We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tale of 2 extremes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chisun Hotel Hiroshima
Ranked #13 of 126 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

Straight to the point:

THE GOOD

Superb location.

Great, welcoming reception staff.

Modern looking.

Good and cheap car parking service.

Quirky "self-service bar" of room condiments and sweets.

Good self-serve laundry with free detergent.

THE BAD

The smallest room I've ever seen! 6 square meters with a 2 square meter bathroom. 2 of you trip / climb over each other moving about.

Double bed is a 1.1/2 single bed. Be prepared to be really cozy!

Windows don't open so very stuffy.

Found a pair of soiled ladies knickers under the bed!

CONCLUSION

I am awarding this hotel a "3". It would be perfect for a single traveller and the location is perfect. The price is great too for a City-centre hotel and the staff are polite and courteous.

I guess they should just seriously consider knocking 2 rooms into 1 but even then they would be small!

Good car parking facilities.

Modern-looking.

Quirky way of self-serving room freebies like coffee, sweets and even washing detergent if using laundry.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank gizago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2017

I must admit that my experience at Chisun was pretty average. It definitely wasn't bad, but nor was it great. I should begin by saying that the location is good. The hotel is right opposite a tram station with only three stops from Hiroshima station and a few more to Hondori (popular nightlife area). It's a couple of km's walk to Peace Park and there is a 7-11 / Family Mart in near vicinity.

The check-in girl was friendly and helpful, she did her best to give me a high floor (8 or 11) and I was soon in my room. I had taken my bike with me and luckily the hall in the room was wide enough to have the (clean!) cycle there. The room itself was OK. Good sized bed with the standard Japanese clock/light controls built in. The bathroom was also a typical cramped Japanese shower cabin that shared a single tap for both the shower head and the and sink. Not really a problem except if you wanted cold water you had to lose your shower warm setting (and vice-versa).

The WiFi was surprisingly good, albeit not overly secure (with the SSID being the same as the password). But, there was no annoying login that I recall, and if there was, it didn't reset every 24 hours like it does in most hotels.
View from the room decent (I have read other reviewers who have had views of concrete walls). Bed was comfortable. Writing desk was functional, though quite close to the bed.

One should leave their key at the front desk when they leave in the morning (to facilitate cleaning). No safety deposit box. Very limited hygiene accessories in the bathroom (but apparently you can get a more comprehensive selection from reception). Two elevators, note that these have a very strong and harsh light and full size mirror that does not paint one in a complimentary light. Perhaps these are honest mirrors? Either way, I didn't like the elevators, functional as they were.

Now onto the staff. Both the check-in and check-out girls were good. The breakfast staff were friendly. The other reception staff I met were cold and indifferent, when I said hello to them coming and going (especially the night staff) they barely looked up or acknowledged me.

Breakfast .. costs 1200yen per day. It's below average in my opinion. Some of the fish dishes were OK. The scrambled eggs were revolting. There is some yoghurt, cereal and fruit salad (appreciated) and a few fried things that were not kept warm. Sausages were OK. Coffee was passable the first day, weak the second.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank m_prebble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Small but well equipped rooms. Buffet breakfast with a choice of Japanese and European dishes. It's also a convenient location for a day trip by ferry to Miyajima with the world renown Red Tori and the Itsukushima Shrine. Nice coastline.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ursula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location! Staff are friendly and helpful! Economy room was small but had everything one requires and the bed was very comfortable! My only complaint was the lack of air-conditioning. Visiting in October meant the air-con was switched to heating mode and the room was very warm. We had to open a window which meant we were woken early by building works outside.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank readie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Getting from Hiroshima station to the hotel is easy – it is just outside Kanayama-cho tram station (about four stops away using tram lines 1, 2 or 6). Check in was swift and courteous. There are many items available for free in the reception area such as toiletries, coffee, tea, sweets, etc. You can also borrow many additional electrical items for your room.

The room was compact, like all Japanese hotels, but there is just enough space to place a suitcase on a collapsible stand. The single bed was wider and longer than western ones. There is a fridge and kettle, as well as television and desk/chair. Wifi in the room is very good. The bed was comfortable as was the duvet, and the air conditioning is good. There was no wardrobe – just four coat hangers on the wall.

Breakfast wasn’t included in my tariff, but there are so many places where you can eat, and plenty of convenience stores (one next door!) to buy fruit, yogurts, etc to stock the fridge with breakfast items.

The bathroom is typically Japanese – very small. The bath is small but deep, and there is every toiletry you could possibly need in there (more in reception as mentioned earlier). It was also very quiet so great for a good night’s sleep. All historical monuments are about 15 minutes away by foot, although there is the tram if you don’t want to walk.

I considered it to be a good base from which to explore Hiroshima.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Fukuromachi Station
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
#8 of 126 in Hiroshima
975 reviews
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#4 of 126 in Hiroshima
458 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#2 of 126 in Hiroshima
1,568 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Oriental Hotel Hiroshima
Oriental Hotel Hiroshima
#15 of 126 in Hiroshima
479 reviews
Kanayamacho Station
Court Hotel Hiroshima
Court Hotel Hiroshima
#31 of 126 in Hiroshima
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chisun Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chisun Hotel Hiroshima

Address: 14-7 Noboricho, Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0016, Hiroshima Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Hiroshima Station , Kanayamacho Station
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 126 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range: ₹ 2,739 - ₹ 11,401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chisun Hotel Hiroshima 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
【HIROSHIMA, Japan】■LOCATION / in tha middle of Hiroshima city ■INFORMATION / check in 15:00, check out 11:00 ■SERVICES / breakfast : buffet style. ■Room cleaning service(every day) ■FACILITIES / 11-story building, guestrooms: 170 rooms ■PARKING: \1,300 per night (tax included) *Additional parking available nearby.■INTERNET CONNECTIONS / All room:Free Wi-Fi, All guestrooms: Video On Demand system installed Conference rooms: LAN internet access available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chisun Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hiroshima Chisun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing