We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy for the station, but that's about it...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
Ranked #85 of 363 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Handy for the station, but that's about it...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed here one night on a 'day off' during a business trip. The hotel itself is a bit tired and in need of a makeover, certainly the reception wasn't a particularly welcoming environment and the staff seemed a little distracted (though not many spoke good English and not being a Japanese speaker, it could simply have been down to the stress of communication).

The rooms were a but old fashioned, the bed a little on the hard side, but there was a decent choice for breakfast and overall it seemed reasonable value.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 10MC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    225
    114
    27
    18
See reviews for
136
89
60
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

This hotel is directly across the street from Kyoto Station, which is probably how most people get to Kyoto. It's a perfectly respectable chain hotel with clean, attractive rooms that are reasonably sized by Japanese standards. The hotel has a good lunch buffet with both western and Japanese food. (We didn't try out their breakfast buffet.)

Although it has a few significant historical sites, the Kyoto Station area isn't really in the middle of things as far as Kyoto is concerned -- downtown Kyoto is a few subway stations to the north, and the historical sites spread out from there. The good news is that it's very easy to get to the major historical sites from Kyoto Station, either on the subway (which of course has a stop at Kyoto Station) or on the "Raku Bus" city buses that are dedicated specifically to getting tourists to major tourist sites. These buses depart from Kyoto station. Downtown-ish Kyoto traffic can be problematic especially during rush hours so consider using the subway rather than the bus.

Checkout at the hotel is at 11:00 am. We found that out the hard way, as the staff entered promptly at 11:00 when I was out of the room and my wife was in the shower (somehow we were under the impression checkout was at noon). She was able to negotiate a noon checkout for a small extra fee, but the staff was pretty brusque and it was not exactly an example of good customer service. We also somehow ended up with a smoking room rather than the non-smoking room we always request, though I am not sure whether that was an issue with the hotel or with the agency that booked the package we were on.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ihbToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sapporo, Hokkaido
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

The location is excellent, being right across the street from Kyoto Station. We had breakfasts as part of our package, and there is a great variety of foods available, both Japanese and Western. However, the mattress on the bed was as hard as a dining room table. If we hadn't walked our feet off every day touring Kyoto it would have been very difficult to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miharashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

We have traveled throughout Japan from 19th May to 2nd June. We were really enthralled by the Japanese hospitality everywhere. We stayed at Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto for 2 days. Japanese hospitality was missing there. The receptionists and the restaurant people were rude and harsh.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank naturelovercovai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kyoto hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Kyoto Tower Hotel
#73 of 363 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
#49 of 363 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#27 of 363 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#43 of 363 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto

Property: Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
Address: 579 Higashishiokoji-cho, Shiokojidori, Shinmachi Higahi iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 363 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,545 - ₹ 23,429
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing