We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must see” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kiyomizu-dera Temple

Kiyomizu-dera Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 91.99*
and up
Private Highlights of Kyoto Tour
Ranked #4 of 1,010 things to do in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This most-visited temple in Kyoto was built to honor Kannon, the goddess of mercy. It's beautiful hillside location offers spectacular views of the city and valley below.
Zama, Japan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Beautiful wooden structure with wonderful views of the city. Many shops on the way to the temple.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jrwinjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

8,068 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,602
    2,703
    660
    89
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Go early to enjoy the beautiful temple in serenity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Having the reputation of being the MUST visit temple in Kyoto, this temple is immensely popular among domestic & international tourists. Beautifully set in the woods, dotted with cherry blossom in spring when we visited, despite touristy, in my opinion, is definitely worth visiting.

We took the advice from our guide book and visit the Tainai-meguri (left of the main temple entrance) to check out the oddest 'sight' in Japanese temple and experienced something different (in a good way). Do visit if you have time, cost an extra 100Yen to enter.

My only advise is to go early to avoid peak crowds, the temple opens at 6am; take Gojo-zaka slope up towards the temple and continue your journey down towards Ninnen-zaka & Sannen-zaka after the temple visit. It was one of the most beautiful trip during our visit in Kyoto :)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank hariister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A Pearl of Japan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The most photographed Buddhist shrine in the rising sun country, Kiyomizu Temple offers its visitors a touch into a cultural treasure and spiritual legacy. My stopover at the temple was on a rainy day and astonishingly it engaged me till late afternoon due to its abundant activities and diversified neighborhood. Hopefully, my beneath tips could be of your reference.

- Explore Kiyomizu Temple inside out from the outer gate, sanctuary pavilions within the garden to the main hall, uphill to the love-themed corner, and downhill to the lucky fountain.

- Wander around the shopping street to taste local sweetie, green tea and gelato as well as bringing home handmade souvenirs, especially kimono and the lucky cat. Yet, be aware of telling apart Made in China with Made in Japan goods.

- Find yourself lost in appealing bonsai gardens or a coffeehouse of Zen style in the labyrinth of century old stone-paved valleys surrounding Kiyomizu Temple.

- Stroll to the next door temples or residence within 10 to 15 minutes walk in searching for the true color of the yester Kingdom capital.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankie_Lam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely temple with views over Kyoto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

A good walk uphill from the bus stop, but well worht it for the temple and the views over Kyoto.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We went during the Hanatoro Lights festival and it was great! Don't take the taxi!

Hopefully you can stay somewhere in Gion and take the back street (about an hour walk) through a winding street full of shops with great view. See my attached picture and if you can visit this place during the Hanatoro!

Have fun!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ucipass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kiyomizu-dera Temple also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Kiyomizu-dera Temple? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing