We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic location for the West Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
Ranked #29 of 2,368 Hotels in Hangzhou
New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“fantastic location for the West Lake”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This is not a downtown location for typical business travel, but certainly the best location to walk to the West Lake. If you will have some free time in Hangzhou during nice weather you should consider to stay here. And while this is a Shangri-La property, it does not especially look like it in the lobbies of either wing which are connected only by a long covered walkway. It is a bit reminiscent of the state-run hotels of the 1980's. Especially the bathrooms.

The Italian restaurant was very, very good and the service was impeccable. The Chinese restaurant was just good, we had some better Chinese food randonly choosing a restaurant down the street. Breakfast was fine, nothing special but not bad either.

Tip: if coming from the train station reserve a hotel car to pick you up. I had to wait 45 minutes for a taxi and I was told this is normal for the early evening. Before departure they also booked a taxi for me because they are not always readily available.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    316
    125
    46
    21
See reviews for
94
84
25
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Checked in today and realised that the rooms were "bath tubs only". Not the best start because we have old folks in our group and there is no way they can safely get into and get out of (especially when the tub is wet after a shower) the bathtub.

Try Four Seasons... its spanking new and the service is brilliant!

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MT2163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempen
Level Contributor
95 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We (my wife and me)are coming to the Shangri La Hangzhou regulary since 1995, checked in at least hundred times! It was always as coming home. But since last year, it is not as before. But this time, when we stayed 12 nights in March 2012 (we book always Horizon Club) we have been totally shocked, because it was not possible to get a table in the Restaurant. We tried to book a table for the buffet dinner on 24th March for four persons, but the whole restaurant was blocked for a group. The same for 25th March and for 26th March. How can a buffet restaurant be blocked for a group for three nights???? There must be space for house-guests! We are feeling unwelcomed. This is a desaster for the whole Shangri-La group. We are golden cirvle members since 2001 and have booked already another 12 nights for October. But we will surely cancel this booking and will move to another Hotel in Hangzhou. It seems, the Hangzhou Shangri-La doesnt take care anymore for reliable singe guests and preferes group-bookings. We are very disappointed about the management!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silkbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

After leaving Beijing, we went to Hangzhou and stayed in the Shangri-La Hotel Hangzhou. Hangzhou was very rainy so make sure you carry an umbrella and hat.

The hotel was beautiful. Our room view overlooked the garden and we were across the street from the West Lake (definitely take the boat ride across the lake.) The room was big, spacious and gorgeous. Again as in all good hotels in China, they had fresh fruit and tea everyday which was a nice treat. Mini bar is not included in your price of the room.

The staff was wonderful and accommodating.

Would definitely go back and stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Bring an unbrella and raincoat. It very rainy. The hotel offers smolking and non-smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weekendshopper15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Business Trip
Stayed here for 1night
Room was big, ok for the amenities, but just average for the decor (A/C fan noisy as all the old hotels in China). Need a urgent renovation to keep the brand on top and to avoid competition (some other 5star in Hangzhou are much better)

Breakfast OK, but take care during winter season that if your room is in the other building you need to take walk a loooong freezing corridor to arrive to breakfast hall: not pleasant for a 5star hotel.

Italian restaurant for dinner: average

Garden is ok, but during winter months useless.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco_Motta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
2.5 km away
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#15 of 2,368 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
2.4 km away
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#7 of 2,368 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
2.4 km away
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake
2.5 km away
Midtown Shangri-La,Hangzhou
Midtown Shangri-La,Hangzhou
#23 of 2,368 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.1 km away
West Lake State Guesthouse
West Lake State Guesthouse
#61 of 2,368 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou

Property: Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
Address: No.78 Beishan Road, Xihu Distric, Hangzhou 310007, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#48 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,432 - ₹ 15,581
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hangzhou
Hangzhou Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing