We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Authentic traditional house-clean and accessible...”
other travellers have booked this property
Japanease style main room/bed room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Japanease style main room/bed room
Entrance House front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Japanease style main room/bed room
Entrance
House front
Bedroom
Living room
Kitchen
Utility room
Bath room
Toilet
Garden
Heian Jingu Shrine -3minutes walk-
Nanzenzi temple
Philosopher's Walk
Ginkakuji temple
Kyoto Handicraft center
Honenin temple(20minutes walk)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
XY1989
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic traditional house-clean and accessible; comfy and fun”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The house is located just beside kyoto handicraft center, which offers tourists information when it's open. Very accessible to many attractions and bus stops.

Nobu was exceptionally friendly when meeting us for the first time as he went through the details of our stay, there were even guide books and useful magazines in the house.He has even a list of restaurants you can try out neat the house.

The house is very authentic, we had fun laying out the tatami mats and sleeping beside our japanese garden.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelique...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful house!!”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived in Kyoto and stayed in the lovely machiya townhouse and it was gorgeous. There was 4 of us, 2 children included. The house had everything we needed and was exceptionaly clean and the bedding was very comfortable. The house was also quite spacious and within walking distance to many things. I have already recommended it too lots of my friends and am trying to organise to go back later in the year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickie M
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent host and lovely townhouse”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I travelled in April with my husband and 2 young kids. We have stayed in several private residences in the past and Nobu was by far the most hospitable. He welcomed us into the townhouse and then he sat down with us and we went through all the things we needed to know about Kyoto (for eg, local restaurants, transport options, tourist spots) and then he showed us around the property. Other hosts have just told us where to find the key or been in a rush and left quickly. The townhouse itself is comfortable for a family of 4. It's clean, there's enough room, and close to a supermarket and bus stop. We had JR passes but found the buses a better option for exploring Kyoto - we bought the Kyoto one day pass for 500 yen. It's worth it if you take 3 or more bus trips a day. We only had breakfast at the townhouse and ate out for all our other meals. We found a noodle/udon restaurant on one of the corners close by (don't know the name) - they have plastic food displays in the window and we had to order that way. It was a local restaurant and the owners did not speak English nor was there an English menu but ordering was not an issue. It was a nice place if you do not want to eat cold bento boxes and want something hot. Back to the property - I would highly recommend this place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Experiencing a Japanese residence without having to stay in a ryokan.
Liked least: Floor in the lavatory needs fixing.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Host, cleanliness, location
Liked least: Low doorways
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karen L
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I found this place on Trip Advisor and it was a good find. It is a small but charming house and located right next to the Kyoto Handicraft Centre. It is quite a long way from the Kyoto Train Station itself but is a convenient location to explore the other attractions in Kyoto. Nobu was very prompt at responding every time and was extremely helpful and accommodating. It is a good find for people with young children with a kitchen and also we enjoyed sleeping on tatami mats and futons on the floor. There were supermarkets and restaurants within close proximity which was very convenient.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing