We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Umfufu G
New York City, New York

Excellent stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 weeks ago
My stay at the Granvia was beautiful. The rooms, beds, pillows were so comfortable I didn't want to leave the room. Thankfully the beauty of Kyoto dragged me out!
The service and the food was impecable and the location central. All in all an excellent experience
Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
きょう せいきく, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hotel Granvia Kyoto, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel Granvia Kyoto.
We are pleased to hear that you had such a fantastic stay with us.
We will continue to strive to provide a space and service where you can relax and enjoy your stay, and we appreciate your continued patronage. When you come to Japan next time, please drop in at Granvia Kyoto again.
Thank you very much for taking time out of your precious time to write us.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Director of Rooms
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hotel Tou Nishinotoin Kyoto

Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    ₹6,230
  • Priceline
    ₹6,313
0.7 km from Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    ₹4,961
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    ₹5,801
  • Expedia.com
    ₹8,963
0.6 km from Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    ₹19,540
  • Expedia.com
    ₹22,388
2.7 km from Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
【蓮花の湯】瞑想の湯(男性)
₹10,986
₹8,522
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₹8,522
0.5 km from Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    ₹25,863
  • Expedia.com
    ₹47,663
2.1 km from Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Restaurant
Room service
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    ₹8,473
  • Expedia.com
    ₹10,783
0.7 km from Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    ₹4,882
  • Expedia.com
    ₹5,491
2.9 km from Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    ₹4,267
  • Priceline
    ₹4,971
1.1 km from Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Free Wifi
新特別室RIKYU 庭
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Ryokan Yamazaki

  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    ₹6,963
  • Algotels
7.7 km from Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kyoto
Reviews (3,756)
Filter reviews
3,756 results
Traveller rating
2,057
1,333
257
68
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,057
1,333
257
68
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station le temps department store excellent location underground mall breakfast buffet easy access room was large standard room restaurants and shops japanese hotels shinkansen concierge isetan buses escalator jr
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 3,756 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2024 via mobile

Staying inside the train/public transport station was a game-changer. This meant it was a busy area with lots of shops, cafes, and restaurants around, and that we could easily get anywhere in the city from our hotel. Room was clean and comfortable.

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank melissawho
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
きょう せいきく, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hotel Granvia Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Melissa B
Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Granvia Kyoto and for your feedback.
We strive to make every guest's stay as pleasant as possible, so we are very pleased to hear your compliments on the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms.
We will continue to strive to provide a more comfortable and relaxing space and service.
We look forward to seeing our guests again.

Best regards,
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2024

We stayed here for five nights during our trip of Japan and were very happy with our choice.
The location is perfect for travelling to other cities by train and for the many tours we did which virtually all started within walking distance of this central point.
The hotel rooms were large and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was a buffet which was always very busy and felt like a cafeteria, but plenty of choice and adequate for setting yourself up for a day of touring.
The patisserie restaurant however was lovely and encouraged a more relaxing experience where you could sit and leisurely have coffee/drinks and wonderful cakes.
This does not feel like a 5* hotel, however whilst not luxurious, it was extremely comfortable, in a fantastic location and represented excellent value for money.
Would happily stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
きょう せいきく, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hotel Granvia Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2024

Dear Jane P
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel Granvia Kyoto.
We are sincerely proud to be able to provide time and a space that satisfies our customers. Did you enjoy your travel in Kyoto?
Thank you for your compliments about our location and room, etc.
We continually strive to improve our quality of service and look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future.
Thank you for taking your valuable time to post the review.

Best regards,
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2024

We have stayed here several times and it continues to be our favorite hotel in Kyoto. The rooms are big and luxurious with great attention to detail. The location above the Kyoto station is perfect for train travel and as a base in the region.
We were, however, disappointed about the breakfast this time. Many years ago it used to be the best hotel breakfast we have ever had with an amazing array of choices. It now turned out to be a rather normal breakfast buffet you should expect from a good hotel.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bas_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
きょう せいきく, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hotel Granvia Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2024

Dear Bas_8
Thank you for your recent stay with us at Hotel Granvia Kyoto.
We appreciate your compliments on our location and room. Did you enjoy your travel in Kyoto?
As for your comment on the breakfast, we will take it as a valuable suggestion and use it to make improvements.
We continually strive to improve our quality of service and look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future.
Thank you for taking your valuable time to post the review.

Best regards,
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2024 via mobile

Convenient Location in the Kyoto Station and beautifully styled hotel right next door to Kyoto Tower. Rooms were modern and clean with a nice view of the city. They had luggage forwarding service which made it convenient. Breakfast buffet had lots of selection of traditional Japanese and American breakfast entrees. Would stay here again!

Room tip: Coffee shops tend to open at 7:30am and not earlier. Downstairs has popular Mister Donuts. Check out Porto underground shopping & eateries!
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank epicurean321
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
きょう せいきく, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hotel Granvia Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2024

Dear epicurean321
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel Granvia Kyoto.
We hope that your stay at our hotel this time will be a lasting and pleasant memory.
We will continue to strive to improve our services to satisfy as many guests as possible.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Thank you very much for your kind words.

Best regards,
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2024

We were booked into the Hotel Granvia, as our chosen hotel was unavailable but we were hesitant as both the photographs and the hotel's own website gave an impression that it would constantly be full of either tourists or business people at conferences. It's location on top of the station did not help. However we were wrong and although it was quite busy it was an excellent hotel, well managed, the staff were excellent and friendly and it was extremely clean and well maintained.

Room tip: Don't be put off if you are given a room overlooking the station.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCT89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
きょう せいきく, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hotel Granvia Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2024

Dear JCT89
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Granvia Kyoto.
We are very happy to receive your compliments. Your compliments motivate us every day.
We will continue to strive to create a hotel that meets the expectations of our guests.
All of us at the hotel look forward to welcoming you again.
Thank you very much for your kind comments.

Best regards,
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews