We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem with Great value and service”
Review of Hotel Kanra Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Ranked #6 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2012

From the train station we took a taxi to go to the hotel. The taxi driver could not locate this hotel on his GPS and he called the hotel to get the directions. He dropped us on the main street and told us to take a small side street to find the hotel. We were not sure whether we made the right choice until we went inside. Kanra is a small boutique hotel with excellent team of receptionists. This hotel is located very close to a major shrine and a short distance to a shopping district.
We stayed here for 3 days in a very spacious, comfortable, clean and bright penthouse suite. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. They literally pampered us. We really felt sad to leave this place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us.
For that the time has past, our hotel is now much known in the city of Kyoto: and we have you the wonderful guests to thank for the supports. We look forward to welcoming and serving you again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

457 - 461 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

We chose two different hotels for our 2 night stay in Kyoto and the Kanra should have been where we spent both of our nights.

What we liked most about the hotel was the room, done in a modern Japanese style with a bathroom that looked like it came from a design magazine. One of the most beautiful hotel rooms we've ever seen.

The hotel has bikes you can borrow to explore Kyoto - highly recommended as Kyoto is a big bike city.

The epitome of a great boutique hotel - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfo2mnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us.
We would love to have you stayed here again; may be for the entire stay in Kyoto then, so that there will be enough time for you to visit numerous NEW spots we recommend, with bikes. We look forward to welcoming and serving you again, anytime. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed with my family at the Hotel Kanra at the end of February for 3 nights. The experience was absolutely amazing! The design and décor of the entire hotel combined modern elements with old Japanese machiya style. There’s a tatami area in the room and the beds were so comfortable. The location of the hotel is not too far from the Kyoto station (only a 7~10 min. walk), and the hotel is right next to the Higashi Honganji. The “Karasuma Rokujo” bus station is within a few minutes’ walk and the there’s also a subway station close by. The best part is there’s a 7-11 right in front of the hotel for some late night snacks!

The entire front desk team is extremely helpful as I had wrote many emails requesting about sightseeing information in Kyoto and buying train tickets. The lady who helped me at check-in was very professional and cute; we had problem with our shower the first night and she even came to my room to help me fix the faucet! The bath tub made of wood was wonderful and it was even big enough for us to stretch our legs when sitting inside. The restaurant staff was very friendly as well; we had dessert each day which was included in our room package, and the desserts they served to us changed everyday.

If I must point out a few flaws it would be the entrance to the hotel and the lighting in the guestroom. To enter the hotel you must walk down a few steps of stairs. The hotel didn’t bellman so my family had to bring our own luggage down the stairs by ourselves. Also the lighting in the room was quite dimmed, so in the morning I had to bring the mirror next to the window to put on my makeup.

That said, Hotel Kanra would still be my first choice if I were to travel to Kyoto next time. It’s an amazing hotel with amazing staff, and it’s definitely worth the price!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sclc386dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us.
We are very glad to know that you could "amaze" with the factors on our site. We apologize for the inconvenient arrival. The staffs tend to be there to welcome and help you with the luggage, unless none is available, serving other parties at the time. We have been focusing on the improvement of the efficiency as well, ever since. We look forward to welcoming you, with a hand, and serving you again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Extremely friendly and helpful in every possible way. I arrived early to the hotel but my assigned room was still occupied. I decided to go to Nishiki market for lunch and asked to be called at my overseas mobile no once my room is ready. I am happily surprised that several attempts were made to reach my mobile an hour later.
The deluxe room is huge, can fit a family of 5 in my opinion. The attention to details in the decor of the room is amazing. I would have to rate Kanra as one of the best boutique hotel in Asia.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OreoBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us.
Every single guest we welcome here is precious to us.
We would make effort diligently to serve the best we could.
We appreciate all your cooperation, and look forward to welcoming you, again.
A. Miura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Currently enjoying a wonderful stay here with my husband & teenage daughter. We have a Superior room that accommodates the 3rd guest on a futon mattress on the Tatami floor. Very comfortable, the beds are huge. Lovely breakfast and convenient to Kyoto Station and Gojo Subway... Beautiful rooms, would definitely return

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bloody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us.
Apart from the feature of the guest room, our concierge team would love to assist you organizing the itinerary in our city. Having this in mind, please let us be of your further help next time. We look forward to serving you again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#8 of 407 in Kyoto
2,528 reviews
City Centre
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 407 in Kyoto
3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#16 of 407 in Kyoto
943 reviews
City Centre
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kanra Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kanra Kyoto

Address: 190 Kitamachi Karasuma-dori Rokujo Sagaru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8176, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: ₹ 17,563 - ₹ 68,762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kanra Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kanra Kyoto is a modern designed hotel in style, and yet aiming to acquire and provide the uniquely sophisticated service of Ryokans(the traditional Japanese hotels) to every single guest. The 68 rooms decorated with the minimal touches and scents of Kyoto are the "Small Luxury". Once you step in to the lobby, you are immersed in the cozy warmth in the sun and the rejuvenating coolness under the shades of the green leaves that will emotionally take you to the front garden of the "MA-CHI-YA"(the historic Kyoto's townhouses).Our famous Hiba-cypress wooden bathtub and a separate shower are built in each room.We would do our best to assist your trip in Kyoto to be the precious memory of a lifetime.*Free Wi-Fi throughout the facility.*Located approx. 12minutes on foot from the Central Exit at JR Kyoto station, 1 minute walk from the Exit 8 at Gojo Subway Stop to your right(the South direction). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Kanra Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing