We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Grounds, Facilities, Staff, and Seclusion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake
Ranked #4 of 2,444 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Having traveled for work and pleasure for two decades, this is the nicest hotel I've stayed at.

The hotel is located on a wetland with a small body of water that connects to the lake. From the hotels extensive gardens, you can see only nature and water, without any other development. The beautiful outdoor pool looks over the wetlands and water. Our kids enjoyed feeding the fish and just exploring the grounds.

The indoor pool is remarkably beautiful and kept warm. There are six couches built into the walls where guests can rest when not in the pools (no extra charge). There are benches in the pool with jets. There is no hot tub, but the changing rooms have a steam room (ladies) and sauna (men's).

There are only 1.5 floors of guest rooms and so the hotel never felt crowded. Credit goes to both the ample facilities, the high staffing levels, and the helpfulness of he staff. Even self-reliant introverted guests will come to appreciate the all the helpful people who work there. We got so confident in their ability to anticipate our needs that jumped into the outdoor pool without having located any towels. (Shortly after we jumped in, we noticed that towels had been placed next to our belongings.)

The food at the main restaurant was amazing. Hotel food is always pricy, but it wasn't any pricier than at lesser hotels where the quality does not justify the price. The food was so good that it would be worth visiting even if you aren't a guest. (There are other dining options within a 10-minute walk for lunch and dinner, but not so much breakfast.)

The hotel has bikes to borrow (no fee). They had great equipment, including helmets, including a bike that fit our 8-year-old. The staff arranged a (paid) boating expedition for us--well worth it with pick-up and delivery by boat from the hotel. The staff will recommend the local show involving lights and dancers on the lake. If the tickets seems expensive, keep in mind that there aren't that many seats, and there are over 200 performers.

Families of four may want to have the staff arrange transportation other than taxis. Not one of the local taxis we rode in had seatbelts in the middle of the rear seat.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TouringComplete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Manager at Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear TouringComplete,
Thank you for sharing your hotel experience via Tripadvisor.
I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed our hotel being surrounded by nature and water. Our indoor heated pool is one of the highlight in the hotel and our staff at the pool is equally attentive to complete the pool experience. Biking and boating are on our top recommended activity list in Hangzhou as our hotel is being surrounded by scenic West Lake and secluded water path to West Lake. You will be able to capture many top grade photographs either through biking or boating.
Looking forward to your return visit in the not too far future.

Yours sincerely,
Wayne Tan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

Staying in Four Seasons in Hangzhou was a wonderful experience. I visited Hangzhou during the mid-autumn festival and the experience of the hotel during this season was very fine. The garden is a real highlight, just as fine as many of the classical Chinese garden that could be visited in, for example, Suzhou. The restaurant made the best of the autumn season also in its seasonal menu, even the bar with osmanthus flavoured cocktails. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and competent, and made me feel welcome and at home every day. A particularly nice feature that you can borrow bicycles for trips around West lake or into the hills and among the tea plantations.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
Thank Q6088BYkimf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Manager at Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Q6088BYkimf,
Thank you for sharing your hotel experience via Tripadvisor!
I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed our Chinese Garden and also the services rendered by our team to make you feel like home. I am glad you tried our osmanthus flavored cocktails and our seasonal menu that only available in autumn. Thank you for mentioning the sport bicycles that available in the hotel for our guest to tour the beautiful West Lake and Longjin Tea Plantation.

Looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Wayne Tan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We stayed for 3 nights during the mid autumn festivals. Given the holidays Hangzhou was a busy place, and it was fortunate that we chose this hotel which provided an impeccable experience without us having to leave the premise much. Be sure to check out the private boat tour as the hotel has its own pier and you get to sail through a totally tranquil part of the west lake.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
1  Thank 637kinmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Manager at Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 637kinmanc,
Thank you for sharing your comments of your stay via Tripadvisor!
We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed the whole hotel experience. Our private boat tour is definitely one of the highlight that offered by hotel through untouched water path from West Lake.
Looking forward welcoming you back in the close future.

Yours sincerely,
Wayne Tan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

This is one of the top scenic sites located in the middle of Hangzhou City. The whole lake in fact is a wonderful place to spend time. It comprises of boat cruises,biking,scenic walks, Impression West Lake night show,etc.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 333Hslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne T, Manager at Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 333Hslim,
Thank you for sharing your view of Hangzhou and West Lake!
We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Wayne Tan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We enjoyed two wonderful days at this Four Seasons Hotel. The property is beautiful, with garden paths, an inviting pool area and nice outdoor sitting spaces. The room was very spacious, nicely decorated, with great attention to detail. We were on the second floor, which did not have direct access to the gardens, however we did have a glass enclosed patio / sitting area with views of the grounds below. The service was fantastic. Vikki, the concierge, was very friendly and helpful. She helped plan our tours and activities, arranged for drivers to take us around, and provided good restaurant recommendations. The food at the hotel was expensive but good. Breakfast buffet is plentiful. We enjoyed the outdoor pool after a hot day of touring around. The pool temperature was nice (on the warm side) and the setting is perfect. There is also a beautiful indoor pool next to the hotel spa which I did not get a chance to use. While the hotel is more expensive than most other Hangzhou options, it’s worth it if you enjoy a beautiful property with outstanding service.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 September 2017

Dear Adam L,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us at Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake via Tripadvisor.
I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed the personal attention from Vicki and our concierges. As you had described that you can definitely let our Guest Experience Manager or our concierges arrange all your tours and activities with their insight of Hangzhou. It is our priority to provide wide variety of breakfast selections and ensuring our restaurant's cuisine meeting our guest expectations.
Our infinity pool is one of the highlight in hotel and I am glad you use it to cool down after a hot day of touring around city.
I look forward welcoming you back to Hangzhou in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Wayne Tan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Xiacheng District
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#11 of 2,444 in Hangzhou
959 reviews
Banyan Tree Hangzhou
#42 of 2,444 in Hangzhou
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
#29 of 2,444 in Hangzhou
818 reviews
JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
#3 of 2,444 in Hangzhou
632 reviews
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#16 of 2,444 in Hangzhou
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake

Address: No.5 Lingyin Road, Hangzhou 310013, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hangzhou
#2 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#3 Family Hotel in Hangzhou
#3 Spa Hotel in Hangzhou
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#57 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range: ₹ 30,939 - ₹ 46,245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In China’s most picturesque setting, Four Seasons reveals an intimate lakeside village, melding centuries of tradition with chic contemporary style. Convenient to business and shopping, discover a tranquil enclave, woven with ponds, streams and lagoons. Experience the gentle spirit of Chinese hospitality in exclusive private dining rooms and resort-style recreation, including two swimming pools and a cutting-edge designer spa. Deftly sophisticated Four Seasons care instills confidence and delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Prestigia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Hangzhou At West Lake Hotel Hangzhou
4 Seasons Hangzhou At West Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing