We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and beautiful place to stay in Kyoto!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kyoto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Salon Haraguchi Tenseian
Ranked #80 of 376 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Better late than never....
At the end of May 2011, we - a family of 4 people: parents with 2 boys (2,4) - had the privilege to be guests at Salon Haraguchi, in the beautiful wooden house at Maruyama Park in Kyoto.
Mr & Mrs Haraguchi who own the place are wonderful, welcoming people, so helpful, warm and kind, and their house - where we stayed for 7 nights - is a beautiful japanese style house, big, spacious, so comfortable, clean, well maintained, decorated and located in a great location in the beautiful Mruyama Park, close to central places and streets in Kyoto.
Mr. Haraguchi was so kind and generous to take us twice, to some far temples in Kyoto, and withe the children ... no need to describe how helpful it was.
For us, it is obvious, that in our next visit to Japan - hopefully won't take too many years from now - we will certainly return to the same place! Thank you again Mr. & Mrs. Hraguchi, and to all of you people, who are planning a trip to Kyoto - we deeply recommend this place!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elinor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 124 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed at both properties - Kiyomizu Tenseian and Salon Haraguchi. Our hosts, Mr & Mrs Haraguchi were fantastic! Incidentally, Mr Haraguchi is a master ceramist, specialising in celadon pottery. You will see his beautiful works in both homes.

Mr Haraguchi who speaks very good English was the person whom we interacted with when we made our bookings by email and subsequently at both homes. If you are a foodie, he gave us dining recommendations that were spot on. If you like to try modern kaiseki, do ask him where to go. The place he recommended in Gion was superb! As were the ramen/udon, and other little places he directed us to.

KIYOMIZU TENSEIAN
This is the apartment above Mr Haraguchi's pottery studio located very close to Kiyomizu temple - within very easy walking distance. We took a bus (100 or 206) from Kyoto Station to Gojozaka bus stop which is the nearest bus stop to his apartment. It is a very short walk away. You go up a rather steep flight of stairs and there is a room with twin beds and next door, is a tatami room that can be converted to another bedroom with futons, etc. There's a separate dining/kitchen area and a small room to put your luggage, hang your coats, etc. Plenty of heating available if you go in the winter months. The toilet is inside the unit and has a wonderful heated seat!! The only challenge for me was the bathroom which is just outside in the sheltered veranda area.There's adequate/powerful heating in the shower unit itself, but it's having to step out into the cold albeit briefly to get there (I know, I know)... This was not an issue for my husband at all, but I thought I should mention this for those who are like me - so you are prepared! This would be no problem in the warmer months of course! :)

The unit is very comfortable and spacious. Has fridge, toaster oven, microwave oven, coffee maker, hot water pot, etc. There are umbrellas and even bicycles for you to borrow. But we walked or took the bus mostly as it was so convenient.

SALON HARAGUCHI
Excellent location in Maruyama Park. It is about a 5-10 min downhill walk to Gion (so it is a short hike back up). It is convenient to walk to all the temples/sights in the Higashiyama area -- if you go left, you would hit Kodaiji & Kiyomizu temples. Straight down, through Maruyama Park, Yasaka Shrine then on to Gion/Shijo Dori (shopping, restaurants & geisha spotting). To the right, Chion In & Shoren In temples. Public transport on the main road.

This used to be ryokan style with breakfast served but not anymore as Mr Haraguchi's staff has since retired. So it's room only (actually you get the whole house to yourself). The house exudes charm & character. It is a 100 years old with beautiful traditional architecture & decor. We stayed in the bedroom upstairs which overlooked Maruyama Park. Absolutely wonderful. Lots of heating available for the cooler months. There are two more rooms downstairs and a little kitchen with fridge, toaster oven, microwave, coffee machine, hot water pot, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Strabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed there with my family for 9 nights during December- January 2012. The ryokan is a perfect home for us. Although it is an old traditional ryokan but yet it is clean, well maintained and it has some modern facilities to support comfort modern living style. Anything you need is there (water heater,air cond, bath tub, wifi, microwave, coffee maker, rice cooker, oven, frigde, washing machine, TV set, bicycle, coffee, green tea, even the cooking oil). He gave us the house key. We were able to get in our get out the ryokan at any time, as if we were the owner.

We love the tatami in the cozy bed room. The bed room is equipped with the traditional Japanese decoration. It comes with the beautiful ceramic made by the owner, Mr. Haraguchi.

The place is quite and safe. Usually I locked the door and left the ryokan empty for our daily trip. Somebody dropped a parcel for Mr. Haraguchi outside the empty ryokan beside the street but the parcel remained there. Nobody took it until Mr . Haraguchi took it in the evening. It is a nice place for the family or new wed couple.

The ryokan is accessible and within minutes you will reach the restaurant, convenience shop, bus stop, shopping arcade (Gion) and the famous tourist route to Kiyomizu temple. I found it very easy to reach Kobe or Nara or Osaka from the ryokan.

Mr. Haraguchi, the owner is a nice person. He liked to inform us the nice and cheap restaurants, routes to interesting objects. He is a full of resource of Kyoto origin . He provided a hot line for us in case of emergency. We were not alone in Kyoto. He even took us for a tour to Kinkakuji (Golden Temple) and Ryoanji Temple which are far from the down town with his BWM (free of charge). He waited for us during the snow fall while we were sightseeing the temples. What a nice host. Ooo, not to forget, he picked us up upon arrival in Kyoto station.

We will come back to the ryokan. We fall in love with it. It's the nicest home we ever had during our trip to other places in Asia.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ferdinand L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed at Kiyomizu Tenseian for 3 nights with my fiance, in January 2012. Frankly I would like to live there! What an amazing place.
From the off, the communication with Takushi Haraguchi, the owner of the apartment, was fantastic. He speaks excellent English, and it was very easy to make a reservation via e-mail for the apartment above his ceramic studio. Haraguchi-san was very helpful, advising me which bus to take from the station to the main road near the apartment, then when we reached there we called him and he was there within 3 minutes to greet us. The apartment is just a few minutes walk from Kiyomizu temple.
The apartment is in a perfect location, just a short walk from the Gion district. It is very spacious, and very traditional. Despite us vising in mid winder when it was very cold outside (and it snowed most days!), there were ample heaters in the apartment and it was easy to warm up. There was always hot water, too.
Haraguchi came to meet us at the apartment one afternoon and drove us to the Golden Pavilion (Kinkakuji) across the city. He also took us to Ryonaji, and for a drive to a beautiful lake nearby to those temples. It was fantastic to have a tour guide who knew the area better than anyone else, as he is from Kyoto!
We had such a wonderful stay here, completely topped off by Haraguchi's hospitality and help with recommending various restaurants and must-see sites. I really hope to return here one day. Just loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthernLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed at Kiyomizu Tenseian, another property than Haraguchi Tenseian for one week in November. The place was spacious and comfortable. He also offered bikes for us to use for a few days. It was like staying at your relative's place. Mr.Takushi was such a great host. He gave us a list of local restaurants. He made sure we didn't miss all the important sight seeing places and even made sure we got on the right bus when we went Ohara one morning. One evening he even gave us a tour to a beautiful temple off the beaten path and drove around the mountains to see the view of Kyoto at night. We went to a night light up at Shroren-in as he recommended, it was magical.
Thank you much Takushi-san, we sure will stay here next time we visit Kyoto!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jitchaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Eco and Tec Kyoto
#19 of 376 in Kyoto
347 reviews
Motonago
#7 of 376 in Kyoto
361 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hokkaikan Ohanabo
Hokkaikan Ohanabo
#17 of 376 in Kyoto
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kikokuso
Kikokuso
#84 of 376 in Kyoto
193 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Kyoto Yoshimizu
#101 of 376 in Kyoto
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salon Haraguchi Tenseian? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salon Haraguchi Tenseian

Address: 7-3 Maruyama-cho, higashiyama-ku,, Kyoto 605-0071, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Salon Haraguchi Tenseian Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing