We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (705)
Filter reviews
705 results
Traveller rating
480
181
31
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
480
181
31
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswooden bathtubelectric bikesjapanese styleboutique hotelminute walksoaking tubmodern twistcedar bathannex buildingsitting arealoved this hotelcloset spaceseparate showergreat boutiquewestern breakfasttrain stationhigashi honganji temple
Filter
Updating list...
523 - 528 of 705 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Hotel Kanra Kyoto is an exceptional place to stay. They certainly have everything right! The rooms are large by Japanese standard and although we stayed in a traditional Japanese room they were beautifully outfitted with very modern decor. The beds were the most comfortable that we slept in whilst in Japan. Traveling with two daughters to Japan for the first time. We found booking rooms to accommodate us all difficult.

The staff at Kanra Kyoto couldn't have been more helpful and most speak good English. The restaurant is delightful.

The hotel offer complimentary bicycles which are motorised and were a blessing for discovering all the joys that Kyoto has to offer.

Would most definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danidrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us.
We are only grateful to hear that you are satisfied with our service.
We look forward to welcoming and serving you again, anytime. Thank you!
A. Miura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

We booked Hotel Kanra when there was not a single review on trip advisor or other website about this hotel, because it was very recently opened. We were pleasantly surprised.

Pros: Very clean. The bed was huge, like two queen beds joint together, with very comfortable beddings. Tub was very deep and nice. Everything was well made. Service was great.

Cons: The front door of the hotel is a bit hard to find.

By the way, the place is about 1 subway stop from Kyoto Station. It's walkable, but taxi is probably better.

We will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jzwy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us.
We are only grateful to hear that you are satisfied with our service.
Our frony door is certainly not the easiest to find for the first-time guests... Thank you for the review, it would be helpful for the following guests arriving at our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming and serving you again, anytime. Thank you!
A. Miura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Though recommended by the concierge at the Peninsula Hotel in Tokyo, I was first a little doubtful when the taxi cab let us off and pointed down a simple street or alley too narrow for motorized traffic, and when I walked up, there was just a sign and a door, and no obvious doorman. But, open entering, we were showered with service, attention, and were delighted by our selection. Open only one month; about 29 total rooms. Our room had a delightful bath area with wooden tub, the does-it-all Toto toilet, nice shower, and a small rock garden along one edge.

Nice living area, too. Relax on futons to watch high resolution flat screen TV.

Breakfast is a delight! Two choices, American style or Japanese style, both great. Also dinner is gourmet.

Concierge service, though very friendly, is still a work in progress, as young staff has not visited many of the more expensive Kyoto restaurants. Very helpful in arranging a private taxi tour.

Maybe there is something that can be called by the overused and underexperiences rubric of "a hidden gem". This may be it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarshBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel to stay with.
We would diligently make effort to sophisticate our service, day by day, as we receive warm supports from every guest of ours.
We would very much appreciate your comments, and look forward to serving you again.
Thank you!
A. Miura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews