We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I want to live here - don't stay anywhere else!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kyoto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Salon Haraguchi Tenseian
Ranked #57 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“I want to live here - don't stay anywhere else!”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed at Kiyomizu Tenseian for 3 nights with my fiance, in January 2012. Frankly I would like to live there! What an amazing place.
From the off, the communication with Takushi Haraguchi, the owner of the apartment, was fantastic. He speaks excellent English, and it was very easy to make a reservation via e-mail for the apartment above his ceramic studio. Haraguchi-san was very helpful, advising me which bus to take from the station to the main road near the apartment, then when we reached there we called him and he was there within 3 minutes to greet us. The apartment is just a few minutes walk from Kiyomizu temple.
The apartment is in a perfect location, just a short walk from the Gion district. It is very spacious, and very traditional. Despite us vising in mid winder when it was very cold outside (and it snowed most days!), there were ample heaters in the apartment and it was easy to warm up. There was always hot water, too.
Haraguchi came to meet us at the apartment one afternoon and drove us to the Golden Pavilion (Kinkakuji) across the city. He also took us to Ryonaji, and for a drive to a beautiful lake nearby to those temples. It was fantastic to have a tour guide who knew the area better than anyone else, as he is from Kyoto!
We had such a wonderful stay here, completely topped off by Haraguchi's hospitality and help with recommending various restaurants and must-see sites. I really hope to return here one day. Just loved it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthernLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
65
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed at Kiyomizu Tenseian, another property than Haraguchi Tenseian for one week in November. The place was spacious and comfortable. He also offered bikes for us to use for a few days. It was like staying at your relative's place. Mr.Takushi was such a great host. He gave us a list of local restaurants. He made sure we didn't miss all the important sight seeing places and even made sure we got on the right bus when we went Ohara one morning. One evening he even gave us a tour to a beautiful temple off the beaten path and drove around the mountains to see the view of Kyoto at night. We went to a night light up at Shroren-in as he recommended, it was magical.
Thank you much Takushi-san, we sure will stay here next time we visit Kyoto!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jitchaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girona, Spain
Level Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Last August I stayed 3 days ending August at Tensein Ryokan.AI friend of mine talked me about that wonderful, old and traditional japanese house from few steps of the historical neigborhood of Kyoto, Gion.

Clean, simple and at the same time confortable, Tensein Ryokan, owned by Takushi Haraguchi-san, an excellent ceramist, is the best place to stay in Kyoto. Moreover, there is a kitchenette to make your self somthing to eat or breakfast. That helps after a marathonian day.

Far of the crowds and at the same time in the city center. For exemple, the bus num. 206, that stops in front of the ryokan, carries you to the Kyoto station in 8 minuts, even in rush hour. Or you can reach the Fine arts center, of Tadao Ando architect, north Kyoto, in 15 minuts by the same bus.
If you prefer to visit the Kiyomizu-dera is from 10 minuts by foot ro tensein Ryokan.

Do not hesite and book at Tenseian Ryokan. For me, is my hidden place in Kyoto.
I will come back.

Abel Molina Iniesta, Spain, Barcelona.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Voyage1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed during winter 2011. It was an awesome experience. We stayed in the other house, the ryokan in maruyama park. The ryokan came fully equipped with kitchen and its utensils, washer, dryer,TV,wi-fi,heater. Definitely a bargain. We had the whole house (two storied ryokan) to ourselves. It is also situated near two major shrines yasaka shrine, and chion-in. And the gion shopping district is within walking distance. The owner is very nice and generous. We had a marvelous time. Highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Me and my cousin stayed in one of Takushi's ryokan called Kiyomizu Tensei-An. It is within walking distance from the Kiyomizu Temple and Gion shopping street. We stayed there for 3 nights. The house is located at the end a street in a very quiet neighborhood. We have the entire house to our own. The room is very clean. Everything we need is there including laundry detergent. Takushi-san speak decent English so communicate with him is not a problem.

Takushi stop by every night to give us recommendation for what to visit and eat the next day. On our last day he took his car and drive us to Golden Pavilion (Kinkaku-ji) and several places around the area since it is a little far from the Ryokan.

Finally, the price is amazing as well. The place is cheaper than any Ryokan I can find in Kyoto. If I visit Kyoto again I will definently stay here again. Make sure to reserve in advance because this place can fill up fast around peak season since they only rent out the entire house to one family/group.

You can find information on Kiyomizu Tensei-An here http://www.tenseian.com/tenseian/eng/index.html
His other ryokan is Salon Haraguchi Tensei-An, http://www.tenseian.com/haraguchi/eng/index.html

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lintravis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Motonago
#8 of 366 in Kyoto
342 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Urushitei
Shimogyo-ku
Ohanabo
Ohanabo
#5 of 366 in Kyoto
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gion
Yuzuya Ryokan
Yuzuya Ryokan
#67 of 366 in Kyoto
151 reviews
Maifukan
#36 of 366 in Kyoto
309 reviews
Gion Hatanaka
#34 of 366 in Kyoto
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salon Haraguchi Tenseian? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salon Haraguchi Tenseian

Property: Salon Haraguchi Tenseian
Address: 7-3 Maruyama-cho, higashiyama-ku,, Kyoto 605-0071 , Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Salon Haraguchi Tenseian Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing