We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
232
119
25
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
119
25
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese style room yasaka shrine gion district apple tv western room maruyama park the hotel staff excellent location within walking distance the bus tatami room kyoto station hotel is located large room min walk japanese standards ryokan
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

It is a nice experience, even though a little pricy one night can be enough. To be noted that there is no breakfast as there is no restaurant available at the premises. The Gion old area is very very nice and old, definately to be seen.The personnel of the Maifucan was very very helpful.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Paolo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maifukan, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Maifukan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018


Thank you for selecting us out of the many possible places here in Kyoto
and also many thanks for reviewing us and we appreciate your feedback.
We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

Hotel is conveniently located close to bus and train stations. There is a laundry near by which came handy. Staff speaks English and is extremely helpful. We stayed in a Japanese style room for a couple of nights. My kids loved the experience. I definitely recommend this place.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank wtd2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maifukan, Front desk at Maifukan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Thank you very much for staying with us. And thank you very much for your favorable feedback. We are very glad to hear that your child liked the experience of staying in a Japanese-style room. We look forward to your visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

It is the second time that we stayed at this hotel, loved it yet again.

We stayed in a very nice Japanese style room, but they have Western style rooms as well.

The hotel is very comfortable, very convenient location - close to the Yasaka Shrine in Gion.

The staff is VERY friendly and efficient. All the staff was nice and friendly. I would like to mention especially Waka and the reception manager (sorry, did not note his name). During both our stays, they went out of their way to be helpful, friendly, efficient. Thank you !

Very highly recommended ! We will definitely stay there when we come again to Kyoto.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Foodaddict001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maifukan, Front desk at Maifukan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you very much for your favorable feedback. We are very glad to hear that you liked staying with us. It was with a great pleasure that the guests come back to stay with us. And meeting you again encourage us very much. We are very much appreciate for choosing our hotel again, and thank you very much for a lot of compliment.
Green season is very nice but the scenery in autumn season is also very beautiful, especially east mountain side, I think. I would like you to see and feel that different season, too. We look forward to seeing you again. (Wakako)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Very friendly staff and traditional Japanese experience. Location and price very good. Only complaint was the air conditioning was weak which made sleeping tough. We were able to walk to Pontocho for dinner which was very nice.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maifukan, Front desk at Maifukan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you very much for your favorable feedback. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. However, regarding the air conditioning, we apologize for the inconvenience this may caused you. We try to check and adjust it to stay a better and appropriate room temperature. Thank you very much for staying with us again. We look forward to seeing you again some day in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

I have had the pleasure of staying at Gion Maifukan on several occasions over the years with small groups of Kyoto visitors in my company. The facility, while very conveniently located for sightseeing and shopping in this popular district of Kyoto, is also very quiet as well as very clean, tidy, and well organized. Even though there is so much tourist activity nearby, the facility offers a peaceful retreat once you step inside. The rooms are very clean and neatly arranged and offer provisions for your comfort in the waking hours as well as during your sleeping hours since their bedding is so very comfortable. The staff members are all extraordinarily professional, respectful, kind, helpful, and caring beyond the typical Japanese politeness we all come to recognize as an intrinsic component of refined Japanese culture. The level of conscientious in the Maifukan staff members accommodating their guests extends well beyond responding to the specific requests for assistance that guests may make, as the staff members often notice things that even the guests may overlook like forgotten items in rooms upon checkout. They offer their sturdier umbrellas when you're about to step into the rain with your rinky-dink umbrellas, and they make so many helpful gestures to facilitate your day. They treat you with honor from the moment you arrive to the moment you depart.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carriejmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maifukan, Front desk at Maifukan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you very much for your favorable comments that is more than we deserve. Every year we all are looking forward to seeing you in the fresh green season. It is a very valuable and respected thing to bring your groups to Japan. And we are very much appreciate it to choose our hotel in your wonderful trip. We aim to improve our service quality, and we do our utmost to make our guests' stay comfortable and memorable. Thank you very much again for your warm and heartfelt feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews