We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Japanesse Service”
Review of Hotel Kanra Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Ranked #5 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2017

We loved our stay at this slightly unusual, less frenetic and more personal hotel, with very good service, especially from the front desk. The hotel is a short walk (10 minutes) from Kyoto station. Our room was well appointed, whilst Japanese in overall style, it had western beds. Whilst facing the road noise was not a problem, partly as there was no need to open windows as the weather was cold during our stay. The unusual bathroom feature was a wooden bathtub as pictured, took rather a long time to fill and we did not feel it had any particular advantage over a conventional bath. The Italian restaurant was of a good standard and reasonably priced (for Japan). Although we chose the Western breakfast, it came with a large bowl of steamed vegetables and there was no buffet, so not so good. Apart from breakfast a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Room 419 as described and photographed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 74 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2017

My husband and I loved everything about this hotel. It's closer to the Kyoto Station than in the heart of everything so you will need to figure out what is more important to you. I highly recommend this place. The room is amazing and if we find ourselves back in Kyoto, we are definitely booking this place again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

This place was spotless, beautifully appointed with a very nice feel. A modern ryokan conveniently located a short walk from Kyoto station. Staff went out of their way to help us have an enjoyable stay. Ms nagakawa from the front desk in particular, deserves high praise for her tireless commitment to ensure our stay was as good as possible.

Wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kouros83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

We went as a family, the room was large and the kids had 2 large futons to sleep on, our room gave on a quiet side road and was fine, if you were on the main road there would have been too much noise. Reception staff lovely, restaurant staff more of a hit or miss in terms of non japanese communication. Breakfast was a more difficult process than necessary but in the end ok, though western menu was very limited. Italian restaurant was surprisingly good (half the party we went were italian so hard to please). No Gym or pool which on a rainy day was a shame. Position is good, close to the station and right next to a great temple complex.

Room Tip: no room on main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank moritz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful 5 days in Kyoto, made perfect by staying at the Kanra hotel. The rooms were a great modern twist on traditional Japanese decor and although we had our concerns about the location pre-trip, once there we were extremely happy with our choice. Its a short walk to the main station and only a stone throw to the nearby subway and bus station. And all of the main attractions require a trip regardless of where you stay, it was also nice to be in a more peaceful neighborhood, away from the crowds of some areas. We walked one evening from the hotel to Gion, via the canal, it was a 35 minute walk and so lovely to wander between the true streets of Kyoto. I would definitely advice anyone staying at the Alanna to make the most of some nice calm walks, you experience so much more.

The Kanra staff were incredibly helpful, going out of their way to help us plan our days out, and could literally not do enough to help us. If there were any negatives, it would be the breakfast. Although not bad, its the same daily and a la carte, next time I would eat at a nearby coffee shop (I wish we had taken note of other reviewers who have previously said the same).

Overall a great stay, don't think twice about booking the Kanra. Definitely will be recommending to anyone headed to Kyoto.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank IGdubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#8 of 379 in Kyoto
2,460 reviews
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 379 in Kyoto
3,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#20 of 379 in Kyoto
913 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kanra Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kanra Kyoto

Address: 190 Kitamachi Karasuma-dori Rokujo Sagaru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8176, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: ₹ 17,439 - ₹ 96,239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kanra Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kanra Kyoto is a modern designed hotel in style, and yet aiming to acquire and provide the uniquely sophisticated service of Ryokans(the traditional Japanese hotels) to every single guest. The 68 rooms decorated with the minimal touches and scents of Kyoto are the "Small Luxury". Once you step in to the lobby, you are immersed in the cozy warmth in the sun and the rejuvenating coolness under the shades of the green leaves that will emotionally take you to the front garden of the "MA-CHI-YA"(the historic Kyoto's townhouses).Our famous Hiba-cypress wooden bathtub and a separate shower are built in each room.We would do our best to assist your trip in Kyoto to be the precious memory of a lifetime.*Free Wi-Fi throughout the facility.*Located approx. 12minutes on foot from the Central Exit at JR Kyoto station, 1 minute walk from the Exit 8 at Gojo Subway Stop to your right(the South direction). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Kanra Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing