We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant!”
Main bed room on 2nd floor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main bed room on 2nd floor
Apperance Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Main bed room on 2nd floor
Apperance
Garden
Cypress bath with night view
Cypress bathtub
Wash basin , hair dryer is equiped , amenities ,towels are provided
Living room on 1st floor
Amazing riverview
Bed room on 2nd floor
Courtyard
Entrance
Riverview from the main bed room
Night view of Japanese gerden
Bicycles for the guests
Toilet
Main dinning
Japanese garden
Kamogawa-an and Matsumi-an are the same location and together can accommodate maximum11 people
Kamogawa-an and Matsumi-an are the same location and together can accommodate maximum11 people
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Traditional) first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Alan C
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

It has been a great experience for living in Kamogawa-an. It is very comfort, spacious, a perfect mixed with Kyoto style and modern house facilities. The river view is just amazing. Location is awesome as well, just 15mins walk from Kyoto station and shopping centres like Yodobashi. Walking along the river you will get to Kawaramachi where having full of delicious foods.
It is highly recommend for a 4-7 people family

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaggyLeun...
1 review
“nice accomodation experience”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

we were group of 7 and space enough for us . location was easy to find and the street is quite. nice river view no mattter day and night. nice amenities and facilities in room. nice staff.
value for money

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zerofayth
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Authentic experience suited for Kyoto!”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My family and I had a really nice experience at the machiya! It was located next to the river and we had a nice view. The nearest station was a short walk away and amenities are also located nearby. A nice quiet neighbourhood, we would definiltey be back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynettela...
1 review
“Best experience in Kyoto”
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Apologies for the late review first. ;)The day we spent at Kamogawa-an was the best although it was raining heavily. We just stayed in the house and enjoyed the beautiful Japanese style garden and tea(provide by kamogawa-an). The location is good, right next to the kamo' river and 15min's walk from JR station. The room view is EXCELLENT!!I will choose here again for the next trip.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cali-SF-H...
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Traditional Kyoto Machiya by the River!”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I love, love, love this Machiya villa! The entire villa is beautiful and spacious. I traveled with my family and one of my friends, total of 6 people, and the villa was a really great size! The kitchen was well-stocked with fine china, and coffee and tea were on the table. The fridge was also very large! The washer and dryer unit were both very convenient! The cypress bath was very nice! However it does take a while to fill the bath. The river view and garden is amazing! The location is also convenient! The only con would be that because it is by a river, there are a lot of mosquito's.
However, overall a 10/10 for this rental!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The river view!
Liked least: Mosquitos
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

We are truly happy that you and your family enjoyed staying at K's Villa Kamogawa-an.

We are also glad that you are satisfied with the house and the facilities.
Your satisfaction means a lot for us.

We are sorry that you had a problem with mosquito.
We have been trying to send off them by putting some devices.
However, we will find some better way as soon as possible.

Please accept our sincere appreciations for your advice.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.


Best regards,


K's Villa Office
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 328
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing