We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
110
39
10
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
39
10
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free shuttle superior twin room within walking distance guest lounge hotel opened nespresso machine restaurant reservations functional rooms tempura restaurant convenient access bath products green tea compared to other hotels check in process speak excellent hotel facilities western options
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Pros
Close to Gion
Nice looking decor
Cons:
Rooms are minuscule, you don’t know where to put the luggage, the bathrooms are open to the bedroom despite gimmicky moving panels.
Dark uninviting showers.
Breakfast dining area equally cramped.
Breakfast itself average at best.
To add insult to injury you are asked to remove your shoes in the bedrooms although the carpeting in the room can certainly tolerate shoes and the entrance to the room is so narrow that shoes there become an added aggravation.
Staff willing but rather inefficient .

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MILOUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

One of our favourite hotels in Japan, feels very modern and slick inside however has kept a traditional Japanese vibe throughout the hotel!
-Staff are very welcoming and helpful (helped us with our bags when we arrived and also were leaving by taxi, welcome drink on arrival)
-The hotel feels modern inside, big lobby
-The rooms is very well designed, loads of hidden storage, chargers, yukata & slippers
-The location is right on the side of Gion (so you have all the nice traditional streets right on your doorstep, however you are not on one of the streets bustling with tourists all the time)
-The Celestine hotel is very good value for Kyoto

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FO M, フロント オフィス マネージャー at HOTEL THE CELESTINE KYOTO GION, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Thank you very much for your having stayed at HOTEL THE CELESTINE KYOTO GION and taking the time to share your details comments. We are very happy to hear that you were so satisfied with our hotel. As you mentioned, our hotel is located at the heart of Gion, which is one of the most traditional areas and in which there is a meditative atmosphere. Therefore, our hotel is designed with a similar atmosphere to it. Our hotel has a bar lounge, a public large bathroom, and Japanese inside gardens. All of these are also designed with both modern and traditional atmospheres. We believe these make you relaxed. Once again, thank you very much for the time to review your recent experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Kyoto, and we hope it will become soon.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

Was in Kyoto for 4 nites, reviews were inconsistent, but super glad I chose this hotel. As others have said - -great location. Staff was amazing -- helpful and friendly. The spa was fantastic and just a wonderful addition. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank fownog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FO M, フロント オフィス マネージャー at HOTEL THE CELESTINE KYOTO GION, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Thank you very much for your having stayed at HOTEL THE CELESTINE KYOTO GION and taking the time to share your wonderful comment with us. We are very happy to hear that you were so satisfied with our hotel. Actually, we are always considering what our guests would like us to do. Therefore, we are talking with our each one of our guests and try to discover the correct solution our guests need. Once again, thank you so much for the time to review your recent experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Kyoto, and we hope it will become soon.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

This was a really special hotel that was part of our honeymoon. Hotel feels very calm and relaxing. It has the traditional elements with a modern twist (Nespresso in rooms etc). Rooms are average size. Very clean and comfortable. We didn't use restaurant as it was extortionate. Easy walk into the city to find shops, bars and restaurants. Service was fine - we didn't encounter too many staff but the ones we did were very polite and attentive. Would recommend but watch the price of extras as they soon stack up.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FO M, フロント オフィス マネージャー at HOTEL THE CELESTINE KYOTO GION, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Thank you very much for your having stayed at HOTEL THE CELESTINE KYOTO GION and taking the time to share your comments with us. We are very happy to hear that you were so satisfied with our hotel. Actually, our hotel is located at the heart of Gion, which has not only many attractive points such as Kiyomizu-dera temple but also a calm and traditional atmosphere. Therefore, we believe you could enjoy exploring this area to your heart’s content. Moreover, it takes about 15 minutes on foot from our hotel to the center of shopping area. So you can easily buy a lot of kinds of souvenir. According to our service, we are always striving to consider what our guests really would like us to do, in order to solve their problems correctly. Once again, thank you very much for the time to review your recent experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Kyoto, and we hope it will become soon.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

Great location and nice enough people. Not a family hotel and would avoid if you have young children. No room service and only one restaurant which serves a set menu for JPY15 000 (USD135). Not reasonable if you have young children and after a long day out and kids need a snack before bedtime - only option is eat out. Rooms nice enough but no great shakes. Found staff inconsistent and sometimes could find them and sometimes not. Avoid (at all costs) having your laundry done for 2 reasons 1) cost is through the roof - had 5 days of clothes washed for 2 x adults + 8 year old/4 year old and cost JPY42 000 (USD380). Most of the clothes were kids clothes and not itemised on laundry list so added handwritten note. They charged full price as if adult clothing. I tried to resolve this with manager but no concession and no interest in resolving the cost issue and inflexible. 2) the laundry had probably washed the clothes at high heat and most of have shrunk. Double hit - over paid for clothes washing and then need to replace as shrunk!!!. In hindsight should have tossed the dirty clothes and bough new at Uniqlo. Avoid if you have young children - overpriced for what it is!!!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FO M, フロント オフィス マネージャー at HOTEL THE CELESTINE KYOTO GION, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Thank you very much for having stayed at HOTEL THE CELESTINE KYOTO GION and taking the time to provide us your valuable comment.
We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with location and our staff. As you mentioned, we are located at the heart of Gion, with many historical sites nearby, hope you have enjoyed walking around our hotel.
However, we do apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay. As communicated with you separately, we understand that the demand for family use is getting higher. Your feedback is highly valued as it allows us to ensure that each guest experiences a memorable stay and to focus on areas where we can do better.
We trust that we can only further improve hotel services through guest’s feedback. Since we will celebrate the first anniversary of hotel opening, we will endeavor to continuous improvement for our operation and guest services.
Once again, we appreciate your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews