We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
704 results
Traveller rating
479
181
31
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
181
31
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswooden bathtubelectric bikesjapanese styleboutique hotelminute walksoaking tubmodern twistcedar bathannex buildingsitting arealoved this hotelcloset spaceseparate showergreat boutiquewestern breakfasttrain stationhigashi honganji temple
Filter
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 704 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely staff - they honestly could not have done any more for us. Cool hotel, easy walk to main train station and subway with luggage, one of the best showers you will ever have. Would absolutely stay again, if only for the gorgeous smell when you walk in and upstairs coffee area.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank galvin312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at Hotel Kanra. It's located in a quieter area of town but only a few steps from Gojo Station or a straight 15min walk to Kyoto Station.

The staff were friendly, professional & accommodating. Sakura helped us with check in & she tried her best to attend to our request of foam pillows & teapot. Another lady, we unfortunately can't remember her name, helped us with translation as we wanted to converse with the talented young Yuuka who runs a studio space on the hotel G/F repairing ceramics using an old Japanese method called Kintsugi. Make sure you check out her work if you have time, simply beautiful!

The interior decor is nothing but detailed & visually stunning since the hotel is built & owned by a design company. We loved the wooden bath tub & tatami area where we enjoyed tea at night. They also provided good quality toiletries including a set of facial cleanser, toner & moisturizer.

We particularly enjoyed their afternoon tea set at the lounge cafe. Staff there were helpful & considerate. We loved the way they displayed the mini pastries, cupcakes & bread on the counter. There's a lot of natural sunlight and the whole atmosphere is just so relaxing.

The only suggestion we have for them is to provide a teapot in the room. They have these beautiful ceramic cups, a kettle & tea but no teapot.

We will definitely stay again if a discounted deal comes up. Otherwise it is still a fair bit to pay for what you get especially when you'd most likely be out sightseeing & only come back to shower & sleep.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ManChaTeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

The rooms are lovely. Modern yet Japanese. Loved the bath...

Rooms: are large by any standard. There is a theme for the rooms and hotel. I would describe it as "modern Japanese" [whatever that means] So you have all the mod cons but with the localised feel! Clean, of course. Love the toilet seats....

Service: There are no doormen, concierges etc etc. Just Front Office Staff. VERY good, they do everything. And for those who don't don't speak Japanese... this is THE place!

Location: Pretty good, 1 min from the Subway and 8 min walk to Kyoto station. Nice to be away from the shopping area but close enough.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryanhong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Beautiful design hotel. The hotel welcomed you with a pleasant smell of wood. Very friendly staff who helped us to book taxi and give good advice for sightseeing places. The hotel is super clean. Room is spacious and they also provided yakuta for adults and kids. We loved the wooden bathtub and the bathroom design. It's only 10 minutes walk from Kyoto station, on which way you will pass a beautiful Higashi Honganji temple.
Definitely a place to stay!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Beautiful Japanese/western style hotel . Lovely rooms and bathroom. We had a deluxe room for 2 adults and 2 teenagers and it was a little cramped but we usually stay in 2 rooms. We loved the design and style of the hotel.The front desk were very helpful. We used the complimentary electric bikes and that was a fantastic way to get around Kyoto, everyone rides on the footpath so it is very safe.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbow28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews