We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,345)
Filter reviews
3,345 results
Traveller rating
1,811
1,220
232
54
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,811
1,220
232
54
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationle tempsgranvia loungedepartment storestation complexconvenient locationcan't beat the locationexcellent locationhotel restaurantslarge hotelhigh flooryour doorstepkansai airportcity viewconcierge servicesuperior roomeasy access
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 3,345 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2018

In 2001 I visited this hotel at the Kyoto train station, and it was great. Had a great experience. As part of this years vacation, I was in Kyoto again and booked this hotel, and was looking forward to it.

Thing is, nothing has changed in 17 years. I booked a non-smoking room, but the floors as soon as you leave the elevators smell like old smoke. Like casinos in Las Vegas. I think they need to refurbish entirely and make the whole hotel smoke free.

The check in was fine, and lots of people standing around but not necessarily helping.

After check in, was given my room on the 9th floor with a view of the rail tracks on back side of hotel, As mentioned, it has been a long time since refurbishment.

I have attached a picture of mold in the sink, another reason to refurbish the room and bathroom.

So for positives, the location is hard to beat. It is literally above the train station in Kyoto.

Unfortunately this visit, many more negatives than positives.

First, you get a shock everytime you press the elevator button on the guest room floor which is annoying, must be due to the carpeting.

Secondly, they seem to have an issue with balancing water temperature as in the shower it was very annoying. I had the correct temperature set but it kept changing between very hot and very cold. That needs to be changed.

Thirdly, the mold or dirt in the bathroom sink which I have attached a picture.

Fourthly, noise levels. You hear the trains outside, and if you happen to be trying to sleep in the late morning you will be woken up as the housekeeping staff can be quite noisy cleaning rooms as you hear lots of banging for an hour or two, so it is not possible to keep sleeping.

Housekeeping is very friendly, and bowing at you which is nice and typically Japanese. They just need to pay attention to noise levels when cleaning rooms to not affect those that may be sleeping.

So in other words, I didn't really enjoy it this time. The bed was comfortable, but everything else wasn't as good as I expected.

Unusual thing about this hotel is that they charge guests to use their pool. It was closed during my visit, but still find it strange that it isn't included for the guests of the hotel to use.

Breakfast at the hotel is also quite expensive.

The hotel isn't cheap, so it should be better.

Room Tip: Get front of hotel, not train side. Also away from elevators.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 May 2018

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Granvia Kyoto.

I do apologize for the disappoint you experienced during your stay.
Actually, in order to welcome the 20th anniversary of the opening of the hotel,
we conducting a renovation of the entire hotel from 2017.
Now the Granvia Floor (14th, 15th floor) is completed.Other floors will be renovated from 2018 and are expected to be completed by spring 2020.
When you come to Kyoto next time and want to stay in a new room,please choose the Granvia Floor.

In addition, pool / fitness fee (¥ 1,080) is free for guests staying in the following room types.
During your stay you can use it as many times as you like.

Granvia Deluxe (Twin, Double)
Granvia Family
Semi-suite (Twin, Double)
Dream Suite
Granvia Semi Suite Premium
Harmony Suite
Choraku Suite
Exective Suite

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Hotel Granvia is in Kyoto station itself, making it very convenient for business travellers, tourists and locals alike. Kyoto station btw is very modern and architecturally inspiring!

The service at the lobby was so-so, not very flexible but we managed to get around the hiccup. Just a word of advice, if you don't want a smoking room, specifically state that you want a non-smoking room.

The room was very clean and modern! We had lounge access and managed to enjoy a simple breakfast there before checking out. Just some muesli, cereal, milk and juice.

Overall highly recommended for convenience and cleanliness, but it's not a luxury hotel or ryokan that I heard Kyoto has a few of.

Room Tip: Get lounge access!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SarahHeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 May 2018

Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel Granvia Kyoto.

We are very pleased to know that you satisfied with the location and the room.

Thank you for your opinion about the service of the front.
We appreciate the feedback from our customers and we aim to provide better service to meet customer expectations.

Hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

This is our fifth time in Kyoto and we have always tried to book this hotel but it has always been booked out. We were lucky this time. It is expensive but you get what you pay for, hassle free checkin, big room, great views, quiet, location excellent. It was all just so easy. Will definitely stay here again next time.

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank Andrewb1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 May 2018

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Granvia Kyoto.

It is our great pleasure that you enjoyed your stay here. We will strive to provide better services, and truly look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

The Granvia is centrally located at the main train station. Very easy to find and a great spot from which to commute for business or sightseeing.

It’s not a super luxury hotel but still deserves a 5 rating because the overall service and convenience just can’t be beat.

Excellent amenities and large rooms. The in-house restaurants, bars and lounges offer plenty of choices. There are also a lot of other food choices within a 5-10 minute walk as well as plenty of shopping ( Isetan and Aeon mall).

No real drawback to this place other than the concierge leaves at 8pm and the pool was temporarily closed during our visit ( you will also need to ask for an iron and an ironing board to be brought to the room since not every room has one).

When leaving the train platforms, look for signs for “Central Exit”. It’s the best place to exit the JR Lines. (Once you know where you are going, it’ll only take you 5-6 minutes to go from the hotel lobby to your train.)

Enjoy Kyoto hassle free with Granvia as your headquarters.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Bacinac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 May 2018

Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel Granvia Kyoto.

Even though the concierge service is until 8 o'clock,
please feel free to contact the front desk anytime if you have any problems.

Regarding the pool,it was temporarily closed,and renewal open at February 9, 2018.
The new pool has lesson studio,high quality space and a variety of equipment.
Also you can enjoy professional services and a variety of programs here.

We are ecstatic to be your “headquarters” for business and pleasure and will continue to strive to be better.
We are looking forward to having you back here again, soon.

Best regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

Stayed 6 nights in January 2018. Chose to stay here again following an enjoyable stay in 2015.

Clearly the hotel’s location is the # 1 selling point. There is easy access to the train station and the bus terminal is just outside the main entrance. Whether you just want to explore Kyoto or travel further afield on day trips (particularly if you have a Japan Rail Pass), you are spoiled for choice.

The rooms are clean, quiet and a reasonable size for Japanese standards and include all of the expected creature comforts; individual room temperature controls, in-room safe, free WiFi, flat screen TV, etc. There is an extensive selection of toiletries.

While I didn’t eat at the hotel, it has a reasonable choice of restaurants on site and in the shopping centre below the hotel there is an area called Porta that has large selection of restaurants.

Overall an enjoyable stay once again and would certainly stay here again. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank pyctravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 May 2018

Thank you for coming to Hotel Granvia Kyoto.

We are pleased and encouraged to have your many compliments of praise.

Please stay at Hotel Grandvia Kyoto again when you next time visit kyoto.
All the staff are waiting for you.

Best regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews