We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice boutique hotel!”
Review of Hotel Kanra Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Ranked #5 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Initially only booked 2 nights at this hotel. After we tried other ryokan hotel in Kyoto and decided to stay longer in Kyoto, we stayed here for another 3 nights. Total spent 5 nights at this hotel. One of the best hotels for my 2 weeks trip in Japan.
the hotel is located at about 10mins walk from Kyoto Station, subway is just 1min walk away. there is a 7-11 just outside the hotel. there is ramen shop, MCD nearby. There is a very nice handmade Soba shop next to the MCD. Must try the soba shop.
The front desk staffs are helpful and speak very good English. The room is very spacious, the amenities are good too. the tatami & futon is very comfortable. The yukata provided is very comfortable n beautiful. There are 2 pc at the lobby for hotel guess. very useful if you don't have laptop with you. The hotel provides free bicycle rental. highly recommend to use this service, bicycle is a very good transportation to do sightseeing.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank panda_panda82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us.
All the staff here at Hotel Kanra Kyoto are more than happy to help making your trip as special as possible! We are glad to hear that you did like staying with us.
We would very much look forward to serving you, again. We will have your bicycle ready, too. Thank you!
A. Miura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 456 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2011

Hotel Kanra Kyoto is an exceptional place to stay. They certainly have everything right! The rooms are large by Japanese standard and although we stayed in a traditional Japanese room they were beautifully outfitted with very modern decor. The beds were the most comfortable that we slept in whilst in Japan. Traveling with two daughters to Japan for the first time. We found booking rooms to accommodate us all difficult.

The staff at Kanra Kyoto couldn't have been more helpful and most speak good English. The restaurant is delightful.

The hotel offer complimentary bicycles which are motorised and were a blessing for discovering all the joys that Kyoto has to offer.

Would most definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danidrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us.
We are only grateful to hear that you are satisfied with our service.
We look forward to welcoming and serving you again, anytime. Thank you!
A. Miura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

We booked Hotel Kanra when there was not a single review on trip advisor or other website about this hotel, because it was very recently opened. We were pleasantly surprised.

Pros: Very clean. The bed was huge, like two queen beds joint together, with very comfortable beddings. Tub was very deep and nice. Everything was well made. Service was great.

Cons: The front door of the hotel is a bit hard to find.

By the way, the place is about 1 subway stop from Kyoto Station. It's walkable, but taxi is probably better.

We will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jzwy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us.
We are only grateful to hear that you are satisfied with our service.
Our frony door is certainly not the easiest to find for the first-time guests... Thank you for the review, it would be helpful for the following guests arriving at our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming and serving you again, anytime. Thank you!
A. Miura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Though recommended by the concierge at the Peninsula Hotel in Tokyo, I was first a little doubtful when the taxi cab let us off and pointed down a simple street or alley too narrow for motorized traffic, and when I walked up, there was just a sign and a door, and no obvious doorman. But, open entering, we were showered with service, attention, and were delighted by our selection. Open only one month; about 29 total rooms. Our room had a delightful bath area with wooden tub, the does-it-all Toto toilet, nice shower, and a small rock garden along one edge.

Nice living area, too. Relax on futons to watch high resolution flat screen TV.

Breakfast is a delight! Two choices, American style or Japanese style, both great. Also dinner is gourmet.

Concierge service, though very friendly, is still a work in progress, as young staff has not visited many of the more expensive Kyoto restaurants. Very helpful in arranging a private taxi tour.

Maybe there is something that can be called by the overused and underexperiences rubric of "a hidden gem". This may be it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarshBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルカンラ京都, 予約担当 at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel to stay with.
We would diligently make effort to sophisticate our service, day by day, as we receive warm supports from every guest of ours.
We would very much appreciate your comments, and look forward to serving you again.
Thank you!
A. Miura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanatsuka, Front department at Hotel Kanra Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#9 of 379 in Kyoto
2,464 reviews
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#19 of 379 in Kyoto
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 379 in Kyoto
3,098 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kanra Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kanra Kyoto

Address: 190 Kitamachi Karasuma-dori Rokujo Sagaru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8176, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: ₹ 17,481 - ₹ 95,984 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kanra Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kanra Kyoto is a modern designed hotel in style, and yet aiming to acquire and provide the uniquely sophisticated service of Ryokans(the traditional Japanese hotels) to every single guest. The 68 rooms decorated with the minimal touches and scents of Kyoto are the "Small Luxury". Once you step in to the lobby, you are immersed in the cozy warmth in the sun and the rejuvenating coolness under the shades of the green leaves that will emotionally take you to the front garden of the "MA-CHI-YA"(the historic Kyoto's townhouses).Our famous Hiba-cypress wooden bathtub and a separate shower are built in each room.We would do our best to assist your trip in Kyoto to be the precious memory of a lifetime.*Free Wi-Fi throughout the facility.*Located approx. 12minutes on foot from the Central Exit at JR Kyoto station, 1 minute walk from the Exit 8 at Gojo Subway Stop to your right(the South direction). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Kanra Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing