We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable home”
other travellers have booked this property
Fully renovated machiya vacation house for multiple families, couples, and friend groups.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fully renovated machiya vacation house for multiple families, couples, and friend groups.
Wood deck Internal entrance door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Fully renovated machiya vacation house for multiple families, couples, and friend groups.
Wood deck
Internal entrance door
Front view of the house
External gate and wood deck
Wood deck - bamboo and table/chairs installed in 2017
Entrance area seen from the island kitchen
The combination of a stainless island kitchen and the orange color wall is one of the unique design
Living area next to the tsuboniwa Japanese garden and the tea room
Garden and tea room
Twin room
Center room (can accommodate one double mattress)
Entrance area
Access to the house from various locations within Japan
The house location relative to the entire city of Kyoto
3 min walk to subway/tram/bus stations.  Two supermarkets in 1-2 min.  Dozen's of local foods.
The house location relative to the city's major sightseeing spots and public transportation network
Another view of kitchen area
Another view of kitchen area
Dining area
Dining table connected to the island
Entrance hall seen from island kitchen
Brass-made faucet
View of kitchen and living areas (before installing furniture)
Looking up the big opening from the entrance hall
Living area
Tuboniwa (坪庭) Japanese garden and the tea room seen from the living room
Tea room and the garden
Garden and tea room
A view of garden from tea room
Plant in the garden
A view of the garden
Wood deck with a table and chairs
Ceiling light in the living room (installed on Sep 2017)
Look for where this is after checking in...
Look for where this is after checking in...
Stairs to the second floor
Mino-washi (美濃和紙粕紙) paper lantern above the stairs (installed on Sep 2017)
Mino-washi (美濃和紙粕紙)paper lantern in the center room of the second floor (installed on Sep 2017)
Center room on the second floor seen from the top of the stairs
Center room facing the big opening and roof window
Looking up the roof from the center room
Glass sliding doors into the tatami room
Tatami room (can accommodate one double size mattress)
Two cloth pleated screen in the tatami room
The twin beds can be combined into an ultra king size bed
Closer look at the two-cloth screen
Three air conditioners equipped in the house
1st floor plan view
2nd floor plan view
House sectional view from the south
House sectional view from the north
Welcome foot light at the entrance
Map of neighborhood (English)
Map of neighborhood (Japanese)
House location relative to the entire city and the Kyoto's 17 World Heritage sites
Hankyu Saiin station entrance (阪急西院駅)
Randen Sai station (嵐電西院駅)
Nishioji Shijo bus stop to go to Golden Pavilion or Kinkaku-ji temple (西大路四条 bus stop to go 金閣寺)
Hankyu (阪急) Oasis supermarket, 2 min walk from the house
Inside Hankyu (阪急) Oasis super market
Inside Hankyu (阪急) Oasis super market
FRESCO supermarket and Times parking (30 second walk from the house)
One of Izakaya (居酒屋) restaurants near the stations
One of Izakaya (居酒屋) restaurants near the stations
Japanese Italian restaurant in machiya 町家.  2 min walk from the house
Jijnrai (神来) ramen shop.  3 min walk from the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

惠琪 李
1 review
“Comfortable home”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Shimpei greeted us at home and carefully introduced the things and precautions for the house. The house is very clean and comfortable, things are very complete, suitable for families or a few friends live together. Location is very convenient, there are two supermarkets near the walk 2 minutes to reach. Out of the alley there is a bus stop to Kyoto Station or other attractions are very convenient. From the subway station is also very close as long as 3 minutes, to Arashiyama is very convenient. Shimpei is very attentive, in this trip care about us, and provide us with cherry information. The next time I go to Kyoto I will live Shimpei's house.

Date of stay: April 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2017
Thank you Julie for the stay and it was my great pleasure to have a chance to meet, greet, and chatted with you all at the house! Although the location itself is not for sightseeing, it gives a great footwork to multiple destinations such as to Arashiyama, Gion, Golden Pavilion, and even Osaka. Groups such as your group (four friends), a family with kids, two families or multiple couples would be the perfect fit to the house. I look forward to your next visit to the city and the house. Kyoto weather is actually more comfortable in May - early June and October than in cherry blossom or colored leave seasons so worthwhile trying other seasons!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ying Jay...
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2017 for a stay in October 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2016
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2018
Thank you Ying-Jay for the stay (and SO sorry I missed this review for 5 months now!) and the detail description of the house which will be useful for my future guests. It was very fun to meet all of you six at the check in! Sorry that it took so much time to find the phone but was good that the cellphone was finally found resolved AND I learned how to resolve similar issues next time! Looking forward to your next visit sometime in the near future (and I should come back to Taiwan as well sometime soon!) Shimpei
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chukarho
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in November 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2017
Thank you for the stay and the detail description of the house, which must be very helpful for my future guests! It was convenient for me too when I lived here to prepare the house that there two supermarkets a block away and the subway station is within a three minute walk. Large families as yours are one of the primary type of guests that I would like to serve. I am now investing a bit more to the house (bamboo forest on the wood deck and paper lanterns on the second floor) so please revisit my sites! Looking forward to seeing you at the cherry blossom season!
p.s. My next door is also a similar guesthouse (民宿) and is my friend so the two combined can accommodate even a larger group of up to 12 persons!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacation7...
Beijing, China
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in November 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2017
Thank you Emily for the stay AND being brave enough to be one of the first couple of groups to book this new place! Also appreciate your detail description in Chinese language which will be useful for my future guests as well as for my leaning the language. Yes, the island kitchen 島形厨房, the tea room 茶室, and the skylights 天窗 are major charming points when I decided to buy the property. Looking forward to your next visit and keep in touch! Shmpei
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.