We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alpha Kyoto
Nearby Hotels
US$ 174
US$ 113
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 141
US$ 86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 267
US$ 201
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 181
US$ 155
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 165
US$ 108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 133
US$ 100
MitsuiGardenHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 150
US$ 93
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 239
US$ 184
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Monterey Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
US$ 119
US$ 102
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
US$ 252
US$ 206
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
10
38
31
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
38
31
10
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Hi, we are 3 couple going to kyoto on 3 Feb 2011, I have booked three non smoking room true Agoda.com. When we check in, the front desk inform us only available one non smoking room for us. I am so sad about this, finally their off us a japanese room for 4 person. I am grad the staff is very polite and do the arrangement for us.
This hotel a bit old , i think is time for renovation. In fact, we just stay one night .
The location is good , just behind the 7 eleven, make sure get down from the bus and look at the 7 eleven, if not it is very difficult to notice that there is a hotel behind the 7 eleven.
There is a lot of shop around the hotel.. It is a good place for shopping and eat.
If you can get a good rate, can consider to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaliceChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Hotel Alpha Kyoto was in a fantastic location. Super close to the subway, City Hall, a million restaurants and shops, and a stones throw away from the river walk. They give you free tea/coffee and free wifi and an internet station in the lobby. The carpet and blanket werent overly clean, but aside from that our stay was fine. We just walked around the area and there are tons of amazing backstreets lit up by traditional lanterns and lots of beautiful temples to be found without going too far. Just a few shops down is an amazing sushi restaurant that is very reasonably priced. We had a little trouble finding it as the main building actually has a Seven Eleven on the front, and the hotel entrance is down the side of the building. It is across the street from a Catholic Church. If you take the subway get off at Kyoto-shiyakushomae Sta. on Subway Tozai Line and its about a three minute walk. Free breakfast in the morning was nice, most of the food is Japanese, but they did have two different types of cereal and croissants, and you definitely cant complain when its free :)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We are just returned from 5 days in Kyoto at the Hotel Alpha.

We were having a difficult time finding anywhere in Kyoto due to the time of year pairing w/ the cherry blossom bloom (Sakura).

Alpha is not a particularly cheap accommodation, however, its location and helpful staff make it a recommendation. We ended up paying about $650 US for 5 nights in a double room.

Free internet is available in the lobby, however, there is only one computer available and you may have to jockey for it.

Desk staff speak English-some more than others. There was one female desk staff on duty during days when we stayed and she was particularly helpful. Daytime shift will have better English than PMs.

Rooms are small by American standards. You will have limited walking space in your room with two bags per person.

Rooms have a television and refrigerator and are equipped with an alarm clock and room lighting controls in the headboard. The mattress was comfortable.

The bathroom was small, but featured immediate hot water with good water pressure. Soap/shampoo/conditioner are provided as it heated toilet seat, hair dryer, disposable razors, toothbrushes with paste and combs.

The room also has a pot for boiling water for tea.

The room temperature was rather warm, however, tolerable compared to the hotel we stayed at in Tokyo (Chisun Inn-Asakusa). The room didn't have individual temperature controls at the time we visited, or they were inactive. Street noise was a non issue. The room also had a screen to pull at night to block out the morning light, which was a nice feature.

The hotel is in an alley right around the corner from a 7/11, which was convenient for drinks/snacks. Alpha is within walking distance of lots of shopping and restaurants.

It is also right off of a busline and a short trip to the Kyoto station (appx 15 minutes by cab or bus). It is half a block from the subway station, as well.

From what I saw, there are cheaper accommodations in Kyoto that I probably would've preferred if available, however, Alpha is not a bad choice.

Biggest drawback is the price for the caliber of accommodation. Biggest asset is location.

I would stay at Alpha again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 28 October 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 23 April 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews