We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveller rating
338
262
44
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
262
44
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free ramen fresh noodles top floor rooftop onsen dragonfly tours great location train station great onsen indoor and outdoor pools free onsen convenience store hot bath western options central exit japanese standards minutes walking distance north side
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 654 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2018

Very, very near to Kyoto train station, only 5 minutes walk to the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, they tried their best to explain about the Gion festival to us while we were there (this was helped by their foreign receptionist who could speak fluent English) and they provided plastic fans as souvenirs (which was a big+ during the 38C in Kyoto in July)

At night you could enjoy the onsen in the city. There was an outdoor area though you wouldn't have much view but definitely an experience to have onsen in the middle of a city after a long and tiring day.

and of course there is the signature free Ramen to fill-up your belly after the hot spring session... now if they could include a piece of meat in the noodles that would have made the trip perfect!

The room is quite dated, though clean, and definitely a bit bigger than the room i had in Osaka Namba.The wash basin and the toilet/shower are separated so it is a bit inconvenience.

There is free laundry but it will take forever as "free" will mean everyone will all use it and hence a long queue.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Vince_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dormyinn-kyotoekimae, フロント ウィリアム at Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here at Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae Hotel. We appreciate your comments, and we use all of our guest reviews in order to provide better service. Unarguably one of our hotel's major features is that we are a short 5 minute walk from Kyoto Station, which is a major transportation hub, with trains, buses and taxis, that not only connects you to the rest of Kyoto and the Kansai area, but all of Japan as well. Furthermore, we are very proud to be one of the few hotels in downtown Kyoto to offer a natural hot spring service, which is free of charge for all of our guests. The soy sauce based ramen noodles we serve here at our hotel is served daily in our entire chain, and most of our guest enjoy this service and say its delicious. We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback so that we can continuously improve. We also hope that you were otherwise satisfied with our hotel, and that you would use it again in the future.

Front Desk William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Very nice hotel! I came for a short vacation with a friend. We got the twin room and it's an okay size for us two with 2 carry-on (it would be tight with 2 big luggages). I like the different layout of the room. There is free ramen at night and also an onsen! It's good to have after a whole day walking through the city to visit. Very well located next to the train station. Had a good night sleep! Would totally come back :)

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Piggy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dormyinn-kyotoekimae, フロント ウィリアム at Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here at Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae Hotel. We appreciate your comments, and we use all of our guest reviews in order to provide better service. Unarguably one of our hotel's major features is that we are a short 5 minute walk from Kyoto Station, which is a major transportation hub, with trains, buses and taxis, that not only connects you to the rest of Kyoto and the Kansai area, but all of Japan as well. Furthermore, we are very proud to be one of the few hotels in downtown Kyoto to offer a natural hot spring service, which is free of charge for all of our guests. The soy sauce based ramen noodles we serve here at our hotel is served daily in our entire chain, and most of our guest enjoy this service and say its delicious. We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback so that we can continuously improve. We also hope that you were otherwise satisfied with our hotel, and that you would use it again in the future.

Front Desk William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Good location in Kyoto. We enjoyed their free supper of Soba. Never made us down of Dormy Inn. Hot Spring was excellent as in other Dormy Inn. They got relaxing decorations and good control of hot spring. Breakfast was also good as expected of Dormy Inn. This Hotel brand is our first choice in Japan.

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank EdithC1083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

Rooms are pretty small and not very nice. Views from the hotel are not worth it. Breakfast is somewhat average although there is a lot of choice. Very close to the station so easy to access. Has a free onsen at the top floor.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank flavaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

Good location as only 5 mins walking distance to Kyoto station... Hot bath is available but too many people...very crowded so not relaxing enough... but the worst is service..before our arrival...we sent email to hotel for restaurant table reservation... but they replied restaurant is full...we then ask our 2nd hotel to help... then they finally make it... obviously restaurant is not full... but they don’t offer help.... since we stay first night here then the second night to Ogotoonsen ...so we ask to do storage for one night and get back day after...we’ve been rejected... I didn’t expected this ... as we used to do storage one night in other hotels in Kyoto...always not a problem... so very disappointed to this reply... sorry to say we will not come back and not recommended.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank westlife0603cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews