We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for the station, but that's about it...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
Ranked #84 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed here one night on a 'day off' during a business trip. The hotel itself is a bit tired and in need of a makeover, certainly the reception wasn't a particularly welcoming environment and the staff seemed a little distracted (though not many spoke good English and not being a Japanese speaker, it could simply have been down to the stress of communication).

The rooms were a but old fashioned, the bed a little on the hard side, but there was a decent choice for breakfast and overall it seemed reasonable value.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10MC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 184 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2011

This hotel is directly across the street from Kyoto Station, which is probably how most people get to Kyoto. It's a perfectly respectable chain hotel with clean, attractive rooms that are reasonably sized by Japanese standards. The hotel has a good lunch buffet with both western and Japanese food. (We didn't try out their breakfast buffet.)

Although it has a few significant historical sites, the Kyoto Station area isn't really in the middle of things as far as Kyoto is concerned -- downtown Kyoto is a few subway stations to the north, and the historical sites spread out from there. The good news is that it's very easy to get to the major historical sites from Kyoto Station, either on the subway (which of course has a stop at Kyoto Station) or on the "Raku Bus" city buses that are dedicated specifically to getting tourists to major tourist sites. These buses depart from Kyoto station. Downtown-ish Kyoto traffic can be problematic especially during rush hours so consider using the subway rather than the bus.

Checkout at the hotel is at 11:00 am. We found that out the hard way, as the staff entered promptly at 11:00 when I was out of the room and my wife was in the shower (somehow we were under the impression checkout was at noon). She was able to negotiate a noon checkout for a small extra fee, but the staff was pretty brusque and it was not exactly an example of good customer service. We also somehow ended up with a smoking room rather than the non-smoking room we always request, though I am not sure whether that was an issue with the hotel or with the agency that booked the package we were on.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ihbToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

The location is excellent, being right across the street from Kyoto Station. We had breakfasts as part of our package, and there is a great variety of foods available, both Japanese and Western. However, the mattress on the bed was as hard as a dining room table. If we hadn't walked our feet off every day touring Kyoto it would have been very difficult to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miharashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

We have traveled throughout Japan from 19th May to 2nd June. We were really enthralled by the Japanese hospitality everywhere. We stayed at Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto for 2 days. Japanese hospitality was missing there. The receptionists and the restaurant people were rude and harsh.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank naturelovercovai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 5 November 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Kyoto Tower Hotel
#80 of 407 in Kyoto
578 reviews
Southern Kyoto
New Miyako Hotel
New Miyako Hotel
#52 of 407 in Kyoto
2,254 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel Annex
Kyoto Tower Hotel Annex
#117 of 407 in Kyoto
290 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto

Address: 579 Higashishiokoji-cho, Shiokojidori, Shinmachi Higahi iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: ₹ 5,311 - ₹ 21,308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing