We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this delicious and fun and unusual Kyoto experience”
Review of Haru Cooking Class

Haru Cooking Class
Ranked #1 of 35 Food & Drink in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Thank you very much for finding our small cooking class in Kyoto, Japan! Please come visit our home and cook Japanese food together! No need to be an expert cook. If you like Japanese food you will be successful cooking them. The class is not only about cooking, but learning about Japanese culture. We will do our best to answer all the questions you may have for food and lifestyle!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't miss this delicious and fun and unusual Kyoto experience”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Five friends travelling together in Japan for two weeks over New Year. We were very lucky to get our cooking lesson to ourselves. We opted for the vegetarian cooking option. It was one of our favourite experiences whilst in Japan. We enjoyed a walk down the river from our ryokan and Taro met us at the easy-to-find bus stop meeting place.
Absolutely delightful family, and not at all 'awkward' to be in their home. Loved the family's kitchen and Taro soon had us taking notes (and LOTS of video and photos) as we launched into making dashi stock and various sauces from scratch. Lotus root? We're masters. agedashidofu? Sorted. Rolled omelette in the special funky pan? Pass us the eggs... This was probably the key menu item - a great sense of achievement in getting it right. Taro was extremely patient, knowledgeable and humorous.
The five of us met up in mid-Feb to share our holiday photos and we cooked the entire meal at home in Britain. Oishiiiii
Many many thanks to Taro and his family for a truly wonderful time. Be sure if you visit Kyoto to make time for Taro.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great host and delicious meal!”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My daughter and I recently took the cooking class with Taro. It was great to be able to be guests in his home and learn about Japanese food and cooking. We had a lot of questions and he patiently answered them all. He is very knowledgeable about food and his English is great. We loved the food we helped to prepare and enjoyed having dinner with the other guests as well. I would recommend this for anyone who would like to get a better understanding of the food and culture of Japan. This was definitely a highlight of our trip.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank USCparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Amazing, very vegetarian and DELICIOUS experience!”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Taro and his family are so sweet, hospitable and friendly! The dishes we learned were very manageable and extremely delicious! I still don`t understand how we learned 5 dishes in 3 hours whilst it felt really relaxed and extensive!
We could ask anything and he would have an answer or look it up. It was truly an amazing experience I would recommend to everyone!
Enjoy and Itadakimasu!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank TessLowenhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The 'must do' thing in Kyoto”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We meet Taro in the market and gained a brilliant understanding of Japanese food... then he let us into his home and we meet his charming family... then enjoyed a couple of hours lost in the finer points of cooking Japanese style. If its your first time... or you've been 6 times.. this is an afternoon/evening well spent.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrewmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic break from Kyoto's sights”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Kyoto is known as a very beautiful city and is worthy of a lengthy stay to experience it's many beautiful shrines, temples, castles and gardens. Of course it is important to break up all that sightseeing with some other activities and I found the course run by the gratious and highly personable hosts, Taro-san and his family, in their beautiful home to be the perfect way to do just this. Simple, tasty recipes are presented in a way that could easily be replicated in kitchens around the world and I can't wait to begin introducing the dishes that Taro expertly taught me in my own kitchen in Australia.

Highly recommended!

Helpful?
3 Thank timbonus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haru Cooking Class also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Haru Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing