We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Redstar Culture Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$ 210
US$ 175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 157
US$ 143
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Huachen International Hotel(Hangzhou)
US$ 73
US$ 67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 98
US$ 96
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 244
US$ 153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 218
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 45
US$ 41
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 282
US$ 261
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
27
58
24
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
58
24
4
4
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2011

BE Warned, Expedia has the wrong description for the superior room. IT IS NOT a Queen size bed, only a small single bed. The hotel will not honor the expedia listing of a queen size bed. It is inaccurate and false. I stayed for two nights, the second night in the business room at RedStar Culture. In the business room, the bathroom smell was disgusting, as you could smell it when other people were using the washroom. They have a SERIOUS ventilation problem!! This hotel is a must avoid! The housekeeping staff was the only bright spot, but hotel is one to avoid

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank acetravel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Have a special business floor at 20th with a dedicated office facility.
The room is clean rather than luxury, most typical business room.
If you are foreign in here, the communication with the crew is a challenges. When you need a taxi service, you have to be a patient guy because most of taxi driver won't stop for you even called by the hotel crew.
The hotel is near to Hangzhou Railway Station and not to far from Hefang Street for buying some souvenir.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taufikz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed here for just one night so I couldn't say much about it. My expectations of a 3-star hotel were met, except for the weak room air conditioning which made sleeping a bit uncomfortable.

The best feature of this hotel is its vicinity to the Hangzhou railway station where the high-speed trains run. While the hotel is just a 5-minute walk, you'll have to do a bit of asking since there's still some disorganized confusion once you step out of the station.

While the hotel is near the station, it's not really walking distance to the main attraction of Hangzhou - West Lake. You can walk to it, but it will take you around 30 minutes.Taxis don't seem to frequent the hotel that much. And the bellboys didn't even offer to call until I asked them to.

I like their breakfast. For a very reasonable price, the selection is plenty and filling. Fresh fruit juices are available!

You'll find this hotel convenient if you have an onward destination via train. Other than that, it's pretty ok.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Location is just superb! walking distance to Hangzhou railway station (5 minutes walking) and there are China railway high-speed service from the station to shanghai and other destination. The breakfast can be purchased at the hotel for only RMB 50 and there is a choice of intercontinental breakfast or for other choice, there is small cafe and bakery at the railway station that serve fabulous bread and other bakery products and coffee (the shop called :85c). The railway station and the central bus station is located at the same points, so the hotel location is definitely the best. For one shopping maniac, its only taking 20-30 minutes walk to Hangzhou ladies market where there are many buildings selling fashions (men and women) for bulk trading and retail for such cheap prices. One day is not enough to go through the market! Too bad, the hotels bed is very hard so if there are other hotels around this location with slightly higher (at reasonable rate) price, may be I will choose that one, but if the others are too high, I will keep it as my first choice as i will be spending 12 hours outside the hotel and i will fall asleep directly regardless the fact that the bed is hard :)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BatikLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

The hotel staff are friendly and understand English so there is no problem for the non Chinese speaking travellers.A good point is that the hotel is near the railway station and it makes it easy to travel to Shanghai from here. It is also near west lake and very convenient to go to west lake to enjoy the fine food at Lou Wai Lou restaurant and watch the evening performance at the west lake.Although we had a short stay here we like the location of this hotel.Will stay here when we visit Hangzhou next time

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinArban000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews