKAN is small japanese style hotel.more than 2000 visitors from around the world stay with each year.plese enjoy traditional japanese culture at very reasonable rates.thank you in advance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Nishiyama Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nishiyama Ryokan Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing