We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good views, good price, great staff (GGG)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel
Ranked #6 of 118 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Certificate of Excellence
Michigamme, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good views, good price, great staff (GGG)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

It was a 3G review, we stayed for 3days in June and enjoyed every minute! Try the Royal Morp (pronounced "moria") for Kobe beef... The best $100 you'll spend on food.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    383
    94
    20
    7
See reviews for
265
268
61
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Here on a business trip for two nights. Restaurants and mini-amusement park are within 10-15 minute walking distance. The hotel room is very clean and front desk staff speak English quite well. Rates are on the expensive end though a breakfast buffet is included. I would definitely stay here again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hhmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matsusaka, Japan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

It was not a horrible hotel, but for the price, I was definitely disappointed. The room was old and in need of renovation, as was most of the hotel.The location was great and the view beautiful as well. When we had checked in, they had put us in a room facing the docks, which was not a very nice view, as we wanted to look at the Mosaic area. They quickly changed us out of there for a small fee. Staff were so-so, but not up to standard. Overall, disappointed with my stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ernieinjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
157 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

I stayed here only for one night for business - arriving quite late and leaving early so maybe not appreciating fully all that the hotel has to offer. The room was the usual smallish as you would expect in Japan with a fancy loo! I also could not find any english on the TV channels so i did give up,maybe if i had stayed longer i would have asked! It was great to have a balcony to look out over the harbour and mountains as the views were wonderful.
I only had breakfast and this was reasonable but the one thing I found to be out of this world was something i never have when i am in Asia is the French Toast! I saw how the pancake cheft was making these and I had to try and they were the best i ever had - thick and moist and delicious with lashing of syrup..so not japense!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mooer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

This is a great hotel in the redeveloped harbour area (think Baltimore inner harbour) of Kobe.

The hotel is nice and grand inside. The room was quite small (normal for Japan) but had a nice balcony and views of Kobe.

The room had all the toiletries you need, especially helpful when KLM have lost your bags. Word of warning, the KLM agent in Kansai Airport doesn't have very good English and was less than helpful.

As with all other hotels we stayed in, in Japan, you can only check in after 3pm.

We found the transfer from the airport to hotel very simple and quick. On arriving into Kansai Airport, we went to bus stop 6 and got the bus to Kobe Sannomiya station. Then went to stop 8 for the free hotel shuttle bus. In total it took us just under 1-1/2hrs from leaving the airport to being at our hotel.

Nice hotel and if we go back to Kobe we would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DunEidean1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kobe hotels
Hotel Okura Kobe
#4 of 118 in Kobe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
JR Sannomiya Station
Hotel Piena Kobe
Hotel Piena Kobe
#3 of 118 in Kobe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oriental Hotel
#2 of 118 in Kobe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Island Center Station
Kobe Bay Sheraton Hotel and Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel

Property: Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel
Address: 5-6 Hatobacho, Chuo-ku, Kobe 650-0042, Hyogo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Kobe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 118 Hotels / Ryokan in Kobe
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,106 - ₹ 25,468
Hotel Class:4 star — Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban resort hotel surrounded by the sea; on site restaurant featuring French & Asian cuisine; theatres & shopping within 1 mile. Parking: 11 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Kobe Meriken Park Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing