We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Hotel Kanra Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Ranked #5 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

We went to Japan to celebrate our 8th anniversary and decided to stay in Hotel Kanra Kyoto and do NOT regret our decision! We loved the rooms, a total japanese experience! Staff was extremely helpful, we had a delightful stay. I still miss the toilet jaja

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 121 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely staff - they honestly could not have done any more for us. Cool hotel, easy walk to main train station and subway with luggage, one of the best showers you will ever have. Would absolutely stay again, if only for the gorgeous smell when you walk in and upstairs coffee area.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank galvin312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at Hotel Kanra. It's located in a quieter area of town but only a few steps from Gojo Station or a straight 15min walk to Kyoto Station.

The staff were friendly, professional & accommodating. Sakura helped us with check in & she tried her best to attend to our request of foam pillows & teapot. Another lady, we unfortunately can't remember her name, helped us with translation as we wanted to converse with the talented young Yuuka who runs a studio space on the hotel G/F repairing ceramics using an old Japanese method called Kintsugi. Make sure you check out her work if you have time, simply beautiful!

The interior decor is nothing but detailed & visually stunning since the hotel is built & owned by a design company. We loved the wooden bath tub & tatami area where we enjoyed tea at night. They also provided good quality toiletries including a set of facial cleanser, toner & moisturizer.

We particularly enjoyed their afternoon tea set at the lounge cafe. Staff there were helpful & considerate. We loved the way they displayed the mini pastries, cupcakes & bread on the counter. There's a lot of natural sunlight and the whole atmosphere is just so relaxing.

The only suggestion we have for them is to provide a teapot in the room. They have these beautiful ceramic cups, a kettle & tea but no teapot.

We will definitely stay again if a discounted deal comes up. Otherwise it is still a fair bit to pay for what you get especially when you'd most likely be out sightseeing & only come back to shower & sleep.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ManChaTeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

The rooms are lovely. Modern yet Japanese. Loved the bath...

Rooms: are large by any standard. There is a theme for the rooms and hotel. I would describe it as "modern Japanese" [whatever that means] So you have all the mod cons but with the localised feel! Clean, of course. Love the toilet seats....

Service: There are no doormen, concierges etc etc. Just Front Office Staff. VERY good, they do everything. And for those who don't don't speak Japanese... this is THE place!

Location: Pretty good, 1 min from the Subway and 8 min walk to Kyoto station. Nice to be away from the shopping area but close enough.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryanhong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Beautiful design hotel. The hotel welcomed you with a pleasant smell of wood. Very friendly staff who helped us to book taxi and give good advice for sightseeing places. The hotel is super clean. Room is spacious and they also provided yakuta for adults and kids. We loved the wooden bathtub and the bathroom design. It's only 10 minutes walk from Kyoto station, on which way you will pass a beautiful Higashi Honganji temple.
Definitely a place to stay!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#9 of 379 in Kyoto
2,460 reviews
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#13 of 379 in Kyoto
3,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 379 in Kyoto
913 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kanra Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kanra Kyoto

Address: 190 Kitamachi Karasuma-dori Rokujo Sagaru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8176, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: ₹ 17,530 - ₹ 96,808 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kanra Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kanra Kyoto is a modern designed hotel in style, and yet aiming to acquire and provide the uniquely sophisticated service of Ryokans(the traditional Japanese hotels) to every single guest. The 68 rooms decorated with the minimal touches and scents of Kyoto are the "Small Luxury". Once you step in to the lobby, you are immersed in the cozy warmth in the sun and the rejuvenating coolness under the shades of the green leaves that will emotionally take you to the front garden of the "MA-CHI-YA"(the historic Kyoto's townhouses).Our famous Hiba-cypress wooden bathtub and a separate shower are built in each room.We would do our best to assist your trip in Kyoto to be the precious memory of a lifetime.*Free Wi-Fi throughout the facility.*Located approx. 12minutes on foot from the Central Exit at JR Kyoto station, 1 minute walk from the Exit 8 at Gojo Subway Stop to your right(the South direction). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Kanra Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing