We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience with Taro”

Initia Japanese Cooking Class
Ranked #10 of 60 Food & Drink in Kyoto
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Initia Japanese Cooking Class is a great way to learn how to make traditional Japanese dishes in English. What we teach is not fancy cuisine, but daily home style meal. We, a local family teach a small number of guests, so the atmosphere is just like cooking at home. This is not just a cooking class. We'd like our guests to have a local experience that you can't have when you just do sightseeing in Japan.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We did a cooking class to learn how to make takoyaki with Taro. It was a great experience and we had such a good moment. After the class, we bought the same pan to do the recipe again once at home! Taro is so friendly and interesting, it was great to meet him. We had many questions and he helped us with everything. Plus, his english is really good ! We recommend this cooking class!

Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taro Y, General Manager at Initia Japanese Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

You bought the pan? Awesome! As long as you have the pan, you can make Takoyaki wherever you are since the other ingredients are comperatively easy to obtain. Let me know if you have questions about making takoyaki, anytime. The class with you two was so much fun! Hope to see you again:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"miso soup"
in 4 reviews
"moved upstairs"
in 2 reviews
"basic ingredients"
in 2 reviews
"tatami room"
in 2 reviews
"japanese home"
in 2 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 2 reviews
"takoyaki"
in 3 reviews
"taro"
in 24 reviews
"involvement"
in 2 reviews
"skills"
in 3 reviews
"recipe"
in 8 reviews
"culture"
in 4 reviews
"highlights"
in 2 reviews
"tea"
in 2 reviews
Filter

21 - 25 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Cooking with Taro and his mother was one of my most favourite things about my visit to Kyoto. The venue was gorgeous, the process easy and thoroughly explained, the food was delicious and the grand finale of eating the fruits of our labour very gratifying.

Both Taro and his mum were very gentle, warm and relaxed. Having a casual conversation with them was a blast. It was also great to meet fellow travelers and exchange tips over chopping the greens. All in all highly recommended as a wholesome experience that is much more than just putting ingredients together.

Thank mayanasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taro Y, General Manager at Initia Japanese Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

I'm glad the experience was memorable for you too!
When you have friends over, that's the atmosphere we are trying to create in our class! Also, we have various kinds of guests from locals, and expats, to travelers. Every class we have something new, and we make a chance for our guests to talk to people with different background. Thanks a lot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

What a great evening! Taro led a terrific cooking class and we created a meal that I would definitely cook at home. Everything was delicious and the experience was beyond enjoyable. I would highly recommend the class. It was a very special memory from our trip to Japan!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank aimeeechristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taro Y, General Manager at Initia Japanese Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Yees, please try cooking the menu again with the recipe we gave you. Most ingredients should be obtainable in the place you live! It was very memorable for me too:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

I had a class with Taro about Takoyaki. I can feel how enthusiastic Taro is about cooking. He mastered the skills well and loved the cooking details of what he teaches. The recipe is great and detailed too. Thanks !

Thank Carson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taro Y, General Manager at Initia Japanese Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thanks! Takoyaki made by ourselves might not be as pretty as the ones from Takoyaki made by professionals, but still it has a great value that we made it by ourselves. I hope the experience was something memorable for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Welcoming family with travellers around the world. Delicious food. Magnificent combinations! Taro is fluent in English and maybe Spanish too. He and his mother are very helpful and considerate. Not only did we experienced making traditional Japanese food ourself, we also got to try authentic food made by his mother. Even more delicious. With traditional Japanese dessert, too. Too full to walk home afterwards.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank lynnzhang963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taro Y, General Manager at Initia Japanese Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

You are one of the members who made the class great! I'm glad you were too full to walk. Sharing home made meal is exactly what we are trying to do. I hope you had a local experience here in Initia! Thank you for coming, have a safe trip:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Initia Japanese Cooking Class also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Initia Japanese Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing