We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel with lovely lobby & great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alpha Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alpha Kyoto
Ranked #308 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel with lovely lobby & great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I have stayed at Hotel Alpha in December 2011, during a longer trip through Japan.
The hotel is extremely well positioned, very close to Gyon, the city centre, the river, subway and bus stops. The surrounding area is full of well priced restaurants, there's a 7/11 around the corner, Loft and Uniqlo are also close.
The lobby was probably the area of the hotel I enjoyed the most as it's really comfy, offers free coffee and tea, and free wifi - in a very cold December in Kyoto, this was a warm place to be in!
It's true that rooms are a bit old and tiny, but I was not at all bothered by this, as I've spent most of my time around the city. What I really enjoyed was the bathroom with the tub, and the complimentary Shiseido amenities. Plus, the sign that the water is safe for drinking made me enjoy several long warm baths!
I would perhaps not recommend the breakfast - was a bit pricey for the limited choice they offered.
The staff was pretty friendly and they speak English, they even sold bus cards and helped me understand what buses I had to take.
I would totally recommend the hotel if you're looking for a convenient place to stay close to the centre!

Room Tip: The hotel is pricier during weekends, so if you can make it during the weekdays, you might get great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vintage_time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    38
    31
    10
    3
See reviews for
7
22
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
KL, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

Hi, we are 3 couple going to kyoto on 3 Feb 2011, I have booked three non smoking room true Agoda.com. When we check in, the front desk inform us only available one non smoking room for us. I am so sad about this, finally their off us a japanese room for 4 person. I am grad the staff is very polite and do the arrangement for us.
This hotel a bit old , i think is time for renovation. In fact, we just stay one night .
The location is good , just behind the 7 eleven, make sure get down from the bus and look at the 7 eleven, if not it is very difficult to notice that there is a hotel behind the 7 eleven.
There is a lot of shop around the hotel.. It is a good place for shopping and eat.
If you can get a good rate, can consider to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaliceChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

Hotel Alpha Kyoto was in a fantastic location. Super close to the subway, City Hall, a million restaurants and shops, and a stones throw away from the river walk. They give you free tea/coffee and free wifi and an internet station in the lobby. The carpet and blanket werent overly clean, but aside from that our stay was fine. We just walked around the area and there are tons of amazing backstreets lit up by traditional lanterns and lots of beautiful temples to be found without going too far. Just a few shops down is an amazing sushi restaurant that is very reasonably priced. We had a little trouble finding it as the main building actually has a Seven Eleven on the front, and the hotel entrance is down the side of the building. It is across the street from a Catholic Church. If you take the subway get off at Kyoto-shiyakushomae Sta. on Subway Tozai Line and its about a three minute walk. Free breakfast in the morning was nice, most of the food is Japanese, but they did have two different types of cereal and croissants, and you definitely cant complain when its free :)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

We are just returned from 5 days in Kyoto at the Hotel Alpha.

We were having a difficult time finding anywhere in Kyoto due to the time of year pairing w/ the cherry blossom bloom (Sakura).

Alpha is not a particularly cheap accommodation, however, its location and helpful staff make it a recommendation. We ended up paying about $650 US for 5 nights in a double room.

Free internet is available in the lobby, however, there is only one computer available and you may have to jockey for it.

Desk staff speak English-some more than others. There was one female desk staff on duty during days when we stayed and she was particularly helpful. Daytime shift will have better English than PMs.

Rooms are small by American standards. You will have limited walking space in your room with two bags per person.

Rooms have a television and refrigerator and are equipped with an alarm clock and room lighting controls in the headboard. The mattress was comfortable.

The bathroom was small, but featured immediate hot water with good water pressure. Soap/shampoo/conditioner are provided as it heated toilet seat, hair dryer, disposable razors, toothbrushes with paste and combs.

The room also has a pot for boiling water for tea.

The room temperature was rather warm, however, tolerable compared to the hotel we stayed at in Tokyo (Chisun Inn-Asakusa). The room didn't have individual temperature controls at the time we visited, or they were inactive. Street noise was a non issue. The room also had a screen to pull at night to block out the morning light, which was a nice feature.

The hotel is in an alley right around the corner from a 7/11, which was convenient for drinks/snacks. Alpha is within walking distance of lots of shopping and restaurants.

It is also right off of a busline and a short trip to the Kyoto station (appx 15 minutes by cab or bus). It is half a block from the subway station, as well.

From what I saw, there are cheaper accommodations in Kyoto that I probably would've preferred if available, however, Alpha is not a bad choice.

Biggest drawback is the price for the caliber of accommodation. Biggest asset is location.

I would stay at Alpha again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#32 of 366 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Pontocho
Hotel Ponto
Hotel Ponto
#184 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
UNIZO INN Kyoto Kawaramachi Shijo
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Vista Premio Kyoto
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpha Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpha Kyoto

Property: Hotel Alpha Kyoto
Address: Sanjo-agaru-nisigawa, Kawaramachidori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8031 , Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,925 - ₹ 15,584
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpha Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Alpha Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing