We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our fourth visit - that alone speaks for itself! Sofitel Xanadu - a great choice in Hangshou!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel
Ranked #29 of 2,368 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our fourth visit - that alone speaks for itself! Sofitel Xanadu - a great choice in Hangshou!”
Reviewed 19 October 2009

As mentioned, we have stayed here for four times over the past 18 months, three during mid-winter and the latest one during the summer. The first time was to do some tourism in Hangzhou when we lived then in the middle of China (we are New Zealanders who have been working in China for over 2 years). We were very impressed with how the staff looked after us and all the numerous benefits of the hotel . So now that we have moved about three hours drive from Hangzhou, we decided to stay again as our transit hotel choice to connect with Air Asia to Malaysia/Vietnam in February and then again to Malaysia/Thailand in August. When we return we usually stay for 2 or 3 nights on our return journey and relax before heading "home".

We are Advantage Plus members and usually get a free upgrade and Sofitel Xanadu always offer that to us and we get upgraded to club level where they spoil us greatly! The rooms are spacious as well as the bathrooms and we also appreciate the addition of a dvd player as we are not fans of the HBO channel which tend to feature throughout China. Our room had a balcony overlooking the lovely lake where black swans and ducks enjoy a tranquil and safe setting.

When we were there in February, both for our departing flight as well as our arrival flight they ensured that our room was well heated as they recognised that we feel the cold, so they got in an extra heater as well as the air conditioner for us and had it going for a few hours before our late night arrival. It was a well appreciated touch as we had just come from a hot Vietnam and Malaysia so the shock was not so great!

The biggest draw card for us has to be the staff - they are so kind and considerate to us and go out of their way to ensure our stay is memorable and that our needs are exceeded. The Concierge staff are exemplary in every way and do all sort of things for us - such as helping us locate items we need for our life in China and they seem to enjoy it.

Each time we return they always remember little things we like such as in the room and for breakfast or canapes and we appreciated this attention to detail and how they made us feel special by these gestures. They obviously make notes of all this and keep on file! Very impressive!

Breakfasts were delicious with freshly squeezed orange juice and carrot and ginger juice as well as oatmeal porridge and salmon omelettes.........!

On the last occasion we noticed that the Club lounge is non smoking which we definitely appreciated. Free internet and dedicated staff remembering your previous stay's needs are something to be appreciated!

The free shuttle is a great addition and feature and works very well and takes you directly to Westlake which is a beautiful spot to walk around. There is another Sofitel where the meeting point is - much more expensive, but good to have a meal there and one night we had a lovely buffet using our Advantage plus card, afterwards we walked around the Westlake which has a beautiful night time setting with musical fountains and lights. After that they collected us by their free shuttle! We appreciated the peace and beautiful resort style setting that the Sofitel Xanadu offered, which is unusual in Chinese cities (we have discovered).

During our visits there some of the staff that we got to know have moved on, but all replacement staff seem to be dedicated to following in their predecessor's footsteps!

There is a new Manager who we met - and we were really impressed with his attitude and dedication to his position.

We do agree with the previous review though regarding the music which is on all the time as you walk along the gardens or near the lake. We would definitely prefer it is "off" permanently, as it distracts from the beautiful and natural setting. It just does not go with it at all!

The indoor pool and gym was great and we enjoyed that. They also have bicycles which we usually enjoy when we travel, but during the winter with the snow and then the sweltering humidity in August we had to decline, which was a shame as it would be a great opportunity to explore around the area which appears quiet and flat.

We would always stay at the Xanadu whenever we visit Hangzhou and can highly recommend it.

The buffet restaurant is good and great value - although there should be some improvement in the number of western choices.

On our latest arrival we decided to book the hotel transport as it is about one hour from the airport and so we arranged a great rate through them and they were very attentive and phoned us whilst we were in line for the customs to ensure we were ok. It was a welcome choice we believe as it was after midnight when we arrived.

We met some other foreigners there from the Uk who were very impressed with the place both in terms of value and the great staff.

It represents great value, a wonderful setting and some really outstanding staff who make guests feel so welcome and treasured!

Definitely one of the advantages of living in China!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    109
    28
    8
    7
See reviews for
25
37
11
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

I stayed here for two nights during a business trip in the area. It is one of the nicest places in the area and I enjoyed it very much. However one big point for improvement is the music that is always being played. They have speakers along the lake playing some kind of Techno music till midnight. People like me who chose this resort look for the quiet of nature and don't like such horrible backround noise. This would be my only and major point of improvement. I hope next time I'll either hear relaxing tunes or more preferably just the sounds of nature. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helislon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

The resort is beautiful and very well maintained. The rooms large and spacious with outstanding views of the lake, complete with swans, geese and ducks. The gardens and ponds are picture-perfect and everything was spotless.

The staff were very courteous and went out of their way to help us in any way necessary. I particularly enjoyed being away from Hangzhou. The resort has a shuttle that will take you to and from West Lake in Hangzhou, and it's a quick, easy way to see the city but relax in the beautiful countryside.

I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlohaLadyHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2009

This is a great place where you find all you need in the hotel. We were offered complimentary breakfast which came as a surprise considering the price was only about 60% of the Sofitel at Westlake, and we had lake-side breakfast everyday! The resort was a big complex with villas, KTV, spa, gym, indoor swimming pool, and other facilities you expect to find in a 5-star.

We have big rooms with balcony looking out into a small garden. The rooms are clean and tidy. The only drawback was the mosquitoes. There were lots of them flying around you all the time. I'd say it's not a problem specific to this hotel. This is quite common everywhere we went in Hangzhou.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The concierge gave us very useful advice on where to go, and they were ready to help any time.

The location was however quite remote from downtown. The hotel provided shuttle bus going directly to Sofitel Westlake, it took about 20-30min. Other than that, everything was just excellent.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Work4Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2008

We book this hotel on Accor website to escape Shanghai for a week-end. The location is not good, as it will take you 30 minutes each time to go to/from downtoan. The hotel has been built in a development area (suburbs) with not any interest.

We arrived at 14.00, the room was not ready and the hotel didn't look full at all. We wait for an hour and then check-in process took around 20min !!!
When we arrived at our room, our friends key was not working and we have to wait again...
The staff only speak Chinese, very few of them can say two words in English which remain a key issue for an international hotel.
After that, we decided to try the Spa... once again, no explanations possible in English and we had a trouble with the price to pay that nobody can solve!
Finally, check out process took again 20 minutes !!!
The only good point was the room which was nice, big and clean.

We will not recommand this hotel to anybody. The Sofitel West Lake downtown seems much better with a real spa and more professional staff.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Staff and spa
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arosShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
11.6 km away
Grand Parkray Hangzhou
Grand Parkray Hangzhou
#25 of 2,368 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
15.9 km away
Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center
9.8 km away
New Century Grand Hotel
New Century Grand Hotel
#30 of 2,368 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
Cosy Park Hotel
Cosy Park Hotel
#23 of 2,368 in Hangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
16.5 km away
Landison Plaza Hotel
Landison Plaza Hotel
#21 of 2,368 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
17.9 km away
The East Hotel Hangzhou
The East Hotel Hangzhou
#8 of 2,368 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel

Property: Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel
Address: No.3318 Xianghu Road, Wenyan Town, Xiaoshan District, Hangzhou 311258, China (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Xanadu Resort)
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hangzhou
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#29 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,752 - ₹ 8,854
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Wenyan Town, near the junction of the Qiantang, Fuchun and Puyang Rivers, the Resort presents an idyllic natural environment and incorporates the Xiang Lake tourism area, an official venue for the World Leisure Expo 2011. Hotel covers an area of 94,000 square meters; forested 28,221 square meters. Situated by Tiger Mountain, the hotel has its own Swan Lake, where the Swans, Ducks and Mandarin Ducks are dwelling. In the hotel, you will enjoy the natural beauty away from the modern life. Having a meeting or on a trip – whatever your purpose is, our hotel will provide every convenience to guarantee your trip is a success. Our hotel can be used as an extension of your office. We have 301 distinctive rooms, including 19 suites, 62 Crowne Plaza Club rooms. All rooms are well-designed with the minimum size of 40 square meters; some rooms even have a feature balcony for you to enjoy the stunning view of the lakes and mountains. Zest CaféZest Café located on the first floor of Conference centre, the elegant and stylish lake-view International restaurant, you can order exquisite food delicacies cooked by our hotel chef. It also serves International buffet, with seafood selection, authentic Brazilian barbecue, cocktails and desserts, presenting you a feast of delicacy.Waterfront Terrace Waterfront terrace on the Swan Lake can be used for various outdoor parties and is an ideal choice for private gatherings, weddings, product promotions, cocktail receptions and company meetings.Tao Yuan Chinese RestaurantIn a luxurious and elegant atmosphere, enjoy the modern-style Cantonese cuisine, delicate Hangzhou cuisine, local Sanjiang special cuisine and a variety of afternoon tea dim sums. 37 private rooms in diversified styles and a function room for 550 guests can accommodate functions of all sizes. Muse Lobby BarRelaxing and easy atmosphere, flavorful coffee, authentic tea, exquisite snacks and mellow wines, Muse Lobby Bar is an excellent venue for a business negotiation with your partner or a friends gathering. The resort is at the prime location of Hangzhou whether it’s for business or leisure purpose.It has 21 meeting rooms in different size and design. The impressive Xanadu ballroom offers 864 square meter of event space and accommodates up to 800 guests for a theater style meeting and 550 guests for a round table dinner set up. The 460-square-meters Xiang Lake ballroom can accommodate up to 350 guests for a classroom set up, and cocktail reception for 550 guests. The VIP Reception Centre located by the Swan Lake, it is an exclusive meeting and dining venue and ideal for private dinners, weddings, cocktails and corporate meetings. Other meeting rooms of various sizes that offer the organizers and participants ample space which can handle groups of 10 to 450 people.The resort offers meeting organizers and participants world-class meeting facilities including the latest audiovisual equipment which are supported by the services of a team of professionally trained staff. For absolute relaxation, you can unwind with an invigorating swim in our 25-meter lap pool; practice your swing at the tennis court, test your skills in the billiard chess and table tennis room, enjoy fishing and boating in the lake that commands a majestic view of the surrounding with the company of swans. The health centre features a gymnasium with state-of-the-art exercise equipment. For a moment of serenity, the jogging or bike trail provides an interesting option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Xanadu Hotel Hangzhou
Sofitel Hangzhou
Accor Xanadu Hotel Hangzhou
Hangzhou Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing