We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Dinner”

Kobe beef steak&Grill Meriken Hatoba
Ranked #1 of 12,062 Restaurants in Kobe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 16 - US$ 132
Description: We mainly serve Kobe beef steak for lunch time and dinner time. We had lots of customers from overseas and they loved our steak because of the quality of beef and the reasonable prices. Every steak we serve is only used rare cuts of beef. There is seafood menu as well. English is available in weekends.
Restaurant details
Description: We mainly serve Kobe beef steak for lunch time and dinner time. We had lots of customers from overseas and they loved our steak because of the quality of beef and the reasonable prices. Every steak we serve is only used rare cuts of beef. There is seafood menu as well. English is available in weekends.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed an amazing Dinner at Meriken Hatoba. The Kobe beef was unlike any other meat I've ever esten and literally melted on the tongue like butter. Also the Kobe Wine which is offered with the beef can be recommended. The chef and the lady who served us were very kind and entertaining. We ended up singing anthems with the chef and the other guests. Unforgettable :-) Reservation is recommended because the restaurant is very small.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank PhilippH1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
神戸牛ステーキアンドグリルメリケン波止場, オーナー at Kobe beef steak&Grill Meriken Hatoba, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Thanks for your support.It is my pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 121 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We sat in to try kobe steak. The food was delicious and well presented. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The chef came over and had a nice chat with us. This is an excellent place to experience kobe beef.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Mate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We wanted to learn what Kobe beef is all about and took my wife and son from Osaka to Kobe for dinner by Shinkansen and some walking. The restaurant is small and intimate (which we liked a lot) and on a side street from a major commercial street.

I had good steaks before-Morton’s in the US/Canada, many restaurants in Uruguay and Argentina, and we eat at home in Canada grade AAA Canadian beef frequently.

However, the Kobe steak rump, medium-rare was delicious and memorable and the best I had (not sure how much of the ambiance and vacation and price were a factor in saying that, but I’d like to think it’s an objective assessment). The meat opposes little resistance to chewing and with three types of spices/sauces there was enough variety to the palate. While there are better parts of the cattle than rump, I can’t think of how this could have tasted better.

The chef and owner was very entertaining-sang to us, brought us a Canadian flag at the table, and told us various stories-all adding to the pleasant evening.

Price was high but not through the roof: 23,000 yen for one 150 g Kobe steak with salad/rice/soup, one 150 g Kobe steak with veggies, sauces, one 130 g Kobe steak with veggies, sauces, one small bottle of Kobe red wine. We also got complimentary sake at the end.

Completely worth it!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank 247adriant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
神戸牛ステーキアンドグリルメリケン波止場, オーナー at Kobe beef steak&Grill Meriken Hatoba, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Thanks for your support.It is my pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Small but excellent restaurant offering delicious Kobe Beef. Set meals are delicious and generous. In spite of language difficulties staff are very friendly, obliging and helpful. This is in addition to the enthusiastic Owner/Chef Mr Okumoto who ensures foreign guests are made more than welcome! If you prefer your meat not too rare then opt for „Well Done“ as the Japanese appear to like their meat on the „Rare“ side. Not a criticism as I don’t mind rare beef. Golfers note that the owner would appear to be a keen golf enthusiast!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Antonegea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
神戸牛ステーキアンドグリルメリケン波止場, オーナー at Kobe beef steak&Grill Meriken Hatoba, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Thanks for your support.It is my pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

After reading such great reviews on this restaurant, we made a booking from Australia before we left for Japan (using Google translate!) and were definitely not disappointed. Like other viewers here who have commented, it is a very small restaurant with bar seating for 6 and a small table for 4. The husband and wife duo who run this restaurant are extremely friendly and inviting. The Kobe beef was melt in your mouth soft. We ordered a set menu for my husband which comes with Kobe beef, potato soup, rice, garden salad, vegetables, fried garlic slices and 3 dipping sauces. I ordered the 150g Kobe beef by itself which came with a side of vegetables, fried garlic and 3 dipping sauces. The kids shared the large Kobe beef rice bowl and absolutely loved it! So much so they asked for more Kobe beef so we ordered another portion of my meal. The meals were very generous in size but we demolished it because it was so delicious. But like others who have commented, it is the beautiful personality and kind hospitality of the owners that made our dinner extra special and worth it! My kids were in stitches laughing and loved the interaction with the owners. They (the kids) kept pestering me to write a review!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Chtruong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
神戸牛ステーキアンドグリルメリケン波止場, オーナー at Kobe beef steak&Grill Meriken Hatoba, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Thanks for your support.It is my pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kobe beef steak&Grill Meriken Hatoba also viewed

 
Kobe, Hyogo Prefecture
 

Been to Kobe beef steak&Grill Meriken Hatoba? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing