We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful blend of old and new; great service”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
taolin33
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful blend of old and new; great service”
Reviewed 7 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

I brought two daughters and my wife to Tokiwa-An for six nights. We found the place even nicer than the photos on tripadvisor, though we liked those...the apartment is not big, but we did not feel cramped; this machiya nicely illustrates flexible and clever use of space and storage, and gave us a glimpse of both history and a current way of life different from our own in a larger [and wasteful] home. Each room has been renovated in ways that show attention to detail, maintenance of many traditional aspects of the home, and concern for both practical things and aesthetics.

We travelled in late January, the heart of winter, and I worried that the machiya might be cold, but the renovation included insulation and air tightness...winter was no problem here...this beautifully renovated home had more modern amentities than we expected...beyond wifi, a laptop, and a kitchen w/ refrigerator and 2 burners, there was an air humidifier and purifier--in case the winter air got dry--and technologically advanced toilets. We chose to eat breakfasts in, and found that easy w/ the dishes and utensils in the machiya.

Our daughters are in second grade. I would be worried about bringing younger, more energetic or very loud children, and think this machiya would be particularly good for families with children grades 4-college if they don't mind sleeping in a single long bedroom upstairs...though it could work to have some people sleep downstairs, and the owner indicated this would be OK. I'd gladly come back with just my wife also, who also loved this space, or friends.

The location is convenient to the subway and not far from the main station, which made it easy for us to do some daytrips. The machiya isn't in a more traditional part of town; it's not the most atmospheric neighborhood, but a perfectly nice one...we had a small Shinto shrine around the corner, easy access to a 24 hour supermarket , and a restaurant with an interesting backstory just down the street. [the cozy Soba Cafe doesn't serve soba noodles but uses buckwheat associated with soba to make another food.]

Finally, we appreciated how we were met, as we checked in, by Megumi, who was patient , clear, and thorough in explaining things...and we found the owner, Mr. Hiro Araki, kind and helpful when he stopped by to help us fax something, which was above and beyond what I could reasonably request. Given what I saw of this particular machiya, I will stay in Tokiwa-An again if it's available when we're in Kyoto again, and would be comfortable trying any of Machiya Residence Inn's other properties.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beauty; blend of tradition and modern
Liked least: we have no complaints
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2013
We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Tokiwa-an. Megumi and I were happy to welcome you and your family to the accommodation and to help ensure that you all had an enjoyable time. As you mentioned the convenient location makes it easy to travel around the city and the neighborhood has charming places of interest like the Shinto shrine and the Soba Café! We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon and would encourage you to consider staying at the other machiyas that are available by the Machiya Residence Inn should Tokiwa-An be booked. Each machiya has a different personality and unique style and the variation in locations will also allow you to enjoy a different area of Kyoto. We hope to see you again in the near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge_Mel...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great stay in traditional Kyoto”
Reviewed 27 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We stayed at the Machiya during our stay in Kyoto for our honeymoon.
The place was very nicely appointed and it was traditional with added modern facilities, located in a Kyoto neighbourhood, very close to train/subway.
Hiro was extremely helpful and easy to communicate with.
i would stay here again and recommend this highly for couples or small families and groups of 3 or 4 people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feel of the place, the traditional elements yet clean and with modern conveniences
Liked least: I couldn't fault this property, though some people may prefer to be closer to Downtown Kyoto
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Dec 2012
Thank you for your stay with Tokiwa-an Machiya Residence Inn. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to make most of your time in Kyoto. It was a great pleasure meeting with you all!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claradog
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Quiet oasis in the midst of Kyoto”
Reviewed 31 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This machiya is tucked back in a quiet alley, yet it's close to the train station (10-minute walk) and Gojo subway station (less than 5-minute walk). Our teacher group of 14 rented 3 machiya for 6 nights, and the co-leaders stayed in this house. Having a washing machine and computer made this the perfect place for us in Kyoto. Everything was exactly as advertised, communication with the managers was great (quick response to all questions) and the house was in perfect condition. I would not hesitate to stay here again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great location and everything we needed for a comfortable stay; great interior garden; computer, washing machine
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2012
Thank you very much for your stay at Tokiwa-an Machiya Residence Inn. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and made the most of your time in Kyoto. As you mentioned, Tokiwa-an is located in the alleyway of local neighborhood and is a perfect place to experience a serene and relaxing stay. It was great to accommodate your party and we look forward to hearing from you again next time you visit Kyoto.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisFFTA
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique and boutique Kyoto experience”
Reviewed 26 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Good location, lovely modern yet sympathetic renovation makes this property a very good spot from which to explore the city. Walking distance from the main station and a very well appointed property. Comfortable beds including many futons for extra guests and a very wonderful bathroom. If we visit Kyoto again we would likely stay again and this property eould also suit business travellers through to those seeking a romantic couples getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comments. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your stay at Tokiwa-an Machiya Residence Inn. we are happy to hear you enjoyed your "machiya " stay. We look forward to accommodating you again next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 220
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing