We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,428)
Filter reviews
3,428 results
Traveller rating
1,849
1,257
235
58
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,849
1,257
235
58
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station le temps granvia lounge department store station complex convenient location can't beat the location hotel restaurants excellent location large hotel high floor city view your doorstep concierge service kansai airport superior room easy access
Filter
Updating list...
1,678 - 1,683 of 3,428 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Stayed in a budget ryokan in Kyoto for a couple of days and then decided to pamper myself for two nights at Hotel Granvia - partly because I had to catch the shinkansen early to Tokyo on the third day.

Hotel Granvia is everything you would expect from a business hotel. New, clean, modern and comfortable, this hotel has it all. Best of all, it is located right above the Kyoto shinkansen station. Food was rather expensive, but this is Japan after all. Thankfully, there were plenty of eating places nearby and in the basement malls, which were HUGE.

Note: if you want good views of Kyoto, be prepared to pay more. I opted for the cheapest, entry level twin room, and they were kind enough to give me a discount since I was travelling by myself. However, as I didn't want to pay more for the good views of Kyoto (i.e. north-facing rooms), I ended up with a room facing south.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esquire84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This is a good hotel! The location is awesome! If you are doing sight seeing you have to stay here!
Positives:
You are right in Kyoto station and this is so convenient for traveling into, out of and around Kyoto. Awesome Location! Very Clean, great service, friendly staff and great concierge!
Negatives:
Unless you speak Japanese it can be very difficult to talk to/understand most of the staff, older building, you have to pay to use pool/fitness center and smaller room sizes.
You have to stay here if going to Kyoto!

Room tip: The higher the floor the better and make sure to at least book the superior.
Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandAForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I stayed at the Granvia for business in Kyoto. Very convenient location, the room was nice, quiet and sufficiently spacious. The hotel has several restaurants on the 15th floor. Great service, good food, but pricewise on the higher end, particularly in comparison to the reasonable room rates.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

The pros and cons have been discussed. So I'll give tips.
1. Our room was probably 500 feet from the elevator. Ask for a room near the elevator.
2. Others have complained about the room size. We had a "Superior" room. It was comparable or even a little larger than a room in a good American hotel. They provide toiletries such as toothpaste, toothbrush etc. The shower was fantastic.
3. We got a special internet rate that is not advertised. It pops up when you try to book three or more nights online.
4.There are a couple of buses like the 102 that go direct to all of the tourist sites from in front of the station.
5. Concierge - mixed bag. One was the best concierge I've ever had and planned out a complex day for me. The other was terrible, and sent me to a restaurant that was closed.
6. If you go out the front of Kyoto station, there is a convenience store "Lawson" to your front left at the corner of the plaza. This is like an American C-store but better and will sell you some excellent premade food, snacks and coffee at a reasonable price.
7. For a very reasonably priced meal, the basement of Isetan has a food hall with several counters serving various types of food. We tried the curry rice stall. It was excellent although no English was spoken. The other customers were primarily local middle aged women.

Room tip: Hidden internet special price on over 3 days.
Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadGeek76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Stayed for three days mid week. The location is ideal if you want to explore the area by using either the train or buses that depart from the station. Good sized rooms. Everyone spoke perfect english. Asked for two extra towels the first day and they were delivered to the room in about two minutes. The remainder of the trip the staff left us two extra towels after cleaning the room. Little details like that made it stand out for such a large hotel. Right in the middle of the city, so if you need the relaxed mountainside vibe this might not work for you. We found ourselves all over the city and there was always a bus route that made its way back to the hotel because of the location at the station. Great off peak prices as well.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mexicomaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews